Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to family

Posted May 24, 2017
4 nites , close to what I needed . Always stay here
2 out of 5
by steven

Cheap and dirty

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lot of trouble trying to get the air conditioner to work properly, terrible water pressure remote control did not work for the TV just overall that was a shabby room
4 out of 5
by Charles M

You need nopt look any further

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
There are so many positives about this establishment. The employees were absolutely tremendous. The area was very nice. It was close enough to everything, but not so very close that there was a lot of noise and people everywhere. Mind you, now, this was on spring break, also. I am not able to find enough good words about this establishment. I would definitely recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Krista M. from Cocoa

Great Room, Great Location

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
We only stayed overnight, but it was a great room, and they accommodated my request of non smoking 1st floor room. The breakfast was just enough for what we needed. Parking was right outside the room. It was quite and comfortable considering it was right on the main road. It is a convenient location to everything in the area even the road out to the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Annoyed by missing drawer and piping noises

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Check in clerk was very cordial and sociable. Room was relatively clean.
Cons: Install missing drawer and repair water pipes hammering middle of night when someone takes a shower in adjoining rooms.
Location: Never really checked as I just stopped on way from NJ to get a good night sleep and proceed with trip.
Annoyed because my favorite easy-to-reach top drawer at tv cabinet was missing, Also annoyed by water hammering noises from pipes, kept waking me up. Tried to explain these problems at check out to the Pakistani clerk but he gave me a look as if not understanding what I said. I brought a cleaning woman to room to explain missing drawer and pipe noises but, I don't think she understood me either, I gave up, left her a tip, brought the key to office and, will be surprised if I come back. They need to spend a little more money on upkeep of facility.
2 out of 5
by Kelly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nj

Surprised

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Orbitz
I was pleasantly surprised with the room and will definitely return
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nik Shah, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, We are humbled by your review and delighted that you had an amazing time with us. We hope we will see you again on your next visit. Best wishes from Nik and all of us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience on Expedia. We are delighted that you had an incredible stay with us and enjoyed everything we had on offer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Comfortable beds,but the room was a dump

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The room was gross! Staff was rude. The hotel was kinda hidden behind some other businesses, but the back alley was full of homeless people! Did not feel safe at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Nik Shah, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, We are sorry that you had a bad experience on your stay at some other hotel. We really think you have left the review for the wrong hotel. We are right on the US 41 highway off the road and certainly not behind any businesses, neither do we have any back alley where homeless people can stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yuck!

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
There were stains on the sheets and the tub and shower were filthy. I called the front desk because I knew my girlfriend couldn't sleep and the "owner" told us there was nothing he could do for us. We arrived at 12 am and ended up leaving at 5 am. $160 down the drain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017
We are very sorry that you felt your $160.00 went down the drain. You had stayed in one of our suite with a Jacuzzi Tub and we make sure that its spot free. I clearly recall this incident because I was at the front desk at the time of your check in. You were under the influence of alcohol at the time of check in and your girlfriend/wife was trying to control you. After you complained at the front desk, I had called you right away to see if I can send someone to the room to verify your concerns but you denied our request. Next morning after you had checked out we did not find any of your concerns in the room. We would appreciate if you can mention the entire truth rather than trashing our hotel. If you ever decide to visit us again, please ask us to see the room before you check-in so there no issues later on.