Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Lovely Chateau Living

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: the exterior and the grounds, as well as the owner/manager
Cons: the beds, staff assistance, and heating
Location: very close to the town which has a few good restaurants and a gate keycard to close and lock once you leave
The exterior and grandiose driveway as well as the surroundings are something to behold at this charming chateau just south of Paris. We loved our stay there, and had a room on the third floor with a lovely view of the front of the property. The hotel is run by a family that lives in the chateau full time, so there is a true B&B feel to the place, thus it is not really a hotel (no 24hr service of any kind, etc). The location is of course great, just outside of Paris and right at the edge of town so you can walk to go eat, which is what we did for dinner. The parking is free and has a huge lot off to the side, free of charge. Getting in the gate to the compound took some time for people to answer and open it however. The grounds are gorgeous and a treasure to walk around, especially in the early AM. We checked out so early that we woke up the manager and owner, but he was very nice. Sadly we only stayed one night, but it was definitely an experience...not for those who are over demanding. Again, it really is a B&B and you are left on your own for almost everything. There is a teeny tiny elevator that can barely fit one person and luggage so good luck transporting all your belongings. The bed was quite stiff and the room was rather cold, but we were in the attic and it had a rustic type feel that made it a true chateau experience. I would say it is much more appealing from the outside looking in than the opposite, but it was a very good price for what you get. Great for pics!
5 out of 5
by Mark

Great Castle to stay at.

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful castle. The owner was very helpful and informative.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

comfortable accommodation in a beautiful chateau.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful historic building. Quiet location but close to main roads an motorway
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Fontainebleau Palace, Chateau de Vaux le Vicomte, Forest of Fontainebleau for hiking, artists villages (eg Barbizon), Cathedrals at Sens and Auxerre.
Chateau de Bourron is a beautiful historic building set within large attractive grounds. Our rooms were well equipped and tastefully furnished. Our host was charming and made us very welcome. A good breakfast is available, and an excellent restaurant is attached. An excellent place to stay if exploring the Fontainebleau area.
5 out of 5
by maureen

chateau bliss

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for such compliment. We are longing to see you at chateau de Bourron Kind regards
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fishers Indiana USA

Great family owned castle

Posted May 15, 2017
This is a great family owned and run castle in the heart of the castle district. Train to Paris is walking distance as are fine restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Guy, Hotel Management
We are glad you did like the grounds and the estate of Chateau de Bourron. You are right the easy and quick access from Paris by train (55 minutes) is fantastic. Ware waiting for you to come back very quickly
5 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful chateau and grounds, welcoming hosts and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful chateau with charming location and staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017
This was the perfect ending for our France vacation! It was the most relaxing place, from the atmosphere outside to the comfortable rooms inside. They have a booklet of the history of the chateau in each room and you can read all the fascinating details to make your stay even more authentic. The Count and Countess are both such hospitable people and you can tell they take pride in making guests feel welcome. I'd love to go back someday!
5 out of 5
by Jody

Wonderful French Chateau

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
If you've ever wanted to stay in a French Chateau, this is the one to go to. This was my second stay here and I will go back again. It's a magical place and the family owners are so nice and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Story book, I love Chateau's

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
It all starts at the Gate..... Amazing Chateau, curved two sided Stone stairway, Beautiful Room, Breakfast Great, Staff Wonderful and very personable and of course the "owners" were Verrrrrrry gracious including children and of course the "Dog", Grounds Beautiful even the Moat full of fish 8) Our Taxi Driver had to stop and take picture as we approached the front view. town lovely food great and in walking distance (few blocks outside of gates.