Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, pleasant but shame about the shower

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: the staff and the location by the sea
Cons: shower needs fixing and whoeve ris in charge of arranging wake up calls needs to .....wakeup and get it right!
Location: Near to sea (across the road) you can walk to the theatre and also town and restaurants.
Stayed two nights in January at this hotel. Lovely view even out the window of a room on the side of the hotel. A little bit of noise the first night form the staff party. I was warned by the reception that it was going on. Heard nothing inside the hotel but when people were leaving the party as they exited the hotel there was about 45 minutes of raucous yelling back and forth. And just for the record....I looked out the hotel window and it was from the hotel entrance and exit that the sound was coming from as people left the hotel party.Maybe the management could oversee this a bit better next year and ask staff to be quiet on exiting the building after midnight. Nowadays most pubs ask their patrons to be quiet and respectful of their neighbours whe leaving the property, so dont think it is out of line for a hotel to ask the same of their own employees to exit the building quietly. I asked for a wake-up call which never materialised. Also the shower was a faint drizzle and needed fixing. I told the hotel all of this on leaving. On a positive note the staff were very pleasant, there was enough parking (I was there in off season) and the off season rate for a single room was only £30 per night which was a bargain. I also saw someone going in and out of the hotel with a small dog so I assume the hotel is dog friendly which is also a plus in my books.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Excellent location. Rooms very comfortable. Stayed in November so decorated beautifully for Christmas. Lovely atmosphere in the lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frome

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Enjoyed our short break we found the bathroom very cold
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Close to the beach and does good food

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Great hotel located right on the beach. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Comfortable

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Booked an overnight stay on our way further South.. Lovely clean Art Deco hotel, comfortable short stay, great location.. Only dealings with staff was the receptionist charging me for our room that I had already paid for.. All was sorted but it did beg the question; rip off or genuine mistake?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Friendly staff lovely room very clean great breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: sound proofing between rooms and floors and better double glazing
My room was opposite the entrance to another hotel which had people coming in and out all night long, it made for quite disturbed sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Perfect setting. sea view and bslcony great

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Comfortable and well run hotel, dinner was a good standard and staff all helpful and pleasant. No complaints. Car parking tricky as limited space but again staff were helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Seafront hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Art deco exterior design with modern interiors. Rooms reasonably comfortable but clean. Not much storage space beyond small wardrobe and a couple of small desk type drawers. Coffee making facilities in room but no fridge /bar. Staff very pleasant and helpful, despite trying to serve incorrect meal options on first night but quickly and without fuss the situation was corrected. Only negatives were from other guests who were noisy at night in their room or visiting friends leaving the hotel late at night. Car parking was limited but also available in corporate partner hotels next door; free on street parking to front of hotel from 8pm to 9am. Overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated and comfortable but excellent location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Rooms spacious enough but dated furniture and decor, no fridge / minibar. Tiny lift for 3 people only with very little space carry luggage. Indoor pool / gym ok but in sister hotel next door. Good breakfast spread. Restaurant food good quality but expensive. Parking free but can be difficult in peak times. Try and get sea facing room for excellent views. Location very good as on the beach and 10 min walk to town. Staff helpful and friendly. Overall experience spilt by bad weather as very little to do other than beach.