Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Amazing!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: The Inn sits atop the hill in the town. Right across the street is a beautiful church. Quick walk to the town and shopping.
This is a must stay for your trip to Bradford-on-Avon. The staff are simply the best. We stayed in about seven different hotels as we traveled around Southern England. The Castle Inn was our absolute favorite and became the baseline for which we rated al of our other accommodations. Sam and company bent over backwards to make our stay perfect. The pub and room were comfortable and inviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Stayed here 1 night whilst attending a function in Bradford-on-Avon town centre, from which The Castle is within walking distance. Very comfortable stay, very helpful staff, and a wonderful breakfast the next morning! Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saddleworth

Lovely refurbished Inn with a great feel

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Food, drink (Flatcappers ale), the room, and importantly the staff attitude.
Cons: Perhaps an offer of fresh orange with the breakfast (as well as coffee or tea).
Location: Bath in all its splendour. An easy train journey.
Lovely Pub. On arrival the entrance on the road is unprepossessing. The dark carpet is also a bit off putting. However those two issues aside, then the Food, accommodation, drink and importantly the great attitude of the staff, make this a very good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bo from Surrey

Great little hotel with good attention to detail

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Nice room, big bed, decent ensuite, attentive and polite staff (a common theme it seems in Bath generally). Quiet room despite being over the main bar. Pleasant stay. Evening menu could have a couple more options ( no stew, steak and kidney type of winter food) but decent enough none the less. Breakfast very good and included despite this not being stated anywhere. Close to Bath, town is worth a stroll around. Music at the Three Shoes every Friday and Saturday if you feel the need to get out. Would go again definitely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by d

The Castle Bradford on Avon

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: It's my kind of pub, has loads of character and really good beer.
Location: We did a walk along the tow path to Avoncliffe, which was easy as it's flat. The barns and the Tye. Barn are worth a look around.
Firstly don't be put off by the exteria, this is a very friendly and comfortable Inn. If you like real ale, you will enjoy this Inn as it has a number of local ales available. We stayed two nights and ate in the Bar the first night, the food was excellent. The breakfasts are also excellent. If I had a negative comment it would be that it's steep hill back after a night out in the town, but you can't blame the Inn for that. Overall very happy and will use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Popular pub with nice staff

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Good food and lively
Cons: Wi-fi not working from the room, an ongoing problem. Should have been fixed not "working on it".
Stayed 2 nights and ate in both evenings. Convenient for Bath, easily accessible with good train service. One drawback is that it is at the top of a steep hill so wandering into Bradford on Avon in the evening would be a chore. Parking very limited but the management assisted by freeing up space.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Divide, Colorado

Nice B&B in an English Pub

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: The pub atmosphere was delightful. The food was of high quality. We stayed during the Fringe Festival and were delighted by the entertainment.
Cons: We chose this B&B to experience English pub life and the experience was great. So, I don't feel in a position to suggest improvements.
Location: The Inn is located in Bradford on Avon. The trip into Bath is easy via rail. Local sites include 16th century pubs, tea houses and ancient churches.
Stayed at the Castle Inn for three nights. Made the easy trip into Bath via rail one of the days and visited local sites the remaining time. Enjoyed the pub atmosphere and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kate from Christchurch, New Zealand

A great hotel in a very quaint village

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Everything! The bed was so comfortable, the decor throughout the hotel was really attractive and the staff were extremely easy to deal with.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We only had one night there - would have stayed longer except it was a Bank Holiday and they were full. Bradford-on-Avon looked soooo quaint!!!
Immediately on our arrival we felt thrilled with choosing to stay here, the staff were fantastic, the atmosphere was superb and the bed was as comfortable as any I've slept in! Would thoroughly recommend it to anyone!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cardiff

Friendly and comfortable

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The helpful and cheerful young staff and the sensible timings of breakfast and for booking in and leaving.
Cons: Stronger lighting in the dining rooms and staircase
Location: Good views from garden and for visiting Bath and Wells
Overnight stay with good selection of bar meals and excellent breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Kent

Stay in bradford-on Avon

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Easy going friendly place near to many places to visit including the Kennet and Avon Canal where you can do a short tour for an hour or so for £3.
It was a beautiful old inn situated on a busy junction but there was no noise problem and very easy to visit Bath without driving. A bus stopped about 100 yards away and run every half hour to the city centre (every hour on Sunday).Also there was a train from B-O-A town centre 10 mins.walk away. If you stay with children there is a large garden with a lot of toys provided.There is food in the bar or service is provided in the restaurant area seperate from the bar.Do not be put off by the small parking area as they keep space available for guests. The breakfast was great.