Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Tour of the south coast

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Great location, some rooms with good sea views. Hotel very clean but some rooms beginning to look a bit tired. Breakfast great, staff very polite, all round great value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel close to Bournemouth Pier

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, the way it is decorated.
Cons: Add a mini fridge in the rooms and think of installing AC.
Location: Bournemouth Pier and beach only 2 minutes away; shopping area and city centre - 5 minutes away.
I did not expect much, being a 3 star hotel, but I was really surprised. You don't have the feeling that you are staying in a hotel - you have the feeling that you are staying in someone's home. The staff is really friendly and helpful and the room is clean and comfortable. Because I know that the hotel is going through an upgrade process, I overlooked the minor maintenance issues that I encountered. They will not bother you at all, unless you are used with 4 and 5 star hotels only. The hotel location is great - 2 minutes from Bournemouth Pier, bus/taxi station and 5 minutes from city centre and shopping area. The interior is nicely decorated and has even paintings depicting a slice of Bournemouth's history and way of life back then. You can have free access to the gym or sauna and spend quality time either at the on-site restaurant (that looks great by the way) or outside bar. And because it's not all pros, I am going to give you the cons: you don't have AC (you get a fan) or mini fridge in the room. It would be a great addition for the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Very nice, really good experience Would recommend 100%
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staffordshire

great hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: clean and comfy rooms with plenty of space
Cons: could have more pillows in bed
Location: close to BIC and pier less than 100 yards from new cinema complex and many new resturants and 200 yards from the nearest pub
Hotel was very good clean comfy and friendly staff good breakfast and close to all the popular places around bournemouth town centre and close to the BIC and pier overall a very pleasant stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Terrible hotel and false advertisement

Posted Aug 23, 2017
When I booked it stated there was a pool, which there was. It. Was not told the restaurant was closed for refurbishment and was thrown out of the bar at 9pm as told children weren't allowed!!! Appalling
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

This hotel is close to the beach and town centre

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Close to beach and shops and food and drink places the staff are all helpful and friendly
Cons: I can not find anything that stands out
Location: You can walk to top of town and other places like westbourn and the bus service gos to all sorts of places
The staff are all very nice and the hotel is close to the shops and some food and drink places and the beach what more could you want Why not book to stay and try for yourslef
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

it's a loud music venue

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Ok room but dated bathroom and furniture. Very loud music plays till late at night but I still slept well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salisbury

Great hotel close to home he pier & beach

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Great hotel close to the pier & beach Cracking breakfast of excellent standard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent location!

Posted Aug 19, 2017
I must say we were rather disappointed with this hotel. The twin bedded superior room was dull and tired with very little "home comforts ". A large enough room for 2 people with a slight view of the sea front but just smacked of lacking attention to detail. The lighting was very poor within the bedroom (even during the day) and the bathroom, despite being large had no hooks or shelving to put anything! The bathroom was poorly ventilated so after taking a shower/bath the room was wringing in condensation making the only flat surface in the room (toilet seat) too damp to place clothes, etc. The bedroom was not air conditioned and although the sash window opened about 4inches, this was not enough to get a bit of fresh air into the very stuffy room. There was not a safe in the bedroom (which is my own fault for not checking prior to booking) and the room was only secured by a "Yale" type lock. Breakfast was disappointing too. Breakfast was served until 9.30am during the week and we were in the dining room by 9.05am on both mornings during our stay. On both occasions a table had to be cleared and laid up for us, there were no croissants left and the fruit and other pastries were well picked over. Therefore we opted for a cooked breakfast which in all honesty was not worth the full price we paid for it - just one of everything including one slice of toast each - we weren't offered a top up or a refill of coffee. However the food we did have was satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good location

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Location, Restaurant, Car Parking
Cons: A shelf in the bathroom for personal toiletries
Location: Opposite the BIC and close to everything
Very pleasantly surprised. Good hotel with an excellent restaurant. Good location a few minutes walk from everything. Car parking free of charge is an enormous bonus. Mon-Wed they have a set menu offer. We were there on a Wednesday so took advantage of this. The menu is offered at £15 which was not only value for money but was delicious. I would not hesitate to eat here and have the al a carte. They have happy hour between 5-7 when their cocktails are offered half price. We took advantage of this and again thought it was amazing value for money, expertly made with a smile. The bar and lounging areas have a nice comfortable feel.