Ratings based on 2,438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bar Harbor, ME

Wonderful hotel, Superb staff

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The character and clever display of the historical significance of the building was impressive.
Cons: HVAC was a little off...
Location: Easy 2 turn access off a major route into Boston. "T" station immediately across the street, couldn't be simpler.
The experience of riding the escalator into the open atrium hotel lobby is a must-do in Boston. The valet and front desk staff was genuinely appreciative of our patronage. The champagne served upon check-in felt like a welcome-home toast. We worried from reading about nightlife noise that our room would be a let-down, but it was not. It was a quiet evening - perhaps our location (corner King Suite overlooking the entrance) was ideal. We visited the lounge and again the service was excellent. Our drinks were delicious. Breakfast at Clink was pleasant and quick and again the staff was never without a smile. We had only one issue which was the room temperature which never really quite reached the desired setting. Overall a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

The nicest jail I've ever been too!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Simply awesome. Perfect combination of keeping the touch of an old jail with luxury. I stayed in a newly renovated room with city view. Beautiful. It's in Beacon Hill, but minutes walking to the Market area. The restaurant, appropriately named Clink was pricey but good. The bar, Alibi, was hopping. Both had original cell doors and window bars within the lounge area, and photos of celebrity mug shots. Pretty cool. The only negative I can think of was a surprise $50 a day valet parking fee upon check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Liberating !

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Design, and Staff
Cons: Prices of food are bit pricey for quality in room service.
Location: Charles St is lovely, lots of nice shops and food places, and ten minutes from Boston Common. Beacon Hill etc
Not stayed in many expensive hotels, but this was a great experience. staff were very attentive, concierge very knowledgable about local areas. Design of hotel is beautiful, and very atmospheric due to old jail etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this wonderful review with us! We agree that our location, in the heart of Beacon Hill, can't be beat - as well as our unique history and design. Thanks again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Only complaint is that when we arrived at 4pm the day after Christmas, we were told our room was not ready. Front desk offered us in another room on a lower floor (which was fine) but abutting the elevator shaft (which was not fine). Took me a while to figure out the sound that I thought was the T, was actually the elevator. Still like this hotel, but may try another spot next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Happy New Year and thank you for your feedback! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us over the holidays. I am glad our staff was able to offer you an alternative room at check-in, but I sincerely apologize for the noise issue you experienced. We are currently renovating all of our guest rooms, which will be completed by March 1st, 2016, and we hope you will return for a more exceptional experience in the future. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, as it is instrumental in our ongoing quest to continuously improve our service levels. Thank you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome place that keeps the look of prison!

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: The layout of the hotel may seem stra if you didn't know it was made from prison.
My friend and I stayed here for Thanksgiving this year. We had planned to visited Boston for a while but had never made it. This place was totally unexpectedly awesome! In fact, I think it was that part of our trip that worth. The layout of the hotel may seem odd if you didn't know it was made from prison. But it is obviously made from prison because you can still find those jails here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, MA

close to shop, restaurants and train.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Cool, nice hotel and local to food,shopping, shows and subway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2015 by Brian L. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review and for the complimentary remarks regarding our convenient location, we appreciate it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Cons: Soundproofing. Not the biggest issue, but it can be when you are tired and want to sleep.
Location: Great location, across from the metro "T". Walk to down-town in 20 minutes or 5 minutes with the metro or cab. Beautiful location.
Great location, across from the "T". Full of character building due to the previous function (jail). Party like atmosphere during the Friday/Saturday evening-night. Very upbeat stuff, pleasant and helpful. We had water front room. Very nice. Spacious and clean, very modern decoration.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2015 by Theresa B., Hotel Management
Thank you for coming to experience The Liberty and for taking a minute to share your thoughts. We do apologize for the lack of soundproofing that you describe; as you know, we are a historic property with a truly unique past, and it would be difficult to alter the building without destroying some of our special personality. We're happy, however, that you loved our location and character, and that you had a ton of fun on the weekend with us. We can't wait for our next chance to welcome you back and provide a stay worth even more than four stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location Beautiful architecture Comfortable bed and room
Cons: Shuttle service to/from the airport Preferential seating in the restaurant for hotel guests Better amenities
Location: Subway (redline) was awesome About a ten minute walk from Quincy Market and Science Museum Enjoyed the Duck Tour (quick easy way to see the city)
My wife and I stayed at the Liberty Hotel for 4 nights. We arrived on a Friday night and the lobby was very crowded with people waiting for the restaurant and bar. The hotel is beautiful. We checked in and our room was very nice (comfortable beds). We found the hotel staff to be ok (not overly friendly or helpful). We were also disappointed that there was no shuttle service from the airport and parking is ridiculously expensive ($50 /night). The restaurant and bar looked great but was too crowded to get into. A huge bonus for us was the redline/subway station is right across the street and is easy and convenient to use. We liked the Liberty but would probably try a different hotel next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique in a great way.

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Historic jail, unique.
Cons: Noise from back alley but it is downtown and you have to expect some of this.
Location: Close to restrauants.
The redesign of an historic jail into a luxury hotel is genius. Close to Logan airport and other rest. Scampo and the Klink were both outstanding. Nice selection of bourbon and wine to compliment your meal. Ask for a room on the front side for a better view and go on a Thursday evening for a great crowd for the fashion show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great hotel!!

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Great hotel, convenient location, really nice staff! Overall awesome vibe.