Featured Image

Reviews of The Salem Inn

3.5 out of 5
The Salem Inn
7 Summer St, Salem, MA

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.3

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 367 out of 665 reviews
5 - Excellent 55%
Rating 4 - Good. 188 out of 665 reviews
4 - Good 28%
Rating 3 - Okay. 72 out of 665 reviews
3 - Okay 11%
Rating 2 - Poor. 25 out of 665 reviews
2 - Poor 4%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 13 out of 665 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.5/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.3/5

Amenities

4.3/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The contactless check in & responsiveness of staff was wonderful. A lovely historic hotel in walking distance to all sorts of shops & dining & historic sites
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed our stay and breakfast was awesome! Our concerns were when booking on line we didn’t realize we had to climb stairs and park off site. My husband is being treated for leukemia so it was a challenge. In the end everything worked out okay but just for future guests to be informed!!
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Historical
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I cannot say enough great things about the Salem Inn. The staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient. The room was beatiful and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The one thing I will mention is that parking is limited near the hotel. The hotel does provide a parking pass for street parking and a parking lot in town. This was not a problem for us. We parked on the lot in town, which is about a 7 minute walk from the inn. This could potentially be a challenge for anyone who has difficulty walking. This isn't a complaint, just a heads up for anyone that may be looking for lodging with closer parking. I would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very comfortable accommodations. One of the best sleeps I've had. Stylish and convenient location. Friendly staff.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loves the experience of staying at an historic inn that was updated, but still kept old charm. The contactless check in and out was easy and appreciated the breakfast each day.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Absolutely beautiful place (we stayed in The Curwen House) surrounded by beautiful, historic buildings on tree-lined streets. The hotel has adapted beautifully to pandemic conditions, handling all of our concerns (and reservations for complimentary breakfast) via text with remote check in and check out that was seamless and incredibly easy. After a week of vacation in several different places, Salem and The Salem Inn were absolutely the highlight. We’ll be back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice old property. Room a little small, but charming.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for the ratings and review! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you! We're glad you liked the Salem Inn, and we hope you return someday. —Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thanks for the great rating. We really appreciate it! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thanks for the great rating! We really do appreciate it, Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
clean, quiet, good location, nice breakfast included
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Glad you liked it and thanks for the great rating! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I really like the quaint vintage feeling of the room with the fireplace. Since I stayed for 3 nights, I would have liked to have had a small refrigerator in my room for water, etc. Other than that it was a wonderful stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Hello and thank you for leaving us such a positive rating and review! We do have small refrigerators for the asking at the desk—the reason we don't have them in the rooms (unless it's a family suite with a kitchenette) is the way the rooms are configured there isn't much space or electrical outlets available, But I'm sorry it was inconvenient for you. We do hope you return to see us again! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The historical inn situates in a quiet neighborhood. The lobby resembles the original setting. The room was very clean and up-to-date with all the amenities. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very friendly. The contactless check-in via texts was very efficient.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
What a great review—thank you for taking the time to note what you enjoyed about the Inn! We hope you return! Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

2/5 Poor

Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean and comfortable
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thanks for the great rating! We hope you come and see us again. Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice place with good breakfast
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Hello, Thanks for the great rating. We're glad you liked it all! Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Lovely inn in a great location. Nice breakfast included. Covid protocol is a little overdone with having to text breakfast choices. Would have preferred a king bed and an ensuite. The internet was not great. Other than that we liked the inn.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Hello, Sorry the inn fell short of your expectations in certain areas, but we're glad you were pleased with the breakfast and the location. Covid protocol is easing up, but at the time we instilled it, we wanted to do everything we could to keep our guests safe. But now no plexiglas and breakfast is back to normal! If you return to see us again, we do have family suites that have king size beds and kitchenettes available. We hope to see you again! Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved everything!!
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
So glad to hear that! We hope you come back someday. Warm regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location was great and the breakfast was out of this world! Super nice staff. My only issue is that the place is like a maze! We didn’t get in until almost midnight so nobody was at the front desk, plus with the contactless entry, and the instructions were not very clear. There are multiple staircases and we ended up getting lost after a 20 hour drive. Not the most pleasant experience, but not their fault we didn’t get there until late. We will definitely be back.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and give the Salem Inn such a great rating. We're sorry you got lost in the Inn (halls and staircases do wind around a bit), and we will definitely check and see if our late arrival information can be improved. Warm regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for the great rating! We appreciate it. Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was delicious! Inn was walking distance to all attractions. Room was clean and cute! We had a great time, thank you!
Stayed 1 night in May 2021
Response from Jill on Jun 29, 2021
Thank you for coming to the Salem Inn! We were happy to have you and hope you are our guest again someday. Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Had a great time at the Salem inn! Right off of Essex and super near everything. The birds in the lobby are very cute
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A great stay!
Stayed in room w11, the room was very clean, spacious and the whirlpool tub was awesome. Staff were great to deal with and overall the experience was wonderful
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Lovely stay in Salem
It was contactless check in and effortless. Staff text was supportive, room was excellent and clean. Loved the neighborhood and would highly recommend to friends.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Hi Julie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we're so glad that everything was to your liking. We hope you visit us again if you find yourself in Salem again! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Hi Erica, Thank you for leaving us a rating. We appreciate your input. Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Hi Mark, Thank you for the fantastic rating! We're so glad you had a great stay at the Inn. We hope you return for another visit. Best, Jill, Innkeeper

