Ratings based on 1,585 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Excellent location. Walking distance to everything

Posted May 23, 2017
The best hotel I have ever lived in in Boston. Excellent location. Everything I needed was within the walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Good Location To MGH

Posted May 11, 2017
The purpose of our trip was to visit the Transplant Center at Massachusetts General Hospital. So because we were only staying one night and it was not for 'leisure' per se, we chose The Wyndham solely for its vicinity to where we had to be in the morning. This was one meeting we could not be late for! First, there's no on-site parking. There are plenty of garages near by though. If you're a patient at the hospital or visiting one, parking rates are dramatically reduced. We paid $14 for 24 hours. If you're not in that status, it's $48/24 hrs. Regarding the hotel itself. Let me start by saying we paid over $300 for the one night. Nothing included except tax. The public areas of the hotel were ok, pretty much what I would expect of a 3 star hotel. The room was also what I expected. Bare bones, no fridge, no mini bar. But I did expect that the bathroom door should offer privacy (it was a frosted glass slider that had a 1-2" gap making it so you didn't feel 'alone', and there was no evacuation fan. The toilet seat was not secure either. We had breakfast at the hotel the next morning- also for convenience. It took about 25 minutes for them to heat up the frittata that was awful and the bacon was hanging around since last week. Enough bashing. The staff was polite and very nice. I am probably spoiled and expect more. I just thought That for $300 it would have been a bit better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a bummer!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: New mattress, warmer water.
Location: Near the Boston Commons and downtown Boston.
We were looking forward to this hotel in the middle of a busy, demanding trip around the Northeast. We arrived at about 9 pm. The valet service was friendly and efficient. When I went to get a glass of wine at the bar in the lobby, where several couples were drinking and talking, it was deemed closed by a staff person who was less than pleasant- not the bartender, but someone in the office. We had the most terrible bed, saggy and uncomfortable and a shower that did not get above lukewarm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Middle of nowhere in downtown Boston

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Was dissatisfied and was not even worth complaining. Because we did Expedia it was like, "Oh well to bad" nothing the hotel could do for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great view perfect location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Great room. View of the Charles river and the famous citgo sign. Room service was great. Amazing food, and it didn't take forever! We ordered and got a call a few minutes later one item was no longer on the menu so we ordered somoelse. About a minute later they called again to say the chef had everything to make what we ordered and was making it since we didn't have the updated menu. Check out the picture for what that item was!! The TV wouldn't work for on demand movies at night but in the morning it did! Very strange!! Room was a little warm even with the air set at 65* and wouldn't stay on. Comfy cozy beds. Clean room and bathroom. CVS and Whole Foods basically attached to hotel as well as au bon pain, not mention tons of restaurants, bars and stores. Mass general hospital maybe a 3 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G. Lawrence , KS

Excellent location

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Really great staff. They were able to accommodate an early checkin. Everything was near by that you could need. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect location for Mass General Hospital access.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Location is perfect for access to Mass General Hospital; literally 1 block walk.Connected to shopping plaza with Whole Foods. Logan airport 5 min away
Cons: Older hotel - rooms severely need updating. Business Center room very small; can accommodate 2 people. Room service needs to be improved.
Location: Perfect access MassGeneral Hospital, one block away. Beacon Hill across street; Boston Commons, downtown 1/2 mile walk;seaport, financial area close
Perfect for access Mass General Hospital - 1 block away. Walking distance Beacon Hill, Boston Common, downtown, Chinatown, south station, seaport area. Literally 5 min drive from Logan Airport if no traffic. Hotel is older property; rooms severely need updating, but it was clean. Business center size of a closet with only 2 computers, printer and fax so room for only 2 people at a time. Only complaint was room service; upon arrival when I called I got voicemail so left my room number with message to return call. Waited 20 minutes (!), no callback. Called again, got voicemail again! - was NOT happy. So called front desk to complain; they went to get room service person who returned my call within 5 min.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Easy check in and check out. Staff is polite and helpful. We used Valet parking and there seams to be a bot of confusion in this team. Otherwise, pleasant stay at Wyndham Beacon Hill Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Medical Stay

Posted Mar 11, 2017
We stayed here because it's close to Mass General Hospital. The staff are so sweet and accommodating. The facility's handicapped accessibility was more than we needed but you can see that they are thinking of everyone with it's design.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baker

Looks can be decieving

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I wrote my initial review before I had completed my stay and the hotel responded with "but you stayed another night." So here's my complete review post hotel response. First off, I should mention the reason I didn't go to another hotel was because I booked a non refundable room. When I arrived, my weekend reservation was split in two, not sure whose fault this is so I left it as is. I was annoyed that the hotel couldn't do anything about it and that I would have to stop in the middle of my conference to re-check in. Additionally, we were a little early so our room wasn't ready. So we stored our bags, took back our keys from the valet and explored Boston. We found out that nearby parking was cheaper so we opted out of paying $48 for hotel parking. My guest had lost one of the tickets to claim our belongings, so we were told they would try to identify them based on my description. 30 minutes later, I went downstairs to check on the status to find the persons who were supposed to be looking for it chatting at the desk. He immediately brought me to the bag room, where I identified my bag. That night it snowed and dropped to 15 degrees, my room was freezing, so I called the desk in the morning. Maintenance came an said the heat was working, but it was still cold. When I returned at 4, the room has not been cleaned, but the money I left on the desk for housekeeping tip was gone. There were more issues including housekeeping barging into the room at 8am, but I'll write the hotel