Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Family Visit

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Clean, easy access to everything in area, pleasant staff, easy check in and checkout., no surprises on bill
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken spa

Posted May 2, 2017
We stayed five days and received no maid service at all. The spa/whirlpool hot tub was out of service the last 3 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry we weren't able to exceed your expectations during this visit. Because your comments regarding housekeeping concerned me, I did some checking on some recent 5 night stays for our Expedia guests and found only one, so I hope it was you. The housekeeping reports shows that you had your Do Not Disturb sign on the door every day which means housekeeping will not enter your room. All DND guests receive a letter under the door indicating that if they change their mind and would like service, to please contact the front desk before 3:30pm and we will happily send someone up to take care of the room. I apologize if there was any misunderstanding. I also apologize for the hot tub. The switch broke and we had to wait for the technician to receive the replacement he ordered and schedule a service call to repair it. I completely understand how frustrating it can be to look forward to using a certain amenity but not having it available. It has since been repair and is working perfectly again. I sincerely hope you choose to visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by Dave

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great rating! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smokey Smelling Room

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
When we walked into our room the smell of smoke was noticed immediately. The manager would not switch our room nor offer a discount. I booked a night n-smoking room due to my asthma. BEWARE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Kim, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As we specified in the other review you posted, we were truly very sorry for the inconvenience but our hands were tied as you did not book, nor pay for, your room through us. We had absolutely no way of providing you a discount. The room was not physically smoked in, however a smoker did stay in the room for many days prior to your visit and although the room was treated and deep cleaned, it seems that a slight smoky odour remained. Unfortunately, as we were completely sold out of all room types, and you were the last to arrive for the room type you had booked, we had no other room to give you or we would have happily changed your room and provided a complimentary upgrade, as well. Again, we are so very sorry for the inconvenience and completely understand your frustration. I sincerely wish there was more we could have done to make things right. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

big room

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
room was the largest holiday inn room I have stayed in anywhere in the world so far. very good breakfast options as well. staff at check in very nice. pool was a good ssize. location very close to hiway and food locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm so pleased you found the rooms spacious, the amenities convenient and had the opportunity to enjoy the delicious breakfast. We look forward to having you visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Was a fairly easy hotel to find. We stay just a night and we were very please how fast our check in was. Our room was perfect and very clean. Breakfast was better then I expected. Our children enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Pool could have been a bit warmer. And it could open a little earlier then 9am. Would plan on staying there again. Will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone I know.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by fdm@hiexbowmanville.comj, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and sincerely appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to having you visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville

Close to highway

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Good very comfortable room. Quiet. The only negative thing was kids running up and down the hall and playing in elevator. Parents or staff should of been aware of this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by fdm@hiexbowmanville.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay but I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some of the guests. As we have security patrolling the halls from 9pm until 1am every team weekend, the noise issues should have been minimal but, that said, as things can get by us, please ensure you contact the front desk if it ever happens again, and we will deal with it promptly. Its very important to us that all our guests have a great, relaxing stay! We look forward to having you visit with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by Jimmy

Over night stay

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Over night stay for New Years!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great rating! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. All the best in 2017! Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Great hotel, close to everything.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Keep up the good work
We were in town for a funeral. This experience made things easier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by fdm@hiexbowmanville.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm so glad to hear we were able to help make such a sad occasion for you and your loved ones, a little easier to bear. I'm so sorry for your loss. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager
5 out of 5
by jessica

great weekend away

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
the breakfast was amazing, room was clean and bed was comfortable. night attendant was rude though. and the breakfast guy was by himself and nobody helped him.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and I'm so glad to hear you had a great stay. I'm truly sorry that you found the night front desk agent rude as our staff has a great reputation for being accommodating and friendly. A bit more detail would be great, so I can investigate further! Aside from that, I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville. Warm regards, Kim Shields Front Office & Sales Manager