Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fair Oak

Weekend in Bournemouth

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: The staff go out of their way to be so helpful. Very friendly environment
Cons: Cooked Breakfast could be self service, as having this served was inhibiting and the staff could be used elsewhere
Location: Hotel is so close to shops and the beach. Bournemouth has so much to offer, but gets very busy in the summer.
Great Hotel. Close to Beach and Shopping. Excellent Staff, so friendly polite and helpful. Although older hotel it has a nice indoor swimming pool and good gym facilities. Definitely go back again in the Summer; if its not full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Everything ,
Cons: the radiator in my room did not work, but they apologised and confirmed that it would be repaired
Location: I was there for business and did not have time to check out the surrounding area.
I was welcomed by friendly staff, who were full of information that I needed. I ate in the brassiere which had a good selection of tasty , well cooked meals at a reasonable price, again staff were friendly and professional. The next morning I needed a taxi to the station, the hotel were happy for me to leave my car there as I was staying 2 nights and have a direct line to a good taxi service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Good central location.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff friendly and overall presentation of the hotel.
Cons: Larger car park with bigger parking bays.
Location: Handy for shops, restaurants and seafront.
The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all very friendly, especially Karina in the brasserie restaurant. We ate in for the three nights we stayed and the food was very nice, well presented and good value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The only criticism is the car park, it was not big enough when the hotel was busy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing We expected more!

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Pool, breakfast, room service available but expensive.
Cons: Standard rooms are small, especially bathroom which is actually just a showroom with no room to swing the proverbial cat!
Location: Located in a rather seedy road. Reasonably handy for town centre etc.
This is a comfortable hotel. The standard rooms a small, especially the bathroom. The pool etc are a bonus and add to the stay as long as you use them, otherwise frankly you will be better off at the Travelodge which is close to the beach and a slightly better road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Good hotel, good location but rather spoilt by the absolutely minuscule bathroom. If the website had indicated this I could have had the opportunity to select an upgraded room, so enjoyable break which could have been super-break with better info.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nicely renovated hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See poor communications between reception and maintenance above.
Location: See above
Best renovated hotel we staying in on a month tour of the UK. Comfortable, well fitted and equipped rooms. Extremely friendly, helpful staff. Made us feel special. Very nice up-market best restaurant. Senior management proved they cared by personally checking every room on a weekly(?) basis. Good location, easy walks to town centre and beach. Only problem was an apparent breakdown in communications between the reception desk and the maintenance staff. We were woken several times by a noise from next door. We reported it twice to reception but it wasn't fixed. Talked to a maintenance man personally. He checked it out and had ordered new parts for a noisy water pump by the next day. Hotel needs a method of checking that problems get addressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from watford

good hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: spa experience
Cons: floor in shower very slippery
Location: plenty to see and do
good choice of shops restaurants and pubs nearby in main square area of town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel perfect reach within beech and other at

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Cleaniness
Cons: size of bathroom
Location: Beech, fairgroung, aquarium
we were lucky to have the best weather, but irrespective the towm has lots to do and explore
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stratford upon Avon

Disappointed as a returning customer

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The Car Park
Cons: I will leave suggestions for improvements to the Management of this hotel.
Location: The hotel is handily placed for the walk up and down the hill to the beach and town centre, so its in a fairly quiet and convenient position.
Booked in mid afternoon, explained to reception we had been before, hoping we might benefit from a nice room.Got the complete opposite.You could not swing a cat in this room and some of the equipment needed repairing.We thought as it's only 1 night, we will grin and bear it, because the priority when we arrived, was to go out and eat, before going to the theatre. A tiny little window overlooked a fire escape, which was the view of our room and at night we had to put the air conditioning on to drown out the noise from the adjoining hotel's air conditioning plant, which was situated right outside our room. NOT what I expected from a 4 STAR PLUS Hotel. I spoke to the Assistant Manager in the morning and he came to look at the room, the location and noise outside, and he told us he HAD intended to speak to the General Manager(away on holiday) before about this room.When checking out we spoke to him again and he refunded £30 to my Card Company. A derisory and insulting amount, bearing in mind the condition, location and price of this room. What a great advert for the British seaside Hotel and tourism industry.What you see on the Expedia and hotel website is not necessarily what you get, but there must be something that someone can do to protect customers who do not get what they pay for - a paltry refund does not make amends for ruining our evening and stay in Bournemouth.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herts

Disapointing

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We bitterly regret discounting other hotels as serious options when we chose the Connaught. Firstly it defied belief and we have never experienced a situation where breakfast isn't included. Furthermore, if you don't opt for breakfast at the time of booking then you are considered 'Non resident' although you ARE resident and have paid £378 for a 2 night stay!! If you are non resident even if you ARE resident, you pay £12.95 pp per breakfast , if you are resident you pay £6 pp per breakfast. The receptionist wasn't budging on our residdent but non resident status so we were to pay £12.95 pp. However our first breakfast experience was not good. We had a surly, distinctly unhappy waitress and the Fayre was mediocre. I just had tea a fruit. Such was our poor experience that the head waiter wrote off our bill. We had a first class breakfast at Neo the next day for £8. In addition to this poor customer service our room was positioned within about 4 feet of the kitchen where loading and prep started before 6am and continued for nearly 3 hours. We moved room to be awoken very early the next morning to the breakfast prep in the garden. We could also hear EVERY single thing the people in the neighbouring room were doing. I must also draw attention to the fact that surely SOMEONE has noticed that all the bathroom doors squeak and cream loudly everytime they are opened and closed?!! The doors in both the rooms we had did so as did our neighbours! So much for a restful weekend.