Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Perfect stay in Cambridge Mass

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Felt like home. It was quite and easy access to everything nearby.
Location: Central Station, Whole Foods, Harvard, MIT and a variety of places of worship....
Running 2017 Boston Marathon..David, Robert and Stephan were perfect hosts. Felt like I was around home. 3 minute walk to Central T-Station. Abundance of local shops and churches nearby. What a diverse and educated community. Would stay at Whitman House without thinking about a second choice again......Great job team.....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the heart of Cambridge

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Host David was a delight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weird- Do not stay here if you want hospitality

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this based on the previous excellent reviews. We were met by David a very scruffy and strange host. The positives were: A modern spacious bedroom and a reasonable ensuite shower room. Off street parking The property is convenient for the underground and attractions such as Harvard The negatives were: The property is not a bed and breakfast, it is more akin to renting a room in a house - there are NO communal facilities such as a lounge despite what is inferred. David occupies the lounge/kitchen area and makes it known that you are not welcome in that area. It is stated in the room information that a self serve breakfast is available until 10am. We went for breakfast at 9.40 on the first morning only to be told that it had been cleared away and therefore we were too late, this was despite checking the night before that breakfast was until 10am The host had very few social skills and was blunt and rude e.g. You're Europeans so don't open the windows. He also commented several times on the amount of luggage that we had (we were touring America for four weeks) and invaded our personal space by laying on our bed uninvited. On the third morning we had a quick breakfast as David's first comment was "what are you eating". We felt most unwelcome and breakfast was very awkward. Do not stay here if you want Bed and Breakfast hospitality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great short stay material

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: convenient and affordable for a Boston visit.
Cons: More frequent for cleaning and towel change
Location: Plenty of places to eat and subway station a short walk away
We had a great short 3 night stay at Whitman House, close to the subway for ways and quick access across the river to Boston. Lots of breakfast choice, help yourself, also to tea and coffee at any time. Spacious room and fully air conditioned. Much needed and convenient parking space at rear of house. Very relaxed and friendly stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good mid-Cambridge option

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
This is a good place if you're looking for a B&B instead of a hotel. Easy 20 minute walk to Harvard, MIT, or Back Bay. Or 5 Minutes to Central Square and the Red Line. Very accommodating hosts.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Liverpool

Great location

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Good location for transport links into Boston and a short walk up to Harvard. Lovely house, we were in the green room which had a shared bathroom but there was no real problems there. We didn't have chance to speak much to David and Robert as we didn't have much time in Boston as we wanted to see as much of Boston as possible but they seemed very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Whitman house at central square

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Great location perfect for our stay. Many restaurants on MA Ave and Main Street . Whole food and Asian market H Mart is walking distance . Feel like staying at friend house
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James from Honolulu

Quaint B&B in Cambridge

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Our hosts David and Robert were gracious and made us feel right at home. The house is located in Cambridge near MIT and Harvard; also within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Our room was immaculate and spacious with top of the line toiletries. We enjoyed the continental breakfast with multiple choices for food and beverages. Will definitely stay there again when going to Boston!