Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedford

Good location.

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Good hotel for a short stay, pool and bar area very good but other areas of the hotel are tired and need some attention. Christmas parties caused a lot of extra work for the staff. The corridors were not cleaned over night so had all the remnants of the Christmas party evident in the morning. Staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Well positioned and has pool.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Reception area and front of bar looked smart but although room was a generous size, the overall internal decor of the hotel was tired. Shower was a drizzle and would turn extremely hot. Had dinner in restaurant which was very disappointing- £14 for chicken and chips! Staff are very helpful and friendly - the most professional part of this hotel it seems.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok if you get a good rate

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: The price was ok
Cons: Decor, showers, heating
Location: Good location near the centre of Bournemouth
It's not terrible but not great either. Our room size was good. We had a superior double with an additional bed for our daughter. The room was incredibly hot. I realised one night that the heating was on at 3am and turned it off completely. Even with the heating turned off and the windows open the room was too warm. But worse than that was the shower. It was not fit for purpose. Anyone with long hair can forget about washing their hair. It was literally a dribble coming out of the shower head. I spoke to reception about it and maintenance did apparently replace the shower head but I think it was a simple matter of lack of pressure. Having a shower is quite impossible. Maybe it was just in our room? The pool was small and because one lane was generally being used for lessons it was simply too small unless you had it to yourself which was never the case. This hotel is fine if you get a reasonable rate and just use it for sleeping...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa break

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Have been going to this hotel for the past few years mainly a break to use the lovely spa facilities. Charges have now been added to use the hotel spa and also the car park. Previously an extremely reasonable hotel is more costly. The facilities are great so is understandable but website should make this clear if staying for this reason.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Posted Oct 21, 2017
initial to problems followed by a leaking hot water sink tap and flushing toilet then continued for ten minutes after flushing - reported three times but not addressed- room Key had to be re-booted seven times- reception Staff never greeted you with Good Morning/Evening Breaksfast worse I have ever experienced most days like warm and dry / the so called fruit started was mushy pineapple apple and melon - no specific dress code with one young couple on A Sunday walking into dinning room with t shirt shorts and flip flops and leg tattoos- good location spa and pool but I would never go back to this hotel shocking value for value as this was not particularly peak time in Bournemouth
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Esse

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Check in good. Hotel tired & rooms not particularly clean. Breakfast choice basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilton, Wiltshire

Nice hotel close to all aminities.

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Spa was lovely and the rooms were very spaceous even a standard 1.
Cons: Need updating on the outside. Maybe not having to pay to use the spa if you staying there.
Lovely hotel some of it could do with a touch up but once inside it was very pleasant and clean. Pleasant staff and lovely spa facilities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sutton coldfield Birmingham.

Wouldn't stay there again for free.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Travelled down from Birmingham for a friends 25th anniversary. The function room had a sound system supplied by one the staff (a CD player) because the hotels was broke, the bar within the function room didn't have card payment facilities cash only and ran out of beer, we didn't see a single glass collected until midnight. The staff in the main bar area attached to the dining area were down right rude and offensive, one member who was challenged by a customer said it's not my fault I'm knackered!! I've been on duty since eight o'clock this morning!! This was at 9-15 on the night! The other member of staff at the same bar who I was told the following morning was a manager as good as called me a liar in front of several customers when I asked her for a bottle of Budweiser she said they don't sell it when I begged to differ she said listen! I do the stock check and ordering of all drinks and we don't sell Budweiser!! Feeling rather embarrassed I collected my empty from the function room to show her and she said I don't know where you got that from we don't sell them!!!! I pointed to the other member of staff and said you do that's the lady who served me, she said I have enough to do and I'm refusing to serve you!. A couple who had booked for 4 days went straight to the reception and insisted on checking out the following morning morning 2 days early. Through out the evening at least 8 people said they had seen the behaviour of the staff and would write in to complain!.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Looks better online than in real life

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Fast Check in/Check out Good location
Cons: Room cleanliness Extra costs i.e. parking, breakfast
Location: Loads to do nearby and close to the beach
Room was a good size but had a stain on the floor, the in room menu's were filthy and the queen bed had stitched bedding down the middle which made it very uncomfortable. Parking at the hotel is £10 per day and breakfast is £10 per person or £15 if you pay on the day, which you'd expect to be included at the price we paid. Breakfast was ok but we did have to wait a while for some food items, i.e. sausages.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

overpriced and over rated

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing it was extremely expensive and so we expected a much higher standard which we didn't get.
Cons: 150 characters is not enough to complete this section.
Location: Location was ok and fortunately there was a nearby Harvester!
Extremely poor experience. First we had to pay up front before we had even seen the room and that was after the receptionist started to speak to us then turned and started to deal with another guest before completing our check in. The room was very cold, the décor was in dire need of attention with bodge jobs hidden by furniture. The bathroom door did not shut and there were no blinds on the window and the hot water tap took 5 minutes to run hot. The corridor smelt and the main car park was no where near the reception so you had to walk down several corridors/doorways before reaching it. The lift was also broken.