Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique set-up in a great area.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Location and price could not be beat.
Very pleasant stay at the Whitman House. Very friendly. Quiet neighborhood, yet only a few short blocks away from a very lively scene. Almost any kind of restaurant you would want is with walking distance, as well as just a short walk to public transit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2016
This is a tiny inn on a residential street. Guests stay upstairs and (in my case) in the front room on the ground floor. The owners live in the furnished basement. And the back of the ground floor is a shared living/dining/kitchen space for everybody; the owner watching TV, and the guests to take the food they want for breakfast. My room was quite nice, and pretty much as described. But the experience as a guest was rather odd. The inn is barely signed (just a paper in the window next to the door), and when I rung the doorbell (since it seemed the obvious way to get in given that the door was locked), the owner seemed quite upset that I'd rung the doorbell (which makes a sound he hates). After that initial experience, things did improve. However, the owner is reasonably talkative, which I think is probably fine for many people, but this probably isn't the best sort of place for guests who would rather be left alone.
5 out of 5
by Jackie Lee from Chicago

A place where you discover you spirit.

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
David and Robert are gracious host's. If you want to be by yourself, it's great, if you want to be social, they are great as well. It's a great place to discover all that Boston (Cambridge) has to offer. It is relaxed and still in the hub of all that is going on in the neighborhood. A great experience.
5 out of 5
by Eric from Windsor, Ontario

Hotels no more

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
This is our first bed and breakfast attempt, and we will never go back to hotels. David and Robert made our stay as though we were living in our new home in a new city. They gave us great recommendations, and gave great conversion. Very intelligent men. We feel like we've made great friends, and look forward to seeing them again sometime. Thank you both for making our trip the best it could be.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great bed and breakfast in Cambridge

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Location is phenomenal. Prices cannot be beat
Cons: The bathroom is on the hallway (shared by no more than 3 guests, when lodgings are full)
Location: Walking distance from MIT and Harvard , multiple restaurants.
This is a private home that rents rooms. My room was extremely comfortable. Location in residential area on a tree lined street and within walking distance from MIT and Harvard makes it extremely quiet and convenient. Hosts were extremely gracious, I had the house and room key handed to me when I arrived and I could come and go as I please. Breakfast is fantastic (much better than at any hotel) and available for you to self-serve (practically you have the kitchen and supplies at your disposal to cook whatever you want if wishing a warm breakfast or eat fruit, sandwiches and cereals if in a rush).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A four night stay before travelling on

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Close to transportation and Harvard The excellent buffet breakfasts The friendly and informative Innkeepers
Cons: Tea/ coffee making facilities in individual rooms on second floor would make life easier
Location: Art Galleries, Museums, Harvard University, many shops, and easy to get to all areas of Boston
A comfortable small B & B in Cambridge Massachusetts, with easy access to Boston's great transportation system, so easy to get around the City and to the Airport A small, but well appointed house, with a fine architect designed interior Generous Buffet breakfasts Helpful Innkeepers Close to Harvard University and Art Museums, also close to stores, restaurants etc.
5 out of 5
by Doug from Kansas City

An incredible value....and a great place to unwind

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent in every catagory
5 out of 5
by Alan from Rayleigh, UK

Try Whitman House first

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Ticked all the boxes for us. Liked the relaxed atmosphere, and attention to detail of fittings etc. Allowed us to come back to shower and freshen up before our flight later in the day even though we had checked out, which was very helpful. No hesitation in recommending.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

A nice place to stay...

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: A wonderful host. Lovely size of room and a very good bathroom.
Cons: Dirty dishes in the sink is a bit off-putting. When you have used your cup/plate/cutlery, they should be put in the dishwasher NOT the sink.It's easy.
Location: The "T" (transit system) is very close, as well as many interesting restaurants. The host is very knowledgeable of things to do & has many brochures.
Whitman House is a very nice place to stay. It is close to transit and restaurants. "Continental breakfast" means that you help yourself from the myriad of choices that are set out on the kitchen counter for breakfast. (If you choose this lovely bed and breakfast, put your dishes in the dishwasher when you are finished. It is off-putting to start the day and see a pile of dirty dishes in the sink.) The host, David, is a very intelligent, interesting gentleman.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great and convenient accomodation

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Clean and convenient with excellent hosts.
Cons: Nothing, it was fantatsic.
Location: In very easy distance to the subway and the hosts provide you with the cheap ticket option (like an Oyster card).
We were treated as members of the family by David and Robert and cannot recommend this guest house too much. We loved our time there and will be looking to rebook when we return next spring.