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a rating, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very nice place, we had to park a block away at another part of the inn. It was fine though very safe feel to the area. Covid restrictions kept us from maid service or seeing anyone at checkin or check out.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Hello Matthew, Thank you for leaving us a review; it sounds like you enjoyed yourself! We have enacted policies in order to keep our guests safe, and we believe they are working, but we miss seeing our guests' faces! Soon, soon, (fingers crossed). Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Thanks for the stellar rating! We appreciate it! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
I love how historic and well maintained the building is. The staff is super friendly and welcoming
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Thanks for your short but sweet review! We're happy that you had a good stay at the inn, and hope you stay with us again. Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I loved how everything was done contact free. Check in, check out, food orders, and door access codes were all done through text. It made things very fast, easy and safe.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Jill on Apr 21, 2021
Thank you for leaving a review. We have tried to keep our guests as safe as possible during these difficult times, and we're glad it made you feel secure. Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Read before you stay
First time i stayed here it was goid, this time the room was dirty. Candy wrappers on the floor, tge soup wasnt refilled in the bathroom and tbe kitchen soap was watered down. I mentioned this to the people working and they said i should have said something when i was there. Well sorry i rather not have more people come into my room if not needed with the virus.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great service overall. The only down side is the have no fitness facility.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2021
Response from Jill on Jan 19, 2021
Hi Ben, I'm so sorry we didn't know you were looking for a gym; we have passes for our guests to the YMCA which is right around the corner from the Inn. (Although I am not sure it was open during your stay due to Covid restrictions). Next time you come we'll get you there! So glad to hear that you were happy with the rest of your stay. Warm regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Easy communication with the staff via text, clean room and super nice and cute space. Fantastic location 10/10 would go back!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020
Response from Jill on Jan 19, 2021
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Salem Inn! We're so happy you found everything to your liking and we do hope you come back. Best regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice inn great staff Overall a great time We will be back
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020
Response from Jill on Jan 19, 2021
Hi Peter, So glad you were happy with your stay at the Salem Inn and we're happy to hear that you will be back. We'll look for you! Warm regards, Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing
I absolutely love this place! The staff is amazing. Great location. Beautiful rooms. Clean & safe!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2020
Response from Jill on Jan 19, 2021
Hi Cheryl, Thank you so much for your kind words and great rating. We appreciate it! Jill, Innkeeper

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020
Response from Jill on Jan 19, 2021
Thanks for the great rating!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Nov 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Amazing staff! Rooms outdated but that is the feel for an old building!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved the couch set into a nook surrounded by windows overlooking the backyard, the shower was great. Wish the room had a small fridge and the tv wasn’t working.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Do not book here.
Ok so I would have given this place an OK review until I had to deal with the front desk about a billing issue. I booked through hotels.com and paid a lot of money for 2 nights in the smallest, dumpiest room they had (which I did not know at the time). The room smelleK.terrible The carpet was stained. The bed and pillows were the most uncomfortable thing I had ever laid on in my life. It was supposed to be myself and my one daughter. At the last minute my other daughter (8 yo) decided to come. I called and asked if I needed a bigger room. I was told they would "just put a rollaway on there, no problem". End of conversation. Didn't think anything of it. Got there, checked in remotely. No issues. Didn't have to deal with anyone. Great. Got there. Kind of disgusted by the room but the bathroom was newish so we were dealing with it. No fire log given so we slept in freezing cold conditions...there was a remote but didn't find it until the next day bc it was in a drawer. The furniture was mismatched yard sale, falling apart crap. The breakfast staff was lovely and the only redeeming quality to the place. After we left I called the desk bc I saw an extra 368 charge on my credit card. I spoke to Jennifer, who stated she was the manager. She was the saltiest, nastiest person have ever had to deal with in my life. I was told that I was charged xtra for the rollaway bed and not told. I told her I was not told about it and she was so nasty I can't even explain. never again. Way too $$
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our stay was good. We stayed in the curwen House. Very close to everything walking distance
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Like that it’s private without having to walk past a front desk - and also dog friendly
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Great location to historic Salem has parking Free breakfast wasn’t very good at all
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2020