Ratings based on 2,850 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Rating offset by subpar Front Desk staff

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The good - excellent restaurants (a good thing b/c the immediate surrounding restaurants aren't great) & nice rooms. The workout room is small but ok
Cons: Front Desk staff. The view from the room varies but I got the lovely wall of Mass. General Hospital
Location: Not a whole lot in the immediate area but overall easy access to major arteries.
Stayed for work w/ an extension of one day to see Boston. See below for the good and bad. My issue was with the Front Desk staff - when I checked in, our Exec. Admin had misspelled my name and the woman who initially looked for the reservation "couldn't find it" although there was only one other person w/ my last name, plus only a minimal level of effort to piece the misspelled name together. She simply did not want to make the effort to help. I went to another young woman at the front desk and told her the problem and she eventually found it but never apologized and copped an attitude the entire time. I noticed she omitted the part where she came out from behind the counter to guide guest (me) to the elevator like she did for all others. The reservation I made on Expedia was messed up as it took only my middle initial as the first name in their system - hence they couldn't find either of my reservations! After a failed attempt at cancelling the second night, they couldn't configure the key correctly that connected the two reservations and then sent the portfolio for the stay to the wrong email address (I wonder who has mine). Again, no apologies, just snotty attitude on the part of the second of the two front desk folks who was working the day I checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Cloth linen hand towels in washrooms of the hotel. Nice unexpected touch of class. Glass of champagne upon arrival. Sure beats a warm cookie.
Cons: No coffee maker in room although there is coffee in the lobby. Added room fee is a little steep. What is the purpose of it ?
Location: Public Gardens. Swan boats. Beacon Hill full of quaint shops excellent for walking.
Overnight getaway. Very nice doorman/valet named Ali. Very nice concierge named Marc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the complimentary remarks regarding our convenient location in the heart of Beacon Hill. We do offer a complimentary coffee station in the lobby in the morning for our guests, we hope that you will take advantage on future stays with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Funky, fabulous experience overall

Posted May 9, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. The whole space is fantastic, and the location couldn't be better - so close to the T! The lobby is to die for, and our room (on the old, original side of the prison-turned-hotel) was great. Staff was always friendly and generally helpful. We had an amazing time, save for a few minor things to point out: Our bathtub didn't seem totally clean, so we didn't end up using it. We also requested a hypoallergenic pillow twice, but never received. No big deal for us though - we're easy. Great place and will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Phil G. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this detailed review and for the complimentary remarks regarding our convenient location. We appreciate the feedback, and it is our hope that you will continue to choose The Liberty on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Excellent location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Wonderfull amenities, location, Friendly Staff. Restaurants, highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for this wonderful review, we really appreciate it!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Disappointment

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Hakim the bell man was awesome. Marco from Clink Resturant was also amazing. They are excellent employees. Housekeeping kept my room super clean.
Cons: Front desk need to tell people when they arrive if there is anything going on in there floor where they will be staying in.
Location: Location was not bad at all.
Got there front desk clerk upgraded our room no extra charge. He failed to say The Whole 6th floor was under renovation. Went back down the assistant manager was a young man being a bit arrogant. He said all they had was the 823 room we said ok. Your front desk clerk acted like he was doing us a great favor by upgrading us. Don't know his name but he was Asian around 6 feet tall. Your manager was white blonde hair around 5 ft 7 inches tall. Your front desk employees and management need better people skills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review, and for the complimentary remarks regarding our Bell staff and CLINK./housekeeping teams. We appreciate your feedback and strive to earn a five-star review on your next stay with us; to hear that your check-in experience was less than ideal is certainly not the norm. We hope that you will continue to choose The Liberty on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Excellent experience in this really cool hotel which was once s prison. Loved the lobby. Great place to sit and relax and people watch
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review, we really appreciate it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, terrible staff

Posted Apr 12, 2017
The staff members at The Liberty were horribly unhelpful. They seemed annoyed when asked the simplest things and made little effort throughout every interaction. At an expensive, five-star hotel, this was surprising and completely unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review, and I'm sorry to hear that your stay was less than exceptional. We pride ourselves on our high level of customer service; this feedback is surprising to hear. We hope that you will give The Liberty another chance on future travels to Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa

Super cool hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great location, very well appointed hotel with multiple entertainment options on site. Only reason for less than 5 (I'd give 4.5 instead of 4 if 1/2 stars were possible) is that when I called to book the hotel directly, they quoted an insanely high rate. Thank goodness for Expedia or I might not have had this amazing experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this review and we hope to see you back at The Liberty again on future travels to Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown PA

Perfect location

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Friendly staff and beautiful hotel. Room was large and the bathroom was awesome! Defiantly would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Robert M. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the complimentary remarks! We look forward to your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Rip-off "facilities" fee

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Removal of a gratuitous charge for things which should be part of any good hotel. Room also lacked coffee maker.
The Liberty is convenient to Mass General Hospital where I had an appointment today, so I stayed there last night. Much to my surprise (since i failed to read all the fine print with my reservation) I was charged a $20 "facility fee" to cover such items as bottled water in the room and soap in the shower plus "free" champagne on arrival and apples in the lobby. I just had a fruitless exchange with the front desk manager who seems to believe that charge is perfectly OK in addition to the $200 / night room rate. The hotel isn't actually bad, even if the restaurants are strictly second class, but I believe such a fee to be a rip-off and dishonest. In my view if I have to pay the fee, it should be part of the rate. I won't be staying there again and I urge everyone to rebel against their sleaze as well by not staying there.