Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Paul

A mixture of good and bad

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
Strange place - restaurant seems to be having an admin war with hotel. No service to outside terrace tables unless forced! Staff seemed more concerned with their internal matters than providing good service. Food in the Michelin "bib" restaurant frankly poor - tough Charolais entrecote, but restaurant facility quite stunning. Room had cooling in air con disabled. Stayed 2 nights but complimentary water provided for 1 night only. Paper cups and instant coffee. Plastic water cups not replaced though used on first night. Can't fault breakfasts. Before our meal which we booked at reception, we went to the bar to order Campari-sodas. There were no bar staff, so we ordered it in the restaurant and said we would be outside on the terrace. Eventually the receptionist appeared and asked whether we had ordered drinks. We were told that the restaurant was separate from the hotel and the order would (now) be made at the bar. Campari’s arrived with 2 bottles of tonic water and a bowl of crisps. The tonic waters were sent back. She returned with 2 bottles of lemonade. We rejected these and the crisps which we since discovered were stale and at last 2 bottles of Perrier were provided – not soda but acceptable. 2 small bowls of olives were provided in lieu of the stale crisps. By now we were late for our table booking so took the aperitifs to the restaurant where we were interrogated about their origin. “We can’t charge these to your room”.
4 out of 5

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel needs upgrade, good parking 15 min frame center town
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Excellent choice for a stay in Bourges.

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in magnificent building. Charming and helpful reception. Very comfortable and quiet room. Excellent parking. Short walk to new shopping centre with everything next to lovely part of the historic old town. The only slight disappointment was with the (independent) restaurant, operating in the magnificent setting of the old abbey. The food was basically good but they seriously overcooked two otherwise great steaks. The chef should better supervise the pass.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, UK

Lovely hotel within short walk to Bourges centre.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Clean, comfortable, helpful staff and excellent food.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Very nice. Good location

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in good location. Nice staff. Rooms a little bit small.
5 out of 5
by Ruth

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Very near city centre, unfortunately we could not it at their special restaurant as it was already fully booked, so if you book the room , book a table at the same time.
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Very Good Hotel. Would Stay Again.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel. Easy free parking. Spotless. Only negative was that some breakfast items not topped up regularly in the morning which was annoying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impressive from the outside.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
I found the restaurant manager quite unwelcoming. There was certainly no personnel touch, unlike all the other places we have stayed. The carpet in the bedroom was quite old.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Well-maintained Hôtel Close to Town Center

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, parking
Cons: Reopen Abbaye St. Ambroix Restaurant
Location: See the cathedral!
We have stayed here many times. The staff is always very friendly, and all of receptionists speak English. The hotel is well-maintained, clean, and air-conditioned. It is close to the attractions in the town. Parking is plentiful and free. Our only disappointment is that the excellent restaurant, Abbaye St. Ambroix, has closed, and the space has been taken over by an outside company. It is no longer the elegant space that it was previously. Because of that, breakfast also is now served in a small room and not in the dining room.
4 out of 5
by Paul

bourbon Mercure- borges

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
walking distance to old town was reasonable. very nice hotel and good breakfast.