Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from belgium

Clean and Friendly

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The hotel room was clean on the 4th floor . Unfortunately it was not a walking distance from the Center of Bruges as we thought it would be . But as we had our car it was easily accessible.the Staff were very friendly and took their time to be helpful . Our only discomfort was the size of the bed . Even though it was a double bed , it was not a king size bed . Overall the experience was good and we recommend it to our friends .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Family friendly , lovely staff and delicious food.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The hotel is hard to find and away from the city centre . However it offers really nice facilities such as games , swimming pool and lovely restaurant . We had really nice dinner and fresh , tasty breakfast . The only downside is its location , convenient it is but not pretty at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrendous noise and a bit dated - staff lovely.

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were pleasant and helpful especially when called at 00.40 to complain about the terrible noise coming from the children's play area. Not very amusing when you've just driven 400 miles with 300 ahead of you the next morning. Receptionist was very apologetic and having heard the reception phone ringing again I assume (rightly or wrongly) that other guests were complaining. I strongly suggest that this area is closed at 22.30. Towels and bedding spotless as usual but the rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. Secure car park with plenty of spaces.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello , Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Bourges. About establishing itself we are just in a renovation program . The lobby, restaurant, bar , pool and terrace have just been renovated . A fitness room has been created and bedding changed rooms. Work has been delayed and unfortunately the entire renovation of our rooms was not able to finish before the season. This renovation is repelled by year end . Looking forward to welcoming you again in a renovated room with a bathroom worthy of the name . cordially
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Good facilities for children

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Facilities for children
Cons: Updated bedrooms and bathrooms
We stopped here as a family on our way back from Spain, the hotel was surprisingly geared to children with heated outdoor pool, a play area, a games console section, football table and children's menu in the restaurant which all went down well with our 10 year old daughter. Overall no complaints, in my opinion the rooms, especially bathrooms are dated for a 4* standard but other facilities made up for this.
5 out of 5
by jean from ayrshire

safe place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was comfortable, the room was spaceous with a sofa. A table swings out from the wall unit, ideal for laptops. We liked the sofa for watching tv rather than sitting on the bed. Bourges was about 15 mins in the car, there is a safe carpark area in the town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ibiza

Ok Hotel for travellers stopping over but thats it

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Good location from motorway and free parking
Cons: Everything from the building to the rooms and the atmosphere
Location: Not a lot, its a travellers stop over and away from the town
I stayed here on my way to Spain and following a day driving. It's location is easy access from the motorway and they have plenty of parking however the positives end there. The Hotel needs an upgrade. The building is old fashioned, felt like an old hospital and in the hallways there was a funny smell. I would not stay here again, although it served its purpose. A place to crash after a long drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by general manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Bourges. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal distance from London and easy to locate

Posted Dec 23, 2015
We were traveling through France to Spain with our dog and it was the ideal driving distance from London to break the journey. There was plenty of space to walk the dog when we got there and again in the morning before we left. The staff were lovely and the dinner and breakfast were good. It was good value for money and the dog was very appy staying in our room with us. Am planning to stay there again on the return leg.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Close to the auto route but that was its only plus

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Arrived after a long days drive, too exhausted to complain about the uncomfortable beds and bathroom
4 out of 5
by Roger from Bracknell

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Good food, room as stated. If I were to try and make a critisim it would be there did not seem to be enough waiters on duty
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth A from Tempe Arizona

Great place

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Just off the auto route (but extremely quiet) and a bit confusing to find. Thank goodness for their directional signs! Excellent value.