Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Comfortable room. Inexpensive, good for an overnight stop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

No Frills OK

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: rugged parking lot
Location: Mammoth Cave National Park
This motel is fine for overnight or short stays. This is the most recent incarnation of an old Holiday Inn and the bones are basically good. It is clean and well-enough maintained. Just don't expect anything remotely fancy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, Minnesota

a place to stay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: The staff were helpful and responsive.
Cons: A little more work could be done on the rooms (see above).
Location: I liked the friendly town, quaint, alot of caves, rock/antique shops. Great barbecue at Bucky Bee's! Onyx Cave gift shop small, good selection/prices.
The three staff I had contact with were all friendly and helpful. (This was December during the off season.) The first room I was given, the door key did not go into the slot. The second room had a chirping smoke alarm which they quickly remedied. The room seemed sufficiently clean, but overall not in great shape. The staff were quite pleasant and responsive, and assisted me when I needed it, and told me how to get to places I needed to find. For me it was acceptable for the lower cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cave City, Kentucky

Clean and safe

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Looking for a safe, clean, no frills place to stay. The room was clean with comfortable bed and hot shower. Everything worked. Coffee available in Lobby after 6, no coffee pot in room. Several restaurants in walking distance or very short drive. Would not hesitate to recommend it to a friend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very inexpensive. Good for a quick stay.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive and close to outdoor activities. Quiet also.
Cons: Outdated and no microwave or fridge in room.
Location: Close to Cave Museum, Mammoth Park, lots of other fun activities.
Hotel is clean. Very quiet. No microwave or refrigerator in room but excellent restaurant right next door as well as Cracker Barrel across the street. Very inexpensive if just passing through or spending most of the time enjoying Mammoth Cave Park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nasty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia.

Hotel was very central and close to resturants.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: The proximity to Resturant and liquor outlet.
Cons: An overhaul would be necessary to improve the situation.
Location: Restaurant close by was very good and the location to the Caves was very good.
Motel was in need of refurbishing, other wise OK. The motel is run down.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Exterior of building needs refurbishing, looks old, just not a place I would pick, all though the room was clean, advertise breakfast , only had coffee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Room was clean but looked like however much you cleaned would never get it clean. Was afraid to walk on carpet bare foot. The ice machine by my room was so dirty I would not use the ice. I went across the street and bought ice. The other guests were loud in the mornings; honking their car horn before 7am. Also there was no coffee pot in the room.