Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and convenient accomodation

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Clean and convenient with excellent hosts.
Cons: Nothing, it was fantatsic.
Location: In very easy distance to the subway and the hosts provide you with the cheap ticket option (like an Oyster card).
We were treated as members of the family by David and Robert and cannot recommend this guest house too much. We loved our time there and will be looking to rebook when we return next spring.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good Location!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
The location is great for getting around on the T and trains. Our hosts were personable, helpful, and interesting. The room and bed were comfortable--air conditioning cold in the hot summer and a comfortable mattress. We shared a bathroom with another traveller and would have liked a clean floor and tub daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
David was Very nice. Very accommodating. Everything was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Feels like home!

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Location is excellent
Cons: Eggs were usually available to cook but it would be nice if there were other items available for a warm breakfast.
Location: Centrally located to just about anything.
This bed and breakfast is located in a lovely neighborhood, very close to the Subway, restaurants and shopping. One stop down in either direction on the Subway is Harvard and MIT. We don't normally book rooms with shared bathrooms but we never had a problem with waiting for people to finish up in the bathroom. Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is to be prepared by yourself but usually everything you would want is there for the taking - just need some bacon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Whitman House Cambridge , Mass.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: convience of location to the metro was important.. and was clean quiet and very pleasant
Cons: hangers for clothing in the open closet and you must be willing to use a communial bathroom .. not
Location: With it being so close to the metro subway line easy to explore many parts of Boston and Cambridge from Harvard and Mit to the Freedom Trail in Bosto
Whitman House is a pleasant bed and breakfast at Central Square convient walking, five short blocks from the metro, to allow one to explore from Harvard to Boston easily. Rooms are nice..clean and confortable. Would appreciate some hangers in the closet and you must be willing to share a communial bathroom with the upstairs rooms.. Staff is polite and open to helping any way they can. If stairs are a problem recommend requesting the one room downstairs..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elke Margarete from Deutschland

Ungewöhnlicher Aufenthalt

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Ich habe meine Familie in Cambridge besucht. Ich kam gegen Abend und ging nach dem Frühstück. Das Zimmer war okay, allerdings recht kühl. Die Decke war zu dünn, es gab eine dickere ohne Bezug. Geputzt wurde während meines Aufenthaltes nicht im Zimmer auch nicht im Bad, was im Flurbereich lag. Das Frühstück suchte ich mir selbst zusammen, was möglich war.Der Kühlschrank mit Inhalt, viel Obst, stand zur Verfügung. Die Küche wurde geputzt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from Gloucester

Use the supplied bathrobe...

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels
Staying at the Whitman House with David was quite a pleasure. Breakfast is a cold buffet of cereals, breads, etc. The bathroom, although not shared, was down the hall. One morning I did make a run from the bathroom to the room in a towel and was caught by another guest, which made him feel more uncomfortable than it did me. Towels are kept in the room and not the bathroom so I'm lucky to have been wearing that much. David is extremely hospitable and made us feel comfortable. Just like staying at a family member's home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet street yet close to transport

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Quiet street yet close to transport. Convivial hosts.
Cons: Maybe carpet on the stairs.
Location: One stop to Harvard Square and three to the city's centre.
I went to Boston on my own, yet staying at Whitman House was like visiting old friends. David and Robert maintain a congenial atmosphere, welcoming and being interested in everything about their guests. Yes, it is possible to keep to oneself, and they respect that, but I enjoyed talking with them and with their other guests over breakfast and after coming back in the evenings. The house is comfortable and clean and, most important for me, is in a quiet street. Yet, a five minute walk brings you to the 'T' station, enabling travel all over Boston. Running a Bed and Breakfast is a financial venture, of course, but David and Robert seem to view it as a lifestyle choice and a learning opportunity for them as they meet guests from all walks of life, and it is this attitude which sets Whitman House in a class of it's own, above the rest. Congratulations to both of them!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Erika Hurtado from Peru

Una estadía muy interesante

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Lo más interesante de esta experiencia es el concepto de este alojamiento. David, el dueño del B&B es muy amable y simpático. Ha pensado en todo lo que su huésped puede necesitar durante su estadía en Whitman House.La ubicación es muy buena. Es una alternativa cómoda y acogedora para quien busca sentirse en casa aún fuera de casa.