Ratings based on 2,025 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Great hotel. Told others. Will be back. Unrealistic to expect me to write a short story. Kendall needs another reviewer. Is this enough?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to Harvard and MIT

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel was within walking distance to the T railway train and most buses and shuttles. The proximity made travel around Boston easi
Cons: Hotel was as it was described and expected. There was not anything specific that we didn't like.
Location: Convenient location for travel anywhere in Boston
The hotel was close to the T station so we practically had so much ease going about Cambridge and Boston. There were shuttles and
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

An out-of-the-ordinary establishment

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The décor and furnishings were first-rate. Pretty well every detail had been thoughtfully and tastefully considered. Room quiet and comfortable.
Cons: Door of safe would not stay shut when unlocked: a real hazard at eye-level. Spaces for resting trays when collecting breakfast needed. Coffee weak.
Location: On the MIT campus, with Harvard a pleasant 30-40 minute walk or (like central Boston) two stops on the 'T'.
This was a unique hotel, very nicely designed throughout. The room was quiet and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was quite good, though with weak coffee and awkward layout. Good, but not cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Estancia agradabe. Habitaciones comfortables buen servicio, personal amable y excellent comida. Muy Buena ubicacion y buen comunicado.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dunfermline, Scotland

Pleasant small hotel with quirky decor

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Quirky decoration with a fire department theme (and dalmation dogs)
Cons: Nothing
Location: Handy location for the underground station to Central Boston. Many places to eat within easy walking distance. MITT campus closeby.
The hotel is decorated with Fire department artifacts in line with its previous role as the town's Fire Department building - you can still see the arched glazed doors where the fire engines sped out on route to a blaze. Friendly helpful staff. Varied selection of foods for breakfast, both hot and cold. Good location, just a short walk from the underground train station. Good selection of places to eat within a few blocks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The helpful staff and its cleanliness.
Cons: I am a small person and was in a room where the bed is high. No bed steps available. I think the hotel should advise guests before assigning them.
Great hotel with not only easy access to the subway system but also on the Old Town Trolley. Wonderful full breakfast and a staff that is friendly and helpful. A great place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Great Hotel full of character near Harvard and MIT

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: We were very comfortable in our lovely room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was huge and included all kinds of different foods.
Cons: Nothing
Location: It is very close to MIT and Harvard.
My family loved this hotel. It was so unique and charming. We were on a long layover between our flight in from Iceland and our flight back to Dallas and we used this extra day to tour MIT and Harvard with our kids. I love finding a place that doesn't look like any other hotel we have stayed it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Luxurious rooms, wonderful staff and great location.
Location: Explore the MIT campus or take a short walk to Harvard. Lots of local restaurants are located nearby for those who avoid chains.
The Kendall, situated right in the heart of Cambridge, is an island of luxury and comfort with a touch of whimsy. Fantastic staff, a robust continental breakfast and a charming evening wine gathering, the Kendall offers a calming respite after a hectic day of work or play. The rooms are beautifully appointed and designed for maximum comfort. I'm already looking for a reason to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 14, 2016
Everything there was just awesome! Will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pretty and clean. Great location. Friendly staff. Complimentary breakfast was good, and NOT cold as some of the other reviews suggested. Self parking available for $35-37/night. Parking is quite inconvenient because of the big cement wall and small spaces, especially for the larger vehicles. I previously read another post about security concerns, which I now share after my visit. The issue is that ANYONE can just walk into the parking garage, and take the elevator directly into any of the hotel floors, and be right in front of your door without the hotel staff even having any visibility. We had a pleasant stay, but this is definitely a huge security concern.