Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow scotland

Very basic hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: price and location for passing though
Handy for a road trip stop, some local chain restaurants in small town
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by UV, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for all of your kind words about our newly Updated hotel, The Econo Lodge. We take pride in providing our guests with great service. I hope you had the time to visit our pool and hot tub, as well as our full Hot breakfast in the morning. I will be sure to share the great comments you made to my staff as we continue to strive for excellence and 100% satisfaction for our guests. We all look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Livingston/Yellowstone. Thank you UV NARAYAN General Manager Econo Lodge Livingston
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

GPS could not find motel.

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing. Will never stay there again. Will likely not stay at any Econo-lodge, anywhere for fear of same result.
Cons: Qualified management and staff. A true cleaning.
Location: Yellowstone Park.....approximately 60 miles away.
Motel is pet friendly. Staff has become "nose blind" to pet odors. I experienced allergic reaction within 15 minutes of arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by uv, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know how your stay was at our hotel. We appreciate your business and comments. We are very sorry that your GPS didn't work right .We are proud to be pet friendly hotel it always help most of the veterans,senior citizens,people with disabilities & we only have 5 specific rooms which are strictly pet friendly and just to let you know, As Per New ADA law whether Hotel is pet friendly or not they can not refuse any guests with service animals .once you informed us you were not happy with room then We moved you to a other room upstairs which was strictly Non pet friendly room. and if you would've informed us that your not happy with that room also then we would've gave you refund and let you cancel your reservation ,We take a pride in providing 100%guest satisfaction . we do have open cancellation policy if you are not happy with the room we will cancel the reservation right away. we do not run our hotel that way and we do not want you to have that bad impression of us. Once again we are very sorry and we hope you will give us another chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Near Yellowstone very nice hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Excellent breakfast it was served hot and lots of choices ,room was clean and affordable compare to hotels in area I was trying to book a room in Yellowstone area but prices were so high in gardiner and old faithful so decided to book a room here . This hotel met 3 criteria 1) clean 2)comfortable 3) freindly and welcoming staff Outside need some work but I know it's snowing ❄️ and ☔️ in this area so I don't care as long as inside is clean , lobby was spotless and my room was clean smelled fresh .⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by UV Narayan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey, we value your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed out stay with us. We take pride in providing 100% satisfaction to all of out guests, I will be sure to mention your comments to my staff as we continue to strive for excellence. I hope you had the time to take advantage of our full breakfast we offer every morning. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Yellowstone/Livingston at our newly Updated Econo Lodge Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MT

Comfortable bed

Posted May 22, 2017
Clean, comfortable, great staff. Checked in late, left early, got a discount that staff offered to match which he as nice if booking last minute. Ice machine worked too.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by UV Narayan, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for all of your kind words about our newly updated hotel, The Econo Lodge. We take pride in providing our guests with great service. I hope you had the time to visit our pool and hot tub, as well as our Hot breakfast in the morning. I will be sure to share the great comments you made to my staff as we continue to strive for excellence and 100% satisfaction for our guests. We all look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Livingston. Thank you
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted May 20, 2017
I got pinkeye from the hotel. The bathrooom was dirty. And no idea of the towels where fresh
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by uv, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey we welcome all feedback and utilize it for training in our strive for excellence. Our hotel is Newly updated almost everything is brand new including all linen ,we do wash all linens on daily basis . I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations and am glad to see we will get another chance to wow you on your next visit to livingston. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff was great. Motel very clean and the stay was very enjoyable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by UV Narayan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey, we value your feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed out stay with us. We take pride in providing 100% satisfaction to all of out guests, I will be sure to mention your comments to my staff as we continue to strive for excellence. I hope you had the time to take advantage of our full breakfast we offer every morning. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Yellowstone/Livingston at our newly Updated Econo Lodge Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Enjoyable visit

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Breakfast & staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: One hour from Yellowstone
We stayed 4 nights. Clean & comfortable room. Any problems were quickly taken care of by the staff. Wonderful breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by UV Narayan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words,we appreciate all feedback we get for training to help with future guests stays!we are happy your stay with us was good and we look forward to seeing you again when you are in Livingston area! It's our privilege to have kind guest like you! Sincerely, UV NARAYAN General Manager Econolodge Livingston 4062220555
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest econolodge i've ever stayed for the price!

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: staff was amazing
Cons: nothing
Location: good location,yellowstone national park
staff was very helpful and polite,room was sooo comfortable for a very reasonable price ,pool hottub and fitness room were amazing and breakfast was amazing,Uri and monica was very freindly,super clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by UV, Hotel Management
Wow, we are so appreciative of all of your great feedback! Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad you found your accommodations to be a great value to include all of the amenities as well as all detailed review. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Candler, NC

Nice Hotel Near Yellowstone

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel was clean and in good repair. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast bar had a good variety of breakfast foods. Room was spacious.
Cons: No recommendations for improvement.
On a 3-week vacation my husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was in a good location, with easy access to the road leading to Yellowstone National Park. The hotel was clean and in good repair. The staff members that we had contact with were friendly. The breakfast bar was good with a good variety of breakfast food. Would certainly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by UV, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to participate in our online survey.i am sorry we failed to exceed your expectations and thank you for your feedback it will be used to improve future guests stay with us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Room

Posted May 9, 2017
The hotel room that we stayed in had not been cleaned thoroughly. There was a brown stain on the comforter (looked like coffee) and the coffee maker still had coffee grinds in it from the previous guest. The coffee pot had not been washed. There were no soap bars in our hotel room when we arrived, not even to wash our hands. We had to call to get some. The armrest for the office chair that was in the room was held together by ducttape. The only good thing that I could say about the stay is that it was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by UV, Hotel Management
First we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was.we appriciate our guests comments.Second we would like to apologize for the inconvenience of dirty coffee pot and not having soap in the room you were in.We are Newly renovated hotel,guest satisfaction is our priority.when we did courtesy check with your boyfreind he said room was perfectly fine he was happy with room except soap,i wish if he would let us know this issues that time, so we were able to solved this issue on the spot only .we hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are very nice hotel to stay .