Ratings based on 2,149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Blown away!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
From the first second we walked in and being offered complimentary champagne, my partner and I felt pampered and special. The hotel had a variety of exceptional facilities included in the cost of staying; including bicycles, kayaks and a hotel car service. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good needs more attention to be great

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Situation
Cons: Staff attention to providing service, some were good others very average
Nice hotel, well situated, clean and fair service but staff often let you wait beofre giving attention. With a little more guidance and training for the staff could be a wonderful hotel. Poor feedback when calling to enquire about an item we had left in the room. Took 4 days and 5 calls to get a response to find the missing jacket, which they had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Nice hotel but lots of spirit activity.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Concierge very helpful and general staff.
Cons: The rudeness of staff in the Alibi restaurant. They either reserve tables or allow guests who are spending good money to enjoy their evening.
Location: Some good walks, but the Freedom Trail is a long walk - worth doing but take plenty of water. Tati cafe is a lovely place for breakfast.
The main hotel staff were lovely and helpful but the staff in the restaurant in the Alibi were very rude and spoiled our evening. I wouldn't recommend going there! It took a while when requesting tea maker for the room and had to be asked again. It felt a little like once you had checked in that was it! All that said it was worth a stay, too much spirit activity - things moving in the room and bathroom to sleep very well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and very convenient.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Location: great
We enjoyed our stay. It was nice to live in a neighborhood instead of where all the hotels are lined up at Copley. Great restaurants close by and the ones in the hotel were also good. Walking distance to anywhere. We walked at least 6 miles a day. Great fun great trip. The place fills up with young people from Thurs to Sun from busines and the neighborhood. Must be a go to place for locals.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston ma

There are much nicer hotels in Boston.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Booked a room for a birthday weekend. I am from the area but was really looking for a luxurious weekend away. The history and reconstruction of the hotel is fascinating. The dining was impeccable (run don't walk to Scampo for a truly fantastic culinary experience. Be sure to sit at the bar; the bartenders are as knowledgeable about the menu as they are creative with their cocktails. However, the room itself was sub par. After a day out in the city returned at 5p to dress for dinner and found the room still had not been made up (we had been gone since 10a). There was a knock at the door by a young women carrying a brow paper bag asking if we needed the room cleaned. There was nothing in her presentation to even confirm she worked for the hotel (no cart, uniform, ID tag, cleaning supplies?!?). Then another older gentleman (also lacking any hotel identifier) with another paper bag asking if we ordered a pillow (which we did not). The whole thing was bizzare and inconvenient. We asked reception to confirm if it was in fact house cleaning that had come to our room and she could neither confirm or deny but would call us (she never did). We returned to find the room tidied. I had purchases wine and cheese that day and had to move some of the items in the minibar around. When packing the next day, the fridge seemed noticeably less stocked. We had not consumed one thing from it. I received a notice the next day I was being charged for it. The charges were reversed but annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Nice hotel near everything in Boston!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Room comfort, decor and style of hotel, welcoming staff, efficient check in, great location. Bar staff in lobby ROCK! Saw lots of families (welcoming)
Cons: Bar staff at Alibi; 2nd night things were not refilled in our room (glasses also not cleared); concierges need to brush up on knowing local info.
Location: Liberty Trail, great shopping, Boston Commons, anything really. GREAT LOCATION.
My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights, and we loved it. It is close to everything (within walking distance of all major sites in Boston). Right across the street from the subway (awesome!). The hotel is beautiful, well laid out, rooms very comfortable and clean. Minor issues: concierges were not terribly helpful (all could have been done quicker by ourselves online, which we resorted to); difficult to pinpoint if you've never been to Boston when driving (we had to drive around the block several times); in-room mini bar prices are outrageous (even for nice hotels); one morning a wait staff got the room wrong and woke us up by coming into room trying to deliver something we didn't order (put the lock on door after that one). Check in folks were extremely nice and welcoming; doorman is awesome. Wait staff at Clink restaurant were amazing. Alibi wait staff at night not impressive. We were told that they couldn't make a traditional Whiskey Sour because bartender "didn't know where to find an egg." We were then told they are a "normally high volume bar and can't accommodate that." Customer service rule #1--particularly in a well stocked hotel--make it happen! We get them made at home all the time at an extremely "high volume bar". Overall, a great experience--these minor issues did not take away from excellent service from MOST in the hotel and a really beautiful and lively common space (people watching at night in the lobby is great!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great hotel, history and location.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
All was great. I just think a bit could be done to renovate some of the hotel aspects (elevators) and my room had a better view (no view at all but surely there has to bed a better view for other rooms). Overall, excellent service and having a trendy lounge downstairs is a plus (would recommend to discuss a deal with the lounge in order to be able to bill to room).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to subway

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: It's modern.
Cons: Making sure the clients are aware that it's a BIG pet friendly hotel for those who might suffer from asthma and allergies.
Location: It's close to the subway and lovely Beacon Hill area.
I didn't know that this hotel was a Big fan of dogs. I felt like I was at a dog park. There were A LOT of dogs! For people who are allergic to pets might have a difficult time. They should make it more clear for those who have asthma problems. The location is great but it seems as though the hotel only has a limited amount of rooms that are facing the streets and most rooms are literally facing the MGH hospital which is 300 yards away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by LibertyBoston, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! As you noticed, we are a pet friendly destination and host special doggie social hour event “Yappier Hour” every Wednesday through October. I apologize this caused an inconvenience for you. We do have designated pet floors to ensure those with allergies are accommodated comfortably. We do have some rooms with exceptional views depending on the bed type you need. We hope to see you back at The Liberty in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel centrally placed in Boston

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Very nice hotel with good staff. The concierge helped make a reservation for a very good italian restaurant in the North End. Super service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome stay in the heart of the city.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Queen size beds instead of doubles
Location: Awesome area for walking and access to everything Boston has to offer.
Really enjoyed our stay. Terrific thoughtful amenities in the room that I have often wondered why other hotels don't have them. The staff were exceptionally accommodating with all requests and went out of their way to satisfy our wants and needs. Loved the spacious bathrooms and amenities, rooms with double beds should really be queen size ( our only complaint) . Loved the individual ice bags , the lovely bar set up and the nightlife in the evening was hoping!