Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The Eliot was perfect for our stay in Boston. It was easily walkable to Newbury Street and also very handy to one of the hop on / hop off trolley stops so exploring the rest of the city was a breeze. Our room was really lovely and spacious and all of the hotel staff were friendly and courteous. Special mention to the hotel restaurant, Uni - WOW! The food and service there was incredible. My mouth is watering recalling some of the dishes we tried!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Wonderful staff, and hotel is in a good location close to museums Fenway and Newbury St shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

i can't say enough about the Eliot!!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
My husband and I spent two nights here to celebrate Christmas. The Eliot hotel is one of the loveliest I have stayed in, and we travel through out the world (Spain, Italy, France, London and Toronto last year). Although a small hotel, the staff is helpful, and the rooms are very generous, with a separate sitting area, and they are meticulously maintained. My room had views of the very pretty Commonwealth Ave. The hotel is just around the corner from the shops and restaraunts of Newbury Street, close to the Public Garden and Boston Common, and also very close to a subway station. I'd also highly recommend the hotel's restaraunt, Uni, especially the Omakase. While pricey, some of the best Japanese food I have ever had. And the craft cocktails are not to be missed!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Unfortunately lacking

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The doormen were rude. Valet was stressed out that they had two guests who needed valet at one time, had no idea how to handle such a normal hotel occurrence. They forgot to tell me that getting your car before 7am is nearly impossible b/c no one there has a driver license. Front desk was also unprofessional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Dec 7, 2016
We stayed for just a night. The hotel staff from the front door to the front desk were pleasant and efficient. The room was clean ans comfortable. However, it is very dated. There is quaint and there is dated. This was definitely the latter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
No room upgrade for elite plus member. Amenities for elite plus member was a bit light, 2 bottles water and 3 chocolate chips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic Location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Eat, shop, walk to Boston Commons.
One block form Newberry St. in downtown Back Bay Boston. Walking distance to boutique shopping, Prudential Center and Copley Square. Restaurants abound the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in Boston

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nice room
Cons: Breakfast. Only option was sushi restaurant.
Location: Walked a lot. Nice weather for November
Close to airport by subway. Close to MIT, BU, Harvard, Newbury st.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The world's most charming doorman!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The doormen and the old fashioned vibe.
Cons: Front desk staff not firing on all cylinders.
Location: Quite a way from the Freedom Trail but near to Fenway Park and good access out of the city to Harvard etc.
Lovely hotel, very nice room and good location. The gloss on the whole experience were the fabulous day and night doormen (for whom nothing was too much trouble). The only thing that fell a bit short were the staff on the front desk who seemed inexperienced and a little uncoordinated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Room and service were amazing....great decor and attentive staff
Cons: carpet in room had a little broken glass from past inhabitant....not a dealkiller..