Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Dec 7, 2016
We stayed for just a night. The hotel staff from the front door to the front desk were pleasant and efficient. The room was clean ans comfortable. However, it is very dated. There is quaint and there is dated. This was definitely the latter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
No room upgrade for elite plus member. Amenities for elite plus member was a bit light, 2 bottles water and 3 chocolate chips.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fantastic Location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Eat, shop, walk to Boston Commons.
One block form Newberry St. in downtown Back Bay Boston. Walking distance to boutique shopping, Prudential Center and Copley Square. Restaurants abound the area!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in Boston

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nice room
Cons: Breakfast. Only option was sushi restaurant.
Location: Walked a lot. Nice weather for November
Close to airport by subway. Close to MIT, BU, Harvard, Newbury st.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The world's most charming doorman!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The doormen and the old fashioned vibe.
Cons: Front desk staff not firing on all cylinders.
Location: Quite a way from the Freedom Trail but near to Fenway Park and good access out of the city to Harvard etc.
Lovely hotel, very nice room and good location. The gloss on the whole experience were the fabulous day and night doormen (for whom nothing was too much trouble). The only thing that fell a bit short were the staff on the front desk who seemed inexperienced and a little uncoordinated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Room and service were amazing....great decor and attentive staff
Cons: carpet in room had a little broken glass from past inhabitant....not a dealkiller..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

One of my favorite places!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The room I had was really lovely - and I love the bathroom.
Cons: I would add some kind outlet or plug near the bed so you can charge your phone.
Location: Commonwealth is a great street - was an easy walk to the Symphony for me and also Newbury.
I love this hotel so much! Have stayed there twice the past 4 months and it's so wonderful. It is quiet, sophisticated, and reminds me of Paris. The staff is great and one day I am hoping they give me the recipe for the chocolate cookies they serve when you check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Älteres Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: die Lage, nettes Personal am Empfang
Cons: Grundsanierung
Location: s.o.
Das ist Hotel ist gut gelegen (die Newbury Street mit schönsten Geschäften und Restaurants liegt um die Ecke) , allerdings an einer stark befahrenen Straße, daher besser Zimmer nach hinten raus wählen - mit dem Nachteil auf einen dunklen schmuddeligen Hinterhof zu schauen. Wir erhielten zum Glück ein Upgrade auf unser Zimmer für 4 Personen und hatten dadurch viel Platz in der Suite. Bei diesen Zimmerpreisen hätte ich mehr erwartet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

The hotel is very nice, but....

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: Service and bigger showers.
Location: It is in a very nice neighborhood and walking was a treat.
The hotel is nice but the shower is awful! We stayed 2 nights before we took a cruise and the shower on the ship had more room. The bellman was very helpful but the desk people were stuffy and not helpful at all. Our room was on the second floor and we could hear a lot of street noise late at night. The breakfast is wonderful, not a fan of Asian food and was surprised to find room service didn't have very many American options. For the price we paid I was expecting a whole lot more. There are other options in Boston and we will not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Anniversary stay was excellent.

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Great experience. Didn't want to leave. Now am annoyed at experian because they are making me write more than I wanted to leave a review.