Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dartmoor

Cosy room with lovely view.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Friendly staff, clean cosy room, great shower. Toilet dripped loudly all night, but this was the only negative. View from room great. Lovely breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Edward

Very nice inn in a pub

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
It’s a pub with four rooms to let, and the barman is the receptionist. He was very friendly and made a reservation for me for dinner. I had a good sized desk, and a real arm chair for the desk, and a stuffed arm chair for lounging in. It also has a big shower. Some parking in front, and very good food and beer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Lovely inn above a pub, great staff

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Room size, great breakfast, staff
Location: Only drawback is that it is located at the top of a windy hill, with little sidewalks. We needed a taxi to get up the hill w/our luggage
We loved this inn, which had great rooms and staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding (:

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
We will definitely be going back
5 out of 5
by Paul

Great pub b&b

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Nice pub with very comfortable rooms an friendly efficient service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location beautiful town

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We had an excellent stay great food great location awesome staff
4 out of 5
by Wendy

Lovely hotel- but sofa bed for third adult? - NO!!

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The overall impression of the hotel was positive and every aspect would have scored top marks. However the negative was the third bed. We booked a room for three adults and the third bed was merely a sofa bed with a thin mattress, extremely uncomfortable for an adult to sleep on - hence a very poor night sleep and backache! Even a memory foam mattress topper would have increased the comfort. That aside the room was lovely and the breakfast delicious. Perfect for two adults.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
A proper, cosy English pub with open fires. Cosy bedrooms. Well equipped bathroom. Good, home cooked food. Good selection of beers and wine. Very friendly, helpful staff. The car parking is a bit of a fiasco with so many of the limited spaces apparently taken by staff cars. Yes, they will move them but it's a bit like Butterflies (for those who remember the sit com).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

A deceptive hotel with a glossy advert

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Disheartened by the road view of this hotel which is not the glossy advertised pic.Dark and dirty room with loose floor tiles in bathroom, dirty beakers and lime scale build up on shower head. unacceptable levels of dust on surfaces in the room which was poorly lit. Opted for a 'continental breakfast's which consisted of a bowl muselie ( all that was on offer other than toast) due to breakfast not starting untill 08:30!.. not for the business traveller at all. Poor noise insulation so road noise and local church bells made for a very noisy room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel had convenient parking and available food. The only issue was the wifi as this didn't work in my room as advertised, however the owners were happy for me to work in the bar area. I had a great sleep due to how quiet the location is.