Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Very smart hotel, close to town centre and beach.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff.
Cons: I did not appreciate being charged to park my car in the hotel car-park.
Location: Sea, town BIC and the Pavilion Theatre all within walking distance.
Booked one of their refurbished rooms (they are 104, 204 and 304) for three nights in September 2017. Very pleasant with a sea view. I requested in advance to have a small fridge placed in the room. This was done and the fridge was there when we arrived. The bar staff were very friendly and the restaurant food was excellent and the staff matched that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location. Used to be a first class hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location,
Cons: See above.
Bathroom in need of refit. Hand basin not functioning properly,shower head fell off ,poor water pressure. Menu choice in dining room very poor . (4 Star Hotel with burgers on dinner menu ) ? Dining room understaffed. We waited 20 minutes before order was taken,a further 10 mins for wine service, and another 10 mins for delivery of meal. It gives me no pleasure in criticiseing, what used to be our favourite Bournemouth hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great view of sea and beach but that's about it.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Sea view
Cons: Run down hotel
Location: Excellent
Old hotel that is on its last legs. Breakfast was tolerable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Beautiful hotel, rooms excellent

Posted Sep 25, 2017
The food quality was low and the menu limited. The staff were very friendly and helpful but let down by Hallmarks cheap food quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells UK

Stopover

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Just what we required Nothing more that we can say for just one nights stay...............
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Breakfast.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The breakfast was a complete fiasco from start to finish I emailed the hotel and they couldnot be bothered to reply, for what I paid . I am discusted .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Great view

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We went there for my wife 60th. Thought I'd tear her to s bit of luxury. On entering the hotel the foyer gave the impression of great opulence of a bygone day. Entering the room that too showed signs of long gone days. Very tired decor and carpets. Bathroom. Could do with a revamp. Toilet didn't flush properly and there was a sight wobble when sitting. Just a dribble of water from shower. Asked for shower head to be changed. Which to their credit was sorted immediately. The balcony. Which is what we paid vastly over the top for. The view was fantastic. The floor of the balcony was just a bit of tarmac and that hadn't been finished to a reasonable standard. Even a bit of lino would have looked better. The table and chairs were cheap wooden garden one with slats with no comfort cushions. Sitting looking at the views for any length of time was uncomfortable. We left two days early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leics, UK

Nice hotel and great location.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Sea view room. The bed. Pool area
Cons: The breakfast needs to be kept hotter.
We stayed here for the weekend arriving early but no issues parking the car whilst we went for a walk. Check in was straight forward. Our room with a sea view was just perfect along with the en-suite bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and you could not wish for a better room. The out door pool with sunbathing area was an added bonus. Our only disappointment was the breakfast. Whilst the food was good quality, it was only just warm. But we would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

An enjoyable experience

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Nice stay, staff superb, hotel looking tired in places.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and accommodating hotel and overall very good. Room nice and clean and bed very comfortable. Service very good although lunch on the terrace was very slow (40+ mins) and not that great! (£3.80 for a latte!) Amenities were good. Pool area would have benefited from regular clearing of towels/cups/plates etc as guests didn't seem to want to do it themselves although it wasn't clear where used pool towels should be left. Location on East Cliff was great - about a 10 minute walk to pier/gardens/town centre. Lovely beach just down the steps.