Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Needs some SERIOUS updating

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Front desk receptionist guy was nice, helpful. Booking was a breeze, no issues checking in or out. However, this is an Extremely, extremely, and I mean EXTREMELY dated hotel. Felt like I took a trip back 1980. Once this place gets a serious makeover, I’ll be back. Until then, I’m willing to spend a few extra dollars for a much nicer quality experience at hotels right down the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review. We're sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We agree there are areas within the hotel which are beginning to show their age.  We will share your feedback with appropriate individuals in our organization as we begin formulating plans for future renovations. Until those plans are approved, our goal is to deliver the best service of any hotel in the area, and we hope you'll make plans to stay with us again!    Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Staff was friendly. Reasonable price and quite. Room cleanliness is our largest issue. There was left over milk jug in the fridge that was expired, garbage can in the bathroom had stuff in it from previous guest and the overall cleanliness of the room was sub-par
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know you had an overall pleasant visit. We are glad you liked our affordable rates and courteous service. However, we are sorry for the cleanliness issues you experienced in your room. We have shared your feedback with my housekeeping team for immediate review and action. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brewster wa

Lo

Posted Oct 27, 2017
I just stay for some hours but I was good I talk to my friends about the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 28, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Israel, thank you for the positive review and for taking time to recognize our hotel. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay and our facilities were up to your satisfaction. Thanks for being our guest. We can't wait to welcome you back to Extended Stay America. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Clean and comfortable

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Had early morning business meetings in Everett, decided to come up night before so wouldn't have to deal with I-5 freeway in morning as I live in Tacoma .was a comfortable bed to sleep in and didn't need the kitchenette facilities but would us again if I were to stay a few days. This wD 5 star compated to the other choices in the area, it is located in a business park, with a Starbucks nearby , right off the freeway . I felt safe and it served. My needs we'll. Even brought the other half with me for a quick weeknight escape without kids . Not the most romantic setting but it was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed . The continental breakfast was just granola bats , prepackaged muffins instants oatmeL and coffee , tea, hot water . Not like the bagels fruit and oastries of days past. But like I said . Starbucks and Mcdonalds right across the street,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Kris, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America. We are happy to know our location was ideal for your needs and that you had a comfortable stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Farwa was quite pleasant. "Breakfast" is a total joke. Room was not thoroughly cleaned before arrival, as two lost items were left by prior tenant. Of the 2 local Extended Stay Americas, I recommend this over the other one just a mile or two away: the on-duty clerk seemed stoned and could care less if he was helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. Although you liked the service delivered by Farwa, we apologize for the inconvenience you had while being here. Your feedback is of utmost value, and we will use it as a training tool to improve our performance moving forward. It was good to have you here, and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Terrible

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service
AC was not working in the room. Thermostat was busted. There was no one there to fix it that day or the next day. They said they have no other room to offer me. The only option was to stay without AC or go to another hotel, which they contacted, in a smoking room. I chose the smoking room. I have to buy 2 bottle of febreeze and 1 air freshness just so I can sleep. I was in Seattle for only 2 nights to meet another engineer about a startup. They wasted 3.5 hours and caused a lot of frustration. They not only didn’t apologies or offer me anything in return. They screwed up the billing and I had to call Expedia for another 40 minutes and pay the whole amount again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Sahbi, please accept my sincerest apologies for the maintenance and service issues you encountered while here. I have shared your concerns with the respective teams, and we have taken actions to ensure that we do not repeat these issues in the future. We are reviewing the situation as a training tool to improve our procedures and to ensure this does not happen again. We understand the frustration and truly hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Have stayed at this hotel a couple times a year for several years because it is near family. It is definitely showing its age. Still alright but not great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad you stayed with us once again and appreciate your candid review. We are sorry your suite fell short of your expectations. We value your feedback and will share it with our brand leaders to take action going forward. On a brighter side, I am glad our location was perfect to meet your family and this aspect will bring you back again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel smelt of a bad smokey horrible smell . the rooms were dirty woman's female products left next to the bed and night stand just totaly dirty place. no breakfast or room service for the money you pay to stay there
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
It is very disappointing to know we failed to deliver you a stay that could meet your expectations. Our first preference is to ensure a spotless accommodation for every guest, but we are extremely sorry we fell short in doing so while you were here. Your concerns have been shared with our Housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service moving forward. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider giving us one more chance so we can redeem ourselves. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Get exactly what you pay for

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Mid grade hotel at mid grade price. Just off the 405 so convenient. Bed was rough and loud but everything was clean, super friendly staff and nice looking pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are glad you liked the value we offer and some aspects of our hotel. However, we were sorry to read that you were disappointed with the bed in your room. We would have loved the opportunity to resolve this issue while you were here and would have moved you to another room upon request. Thank you for sharing your comments. We hope you will choose to stay with us again so that we can provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Tatia

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and location was nice, the grunt desk person was very helpful, but i think they were understaffed. We had one towel in our hotel room, no wash cloth. Our sink was clogged when we arrived. There weren't any towels in the pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Tatia, thanks for evaluating your stay. We are glad to read you had an overall pleasant visit and liked our location. That being said, we are sorry for the service issues you encountered while here. We truly regret the inconvenience these caused. We value your feedback and will use it to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope we have the chance to make it up to you at a future date. Sincerely, General Manager