Ratings based on 2,631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
The room was very nice. Especially the bed and the pillows. So soft and comfortable. The bathroom had a separate shower and a bath tube. The luxurious bathrobe added one more delight to my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterville Valley, NH

Just the best hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The quiet and understate elegance
Cons: Not much
Location: Shopping, sightseeing, hospitals
I have stayed at The Liberty many times over the past year and to my mind, there is no better place to stay in Boston. It is an oasis of calm and luxury in a busy but convenient location. The rooms have all been redone in the past year: they are elegant and understated. The beds and pillows are heavenly and the rooms are so quiet. And, Scampo, the fabulous Italian restaurant run by Lydia Shire is downstairs and is a real treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Week end in Boston . Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The location is really good. Decoration is amazing.
Cons: View of the room
Location: Near the town center of Boston... parks, monuments and in front of Charles St, one of the most beautiful street of Boston
Everything is fine : a glass of champagne for the arrival, bedrooms are great and big bathrooms. Service is excellent and food too (2 restaurants and a bar). The place is amazing with all the rest of prison. Only deception : view on a small street and office's building instead of Boston...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the Liberty!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Very close Beacon Hill and the Charles River. Neat to see the crew boats and the esplanade.
From Check-in to post Check-out, a wonderful experience! The check-in process complete with a glass of champagne or pink lemonade was smooth and comfortable. The room and decor kept with the theme of prison and Liberty. It was very cool. Loved the after check-out when we left a piece of clothing and they are sending it to us!!! Great service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love the historical story of the this hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Nice room and amenities.
Cons: Restaurants very pricey, no happy hour.
Location: Great location in the hill, close the "T" subway line.
Room was decorated with a prison "theme", keys, clocks, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Luxus im ehemaligen Knast

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Zentral am Kopf der Charles St gelegen, perfekt für Stadterkundungen zu Fuß. Die Metro liegt gleich neben dem Hotel und fährt z.B. nach Cambridge.
Ein liebevoll restauriertes Gebäude, in dem sich einstmals das Gefängnis von Boston befand. Sehr großzügige Zimmer, zur Begrüßung gibt es an der Rezeption Limonade oder Sekt, complimentary coffee and tea am Morgen in der Lobby. Und am Abend legen stadtbekannte DJs auf und verwandeln die mehrstöckige Galerie in einen exklusiven Club. Sehr gelungenes Konzept!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rock Hill SC

Stay in luxury and be pampered.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and was given an upgrade when we arrived. The view spectacular.
Cons: The only thing is that I would recommend is some catering to an older clientele. The music was geared to a much younger crowd.
Location: There was a way to get anywhere you wanted to go. We also came for the Clemson and Boston College game.
The staff could not have been any more helpful. I had a minor problem with my debit card as I did not notify my bank I was going out of town and my charges were being denied. The staff was understanding and the issue was resolved quickly and without embarrassment. The food melted in one's mouth and the selection of restaurants can fit any budget. I loved the history and the convenience of travel as the transit system is located right across the street. Walking through all the neighborhoods and shops were as if you were taking a step back in time. The concierge never tired of all the questions that they were asked.This is a place I would return to again to celebrate another anniversary.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Customer service nightmare.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Our stay at the Liberty was not our first. On prior stays, the experience was fine. On this particular stay, we experienced customer service nightmares at every turn. Our request for a roll away bed went unanswered three times. When it finally did arrive, there wasn't enough space so the housekeeper suggested the sofa. The sofa was not a sleep sofa s advised, so I requested a blanket to be used on the leather sofa. No blankets were delivered. when the issue was brought to the attention at checkout, the offered a gift certificate. Relying upon this information, I made a future reservation. Now, four phone calls and several e mails later, they have advised the gift certificate is only valid on certain dates. Of course, the pending reservation is a black out date. I seriously wish they could have communicated this before all other hotels in Boston were filled for our cho sen weekend. I am very happy that Boston has many fabulous hotels with outstanding customer service. Personally, The Boston locations of Taj, Ritz Carlton, Intercontinental and Langham far exceed this hotel. Do your self a favor and avoid the poor customer service of The Liberty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to me directly, I am happy that I was able to resolve this inconvenience to your satisfaction. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in October! Thank you for your repeat business and for your valuable insight that will be used for our improvement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Modern hotel,great location!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Location,design,friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Duck tour,Museum of science,Boston public.
Everything from check in to check out was great.Modern hotel with a funky interior( it was a former jail), wonderful staff, great food at both restaurants, comfortable rooms and a welcoming drink!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax NS

Great stay

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Lovely cool hotel with charm but modern facilities. Had a King corner room. Very spacious room. Great location.