Ratings based on 483 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Great location and service

Posted Sep 19, 2017
My husband and I recently got a puppy and decided to have a mini anniversary celebration in the UK as we can't leave him until he's a bit older. Staff was great gave us a spacious room nicely decorated with petals and champagne etc making our anniversary very special. Room was clean and very tidy, with all amenities required. Hotel itself is only 10 mins walk down from Bournemouth Pier and Town centre and just off the sea front so lovely to wake up with a sea view every morning! Would definitely visit this hotel again and recommend to others. Thank you hallmark for our lovely stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

potentially great hotel sadly neglected

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: the view, the location
Cons: everything see above, it's so neglected , and could be a jewel, such a shame
Location: sea view lovely , beach super 5 mins walk to pier
location v nice however rooms nice size but really tatty , bed cover stained , cheap mattresses with springs sticking unto us, .ancient bathroom.constantly running toilet cyctern bath panel broken. cheap wines, DREADFUL low quality breakfast . exterior paint work tatty, sad neglected out door pool no management presence at all to deal with problems.pleasant but robotic staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Good Position for Bournemouth amenities

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: On a wet and windy evening we did not appreciate having to go the the sister hotel next door for the evening meal.
A very pleasant 3 day break the extra for a sea view with a balcony was well worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice location....tired inside though!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Were allocated room 1027 on arrival. Reception and staff pleasant enough, however the room left a lot to be desired! Tired and tardy perhaps sums it up. Cramped room with a chair in one corner literally wedged against the bed! Curtains stained, bathroom fittings loose...not what I expected for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Position

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pleasant hotel with helpful staff and good location for Bournemouth & Boscombe. Room was comfortable although a bit cramped with the King SIze bed. However, bed was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was adequate for a weekend break, but any longer and it would be boring, unless of course you enjoy a 'full English' every day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aylebury

Great Location Very runs down

Posted Sep 7, 2017
I arrived at 930pm to be told I had to pay £20 for parking when I was under impression from booking site free parking which I was disappointed with!! I raised this and was basically told tough! Which was NOT what I expected!! The gym was ok what is expected the pool was tiny and the pool area dirty. The room was ok, bathroom dirty bed ok stain on sheet when pulled back cover which looked like dried blood!! Not impressed. Breakfast was, well poor, the cooked food was cold and tasted off clearly if you were up at crack of dawn you would have got slightly warmer food!! I would expect the Hotel to contact me back after this but I won't hold my breath!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Was very pleasant to stay at, very clean. Members of staff were very nice too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Old but fairly well kept hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I was a bit skeptic when I saw that the hotel seemed quite old. The rooms were however spacious and clean. They have good pools (indoor at Carlton that you can use). Staff were helpful. The location is excellent just walking distance from the beach and at the centre of the air show. We had a lovely stay. Will definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reigate

Nice hotel & room & location, bar staff very slow

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The room was brilliant and the hotel but staff could learn to smile and treat customers better.
Cons: Staff training.
Location: Excellent and easy walk into town
Bar staff very slow, inexperienced and served people in-between, while we were waiting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing Room

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Location and good communal areas.
Cons: Needs refurbishing.
Location: Good location.
The receptionist who greeted us on arrival was quite unfriendly and brusque - not a great first impression. She also told us that parking was £10 for the night which was a surprise to us. Very misleading as not prominent on their website. I booked a sea view room which did have a sea view, from the side, but ok. The problem was the room was an interconnecting one, with a locked door, but we could hear every word of next door's conversation! Luckily we were out most of the time. Also the bathroom was the smallest I've ever encountered, with the narrowest entrance and a door handle that stuck out and I kept bashing my arm on. It was also extremely dated with a very cracked sink, and poor shower - definitley needs refurbishing. The positive was the bed, which was huge and very comfortable. The room was clean and had decent tea/coffee making facilities. Overall, poor value for money and won't be staying again unless the bathrooms are refurbished.