Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Rooms a bit dated but overall positive experience
5 out of 5
by Rene

Ideal location for us

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean as was the hotel. Weddings at the weekend can be a nuisance, when they take over the pool for photos.
3 out of 5
by Laraine

Good stay in Bournemouth

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel. Good location. Room with full sea view
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slough

Seriously out dated and in need of updating.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Room was a good size and bathroom was a good size. There was however no toiletries which you would expect for the price we paid. The bed was a small double and highly uncomfortable. It flared my sciatica up somewhat chronic. We did not sleep well due to the noise of the other hotel room doors... you'd expect some noise granted, it's not my first hotel stay but come on! those doors needed shaving and realigning. We were also above the bins so early rising due to the bins being emptied. Breakfast.... don't waste you time. Continental was cereal, yoghurt and croissant and cooked was buffet of bacon eggs sausages toms and beans. voila. that was it. Don't bother.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Walsall

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had seaview room and it was lovely. Hotel interior itself is bit outdated but its still comfortable. Swimming pool outside looked nice but didn't use it as weather was not good. They could do with having facilities like beauty/spa/hairdressing etc. Also hotel could do with a nice cafe where you can get snacks/meals at a fair price and not very expensive.When weather was bad in evening we used the bar and had sandwiches,not alot of variety,but could do with more choices..All hotel.staff are very welcoming and very polite and helpful. Beach is near walking distance about 20minutes,if you can walk that much,but you can take car and park near beach. Overall nice hotel and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

Nice friendly hotel with a pool,close to the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The staff were friendly and polite. Room was clean and very spacious. Location was good,just a short walk to the pier and loved the fact it had its own pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastleigh

White, sticky stain on bed runner

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nice breakfast.
Cons: Renovation to bring it up to standard. Cleanliness from the cleaning staff. Nicer toiletries. Let the price reflect the standard.
Location: Just a short walk to other hotel restaurants and bars and around a twenty minute walk to the parks, pier and town centre.
I found this an old, dated, hotel. Old creaky floorboards in rooms meant that every time someone in the room above you moved, you heard it. Not good when you're trying to sleep. Shame that the cover on one of the beds had a white, sticky stain on it. Not hard to miss, so neglect from cleaning staff. On returning I checked prices of a few other hotels in the area. Surprised that the very nice Cumberland hotel 2 doors away was cheaper. Wish I'd known before I booked. Wouldn't stay again or recommend to friends or family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from London

Shame that this Hotel is closing

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed and nice staff
Cons: Not relevant now.
Location: Not relevant now.
Shame that this hotel is closing and being turned into student accommodation in September 2017. All I can say is lucky students, there is obviously a good return in student accommodation but we will have to look for a new venue when we visit .
3 out of 5
by Harpal

In need of some work/redecoration

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
We booked 3 nights stay at the Ocean View. The double room we were initially given was very compact with very little room for movement. A room for single occupancy rather than 2 people. The room was also in desperate need of update and the mattress was very uncomfortable. We asked to be moved and were told they would only be able to move us the next day. The room offered to us the following day was much better with more light and space in the room. However the tap in the sink was not working properly. The water only trickled out when fully turned on. The breakfast was ok. Will very limited choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Clean and value for money

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Value for money and cleanliness
Cons: Larger bed
Location: Above seafront and near to other hotels offering restaurants etc.
Requested sea view and bath and got both. Room extremely clean and value for money. Double bed felt small, but probably because used to a larger bed! Would recommend for someone looking to keep costs down.