Ratings based on 2,767 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Absolutely Stunning

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very convenient to everything in Boston with a T station with in 100 yards
From the bell hop service to the beautiful room, everything about this hotel was perfect. From the moment we pulled up to the door, the staff made sure we were taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Great Hotel in a great location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The history and mystic of this hotel is unmatched.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Luxurious but not comfortable

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cold room. Water pressure sucked. No hot water, only warm. Bathroom floors were freezing. Odd location next to highway entrance. And fire alarm went off at 5am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Boston

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Very nice experience at The Liberty Hotel in Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Close to MGH

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Much more elegant and with more services than other hotels near the hospital. Friendly, helpful and sympathetic staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nightmare

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Cons: attitudes of workers
I revered two queen beds. when checking in, hotel said no two queen beds. only one king bed. As I complained, hotel said stay or leave. hotel asked where I booked hotel. I said Expedia. They said Expedia is worse web site and never guaranty room as they show on the site. As I have a kid, I decided to stay because it was already 10 pm. Hotel provided rolling bed with old spring with no cushion. old spring stabs my back all night. couldn't sleep. it was nightmare. I never had this kind of experience. In addition, I never had any problems with Expedia. I will never go The Liberty again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great atmosphere lots to do

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was so friendly and availble I will definetly be staying there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville North Carolina

Nice hotel close to stores and restaurants.

Posted Feb 9, 2017
I stayed here to be close to Mass general hospital because my first grand baby was born. I ate at the restaurant onsite and the food and drinks were delicious. My only problem was I wasn't able to be comfortable in the room after seeing stains on my blanket and pillows. The blanket looks like make up and neither my daughter or I wear make up so that cause me to believe the bedding wasn't changed and had to sleep with my clothes on. When checking out I told clerk and showed photos and they did nothing. I still love this hotel and would love to stay again I just need them to check the room and make sure it is clean. I live in North Carolina and will be flying into Boston often to see my granddaughter. I also enjoyed the fashion show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Southeastern Mass.

Great Hotel! (Don't eat there)

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: The hotel and staff, unbeatable!
Cons: Food too fancy, portions too small, drink and food prices too high.
Location: Right at the foot of Beacon Hill and a great place to stay if you are going to any of the Mass General Hospitals.
Great hotel, great re-hab project of an old jail. In fact everything was perfect except the restaurant was too fancy for its own good. Little tiny portions of overly fancy entrees. I was still hungry afterwards. Even the martinis were weak. But the hotel- Beautiful and the staff- excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding our friendly staff and unique architecture. We hope that you will continue to choose The Liberty on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique and fun

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Close to mgh, beacon hill and a quick 10 minute walk to the td Garden, out 10th floor roomwas spacious and quiet with a view of Mass Eye and Ear. Decor was fun and in keeping with the jailhouse theme. My son and I, in town for a Bruins game, were able to walk to the Garden and plenty of boutique shopping. Neighborhood is very safe. Hotel staff were unobtrusive yet available to help if needed. My son, age 14, loved the vibe of the hotel. We enjoyed a reasonably priced late brunch meal at Clink and later sat in the lobby and had soft drinks- great people watching and free refills. The lobby scene in the evening, as it is used as a nightclub, was vibrant and colorful! Yet our room was peaceful and calm. We adored the Liberty hotel and plan a return trip next Winter. Not your average hotel experience! Don't miss out! If you enjoy an out of the ordinary hotel experience, stay at this hotel!!