Ratings based on 1,740 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Everyone was pretty friendly and helpful. I thought the hotel was really nice and comfortable and well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you! We appreciate your excellent feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The location was the best!
Cons: More representatives at the front desk, especially if you are hosting a conference or two.
Location: We could walk to Pearl St. and it was close to another outdoor shopping center. It was also right by the river and the trail.
The rooms were clean. The pools were broken when we were there, so we didn't get to use them. They only had one person at the front desk every time we went to it, so it made it challenging to get something done quickly. I was at the hotel for a conference. The food was great! We stayed there 3 nites and wanted the linen changed, so we put it on the floor and stripped the bed. They put the same sheets back on. We only received fresh towels. We did not receive fresh wash cloths. When we asked for fresh wash cloths from the front desk they just brought us two towels. We called down to get some wash cloths and they never brought them up. the next morning we called and got fresh towels, hand towels, and wash cloths. I will say everybody was kind and the rooms were clean. The decor was a bit out-dated, but for what we paid it was good. Also the location was excellent! I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: size of room, location
Cons: drop that silly $50 added then removed charge and maintain the bathroom fixtures.
Our room was large and that was very nice. The toilet seat was unhinged on one side, part of the tub faucet was loose from the wall, shower water never shut off completely. Really irritating that although our room was pre paid and they had our credit card information, they still put $50 on our charge at check-in which we were told would be removed at check out, which it was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Pool was closed with no prior notice through the reservation. There was pizza sauce still on the carpet like it had NOT been vacuumed. There were empty beer cans outside the glass patio door thrown about like there had been a big party. The room was old and creepy and so was the building. All except the lobby which was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us. We will work with housekeeping and maintenance to make sure both the inside and outside of the hotel are clean. Thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
It was terrible. Shower was terrible . No ice or vending machines no pool hotel food was terrible elevators were terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We apologize for the terrible stay you had with us. We will be working with our maintenance department to fix these issues and have also partnered with local Boulder rec centers to accommodate for the pool being out of order. Thank you for your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
lights unplugged, wallpaper coming off walls, overall run down
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay with us. We will work to fix the issues you have experienced. Thank you and we appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Needs renovation!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The room was nice.
Cons: Lots!
Location: The location is good, near the university. The bike/running path along Boulder Creek is great.
Years ago this was a nice hotel. Now it's run down. The staff was not helpful, poor directions to my room in the far building, no suggestion on a place to park because there was an ongoing conference. Pool was shut down.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear about your experience with us. We will speak with our staff to fix these issues. We have also partnered with our local Boulder rec centers to accommodate for the pools being out of order. Thank you and we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to BU campus

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Walking distance to BU campus was important to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate, Hotel Management
Thank you! We appreciate your excellent feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but rough

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Very run down facility. Long dark hallways, broken elevators and finished room service left outside doors for over 24 hours. The bedroom was adequate, the bathroom felt glued together. Things were loose and very worn. Cheap but rough.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We will work with our staff to fix the issues you experienced while staying with us. Thank you for your feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aurora co

average hotel by cu campus

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The hotel is in a fabulous location close to CU campus, shopping, and dining. The hotel needs some major updates as it is a bit run down and dingy looking (nothing like the pictures). However the staff was extremely nice and the rooms were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Kate Bleakley, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed our staff and location. We apologize for the issues you experienced while staying with us and will work to fix these issues.