Ratings based on 1,343 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW England

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: position
Cons: updating
prime position near beach, nice room ,pleasant staff £20 parking seems dear until you compare with other car parks and the inconvenience .Past Victorian splendour gone slightly sad with age ,but short of spending many millions ,what can yo do ? overall a pleasant stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disgusting hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Hotel wasn't great at all the staff were rude .. we had I cold room heater works only 3 hours a day .. we agreed about some things and when we got there it was something else .. water leaking from the wall .. I had to pay for the dog 20 pound a night I been told that I need pay only 25 pound if you staying over 5 nights .. same with parking and swimming pool
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from exeter, devon

Over priced for an out of date, poor quality hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
When booking this spa hotel, the room description stated 1 double bed with the option of extra bed or crib available as room sleeps 2 adults & 1 child, the pokey, poor quality room with dirty fixtures and furnishings was barely big enough for 2. We paid £179 for bed & breakfast in mid September for a 3pm Saturday check in and a £30 extra charge just to park and leave at 12pm the next day. So for £209 we got a room so tiny my self and my husband clashed all night, it was in very poor condition with broken blinds and stains and filth throughout. Never being ones to complain we tried to make the best of it and headed to the spa only to find there was a further £10 charge for its use and towels and this fee would be every day. This was supposed to be a treat for our 25th wedding anniversary after we moved our son in to bournemouth university, but £219 later for less than 24 hours in dreadful conditions has left us feeling really cheated. The staff who spoke little English just ignore you and are only interested in big conference bookings. The whole place is very rickety and out dated with peeling paint around the pool spa. Avoid at all costs
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swanage Dorset

Cold and noisy unable to. Sleep.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
First room was on second floor and up a further three flight of stairs. As a. Elderly lady it was not reasonable to climb the stairs. Also felt very vulnerable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erbil

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The room was too small, very noise, we hardly slept. With the amount we paid we could stay somewhere much nicer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely position shame about the Lifts!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful gardens, if the weather is good a lovely outside space. Sitting lounge was cosy and ideal to kill time with a book.
Cons: Coffee in lounge would have been nice from 10 am onwards.
Location: Beach Walks - sea swimming -Theatre - Cafes - Shops - Walks along the cliffs - Beautiful Gardens - Art Gallery- Churches
Hotel was lovely position close to shops, cafes etc. Hotel room was comfortable but the bathroom was very small. Lift was out first day and the four floor was a bit of a trek with shopping. The lifts were very small and cramped and a bit claustrophobic. The noise levels after 11 pm made an early night an impossibility near my room. The room was on the fourth floor and had to be accessed by a particular lift which was for 4 people at most or three with cases and the lift did not work a couple of times so I would not recommend the fourth floor to older guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

Hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Hotel close to beach and right near town hotel not disabled friendly decore very poor car parking a rip off charging 20 pounds a night had to pay extra for spa the spa it self was very poor would not recommend this hotel to any one dining room was of poor standards as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Hotel was perfectly located for my stay

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Great staff. Lady in Reception was excellent. Other staff were good too. Room was exactly what I needed for one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Royal no more...

Posted Sep 1, 2017
The Royal Bath was one of two 5 star hotels in Bournemouth. Sad to see it lose that status. The hotel is very dated & needs modernizing . So disappointing as it's in such a prime location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful grand old hotel that deserves better

Posted Aug 30, 2017
My partner and I arrived for a one night stay and were greeted with a huge queue to check in. There were 2 members of staff checking guests in and dealing with guest problems and complaints. Eventually we got to our room which was clean but tiny and full of furniture that we kept bumping into. The room was stuffy and hot with little ventilation except for a desk fan. There was a mirror in the room which was nowhere near any plug points so you couldn't see to dry your hair. The bathroom was adequate except the shower didn't work properly. This is a beautiful old hotel with an amazing history so how has it been allowed to get into the hands of Britannia who are clearly allowing it to go to seed, it's shameful.