Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very clean and great location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice old building. Large room. Spotlessly clean. Good modern décor. TV and kettle. Lots of storage. Very comfortable clean beds. Shower cubicle small but clean. However broken shower riser meant you had to hold the shower head. Zero water pressure so couldn't wash hair (or soap off body to be honest). Tried washing hair with bidet attachment but cold toilet water just doesn't do it. Room above us were constantly exercising their small group of baby hippos so sleep was rare but that's not the hotel's fault. Hotel is in a really great position close to cliff top and excellent restaurants. Staff were really friendly and polite. Would I stay again? Nope. I like working showers and some form of sleep ... but does the hotel function? Yes. It's kinda nice and the beds / room size & layout / cleanliness were great.
4 out of 5
by stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheltenham uk

Cool

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Near to Bournemouth beach. Complimentary breakfast. Room was of decent size for 2 peep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Ebookers
My coach had been delayed by an hour so myself and my partner didn't get there until 10 30pm when the last check was 9pm. The lady at reception understood and took us to our room. The only problem I had was been woken up at 7 30am the next morning by the people that were staying in the room next door having an argument. I think the hotel could use some sound proofing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AVOID AVOID AVOID

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nobody availabe to check us in so had to wat 40 minutes. Room stank of an unidetifiable stale odour, was dirty, in poor and tatty condition, stained & unconfortable divan bed with no mattress topper, curtains hanging off, minuture en suite, stained carpet... I could go on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Quality Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: Bathroom needs to be updating
Location: Location is good but uphill so you need to be fit
Very basic hotel, room was clean, but the bathroom was of very poor standard, mould and fittings dirty. Towels were new (best thing in the bathroom). You could feel the springs through the mattress. Shame as this hotel is in a good spot but requires updating for customer comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Friendly Manager

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: being away from traffic noise
We booked through Expedia a double room at The Claremont where it indicates that it can fit 2 adults and one toddler. Unfortunately the room is a bit small for that. The manager, Mr Arif is a bit concern about the room size and offering a full refund if we decide to cancel the room. However, we decide just to get on with it as we did not care about the room size at all. The room was a bit small but somehow we like it. It was comfortable and we did suffer any trouble at all. We sleep soundly for 2 nights. The room is also did not suffer from traffic noise. The manager is very friendly and surprisingly can speak Malay language.
1 out of 5
by Andrew from Littlehampton

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible little room the Hotel manager seemed to think that we were getting a bargain for our money (£67 a night) the room was about 6 foot by 8 foot which is about the size of a prison cell, we spent one night there the bed was awful when I woke my back was stiff, I got up and found a different hotel and checked out. I have slept in bigger and better rooms for less money next time I will just book into a Travelodge
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very bad conditions

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Ebookers
The owner is rods the no star hotel only gast house.shower there very low pressure the bad is broken.please no more star recommended
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from swansea

Close to town and amenities. Quiet street

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Quietness and near to shop pub.
Cons: Hotel looks tired and could do with a make over
Location: Lovely pub called The Hop just across the road. Near to the town centre and took about 5 minutes to walk.
It was as it said in the booking 'budget' room. To be honest think it's over priced for the room. Didn't really see any staff apart from when we arrived.