Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chard somerset

Hotel close to BIC

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Everything was A1. Every member of the staff were really helpful, chatty, informative and appeared to enjoy their jobs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Lovely hotel, lovely staff

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Stayed with my mum while Christmas shopping. Very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to BIC

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Location Parking Food
Cons: Creaky floorboards
Location: Excellent position for BIC
My daughter & I booked this hotel as it was close to BIC Secure parking Friendly staff When we stay again I would ask for a high floor as the floor boards creak Breakfast delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Central hotel for beach & shopping

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very friendly Hotel. Staff always happy & helpful. Excellent comfort. Breakfast was amazing - yum. Our second visit to this Hotel. Would book again. Short walk to gardens & beautiful beach or shops & restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Position

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Location: Close to each theatre and shop- brilliant
This is a really friendly hotel. staff were all great. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Very handy for the theatre. Top class cocktail bar with very impressive barmen. Loved the live entertainment on Friday and Saturday. Breakfast was very good and I like the cooked to order aspect though this does involve waiting it was lovely and fresh so no complaint. Room was cleaned well and towels and bedding were excellent. Comfy bed. Good tea/ coffee facilities and provided fresh milk and ice willingly without any fuss which is not always the case in hotels. Will definitely return- was sad to see you were full at new year else it would have been then!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel. Excellent food

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I’ve stayed here a number of times. The staff are friendly, the rooms are super comfortable. Bathrooms are big enough. Unfortunately, there was no body cream in the bathroom, during my recent stay. I ate at the restaurant, the food was delicious, my suggestion to the waiting team, is to give the menu to customers as soon as they are seated, rather than having to look around or asking for one. Breakfast was delicious as usual, eggs were to die for. I’ll be visiting again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Good Position for our needs

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Shower was lovely and hot. Very good bar lunch and also restaurant lunch was very good.
Cons: Squeaky floor in our room! Requested room service breakfast didn’t turn up but complimentary coffee and toast was provided by front desk
Location: Was only there one night to attend a graduation ceromony which took place in the Bournemouth International Centre, immediately opposite the hotel.
Hotel was in an excellent position for us. Was there with family for a graduation ceremony spent a lot of time celebrating in the bar where staff were very friendly. We would most likely use this Hotel again if we return to Bournemouth. Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Shower was lovely and hot. Very good bar lunch and also restaurant lunch was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Lovely hotel close to beach and town

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Excellent position with customer focused staff
Cons: We were kept awake by an overflowing gutter and the bedroom ceiling could have done with a paint, otherwise all great.
Location: Near the beach, pier Bournemouth Centre etc, town centre shops within a couple of minutes
Helpful and friendly staff, lovely old characterful building. situated in the middle of the lovely seaside town. Plenty of free parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hayling Island

A good hotel very close to things in Bournemouth

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We were going to an event at the BIC in Bournemouth and I wanted an hotel close by - The Royal Exeter is right across the road. The hotel is also close to the lovely sandy beach, the pier and the shops and restaurants. The receptionists gave us a lovely welcome and explained about breakfast and even better, the 2-for-1 cocktails in the 1812 bar! Our room was very nice with dual aspect. I had asked for a sea view but was told that they didn't have any HOWEVER our room did have a sea view though not a 180 degree one. The bathroom looked as if it had been refurbished recently and was very clean with nice towels and toiletries. The room (202) was large and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good and set us up nicely for the day! The Royal Exeter has a history. It was originally built by Captain Lewis Tregonwell in 1812 as a home and, as such, the building is something of a historical landmark in the town. If you like a hotel with some history and not the modern type then try the Royal Exeter - we can certainly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hitchin, UK

Excellent hotel with the most AMAZING cocktails

Posted Oct 28, 2017
The Royal Exeter, always provides excellent service. Staff are very friendly, helpful and remember you if you've stayed at the hotel before😊