Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night at Widbrook Grange

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The comfortable beds and the peaceful surroundings.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Near the b & b are a few restaurants that are close enough to walk to. The town is also picturesque. Bath is a short drive away.
We stayed at Widbrook Grange as we were planning on spending the day in Bath. Upon our arrival, we were guided to our room and given a brief tour of the b & b. There was a pool and gym, which we unfortunately did not have time to try. Parking was free and we found delicious freshly baked cookies.in our room. I requested a room for a family of four and we got exactly that. The beds were very comfortable. The room came with a tablet which described the area and information on restaurants/things to do, which was very helpful. We had supper at the Dockside restaurant, which was a brief 5 minute walk away, also owned by the b and b. For breakfast, we had a choice of a variety of hot meals, and everything that was prepared for us was delicious and the portions were generous. It would have been nice to stay a few more days as the setting is in the countryside and very relaxing. Bath was a short 10 min drive away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

couldnt fault it!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
We stayed as a family of 4 (daughters ages 15 and 11) our family room was spacious, clean, well equipped and more than exceeded our expectations. The pool was a welcome treat for our girls. A really warm welcome and a lovely breakfast, the staff at breakfast were exceptional. Welcoming, friendly, attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. We will be coming back on our next visit to Bath and can highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine but not worth the price

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Fine: only stayed one night in a good size modern family room, comfortable beds, nice enough breakfast, nice pool ... BUT having stayed in other hotels I would say that at this price it lacks the attention to details: stained room carpet, 3 single beds made (including the sofa) when they knew only 2 were needed, choice of PJ Tips tea or Nescafé coffee only- no herbal tea or instant hot chocolate, no herbal tea at breakfast either, had to ask several times for things at breakfast, wifi not properly working, children are tolerated- I would not go as far as saying it is child 'friendly'! We have stayed in much friendlier and nicer places for the same price so we won't go back nor recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Widbrook Grange

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Swimming pool, computer tablet in the room, DVD library, friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Shower in the room. Only cold water one morning, barely tepid the next. Hot water tank shared with neighbouring room and it couldn't cope.
Location: Bradford on Avon well worth a wander, Bath only a short drive away. Lacock village and Abbey interesting too.
Good, comfortable hotel with excellent facilities, great for families. Stayed in the newly refurbished stable block and the room was spacious, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Average hotel, friendly staff, but cleanliness of room alot to be desired looked like it hadnt been dusted in months ,cobwebs in the corners of room ,heavy dust all along skirting boards.Kettle in room fithly .Bathroom needed a good cleaning with bleach black mound around taps,shower screen bogging .Swimming pool looked clean but changing room again needed a good cleaning with bleach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly amazing

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Staff was extremely nice. Very clean and modern. Very quite and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from horsham

Lovely hotel in picturesque setting

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff comfortable room at a reasonable price and breakfast was delicious
Cons: Little more fruit available at breakfast shower in bathroom wasn't that good
Location: Quiet close to canal and pretty town
A very enjoyable stay for a couple of nights. Very quiet and pretty location which was exactly what my wife and I wanted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk UK

Very friendly

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Warm, welcoming, comfortable and friendly
Cons: Swimming pool could do with a little updating
Lovely room with a big comfortable bed and good bedlinen. We had no hot water and after the manager tried unsuccessfully to repair it, a plumber was called cornthe next day. We were given access to another room to use the shower, so that was not really a problem. The breakfast was good and plentiful. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and it was excellent. We also ate in the Boathouse restaurant (owned by the hotel) and that too was excellent. I would stay again, especially with a good deal price like we got this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greater London

A secret close to Bath

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Relaxed and welcoming but with an underpinning of real quality in food and in fixtures and fittings
Cons: Not much at this price point to be fair.
Location: About eight miles from Bath, so no shortage of things to do.
Georgian house with rooms in well built conversion a few steps away. Great food, lovely staff, a swimming pool, beautifully quiet, a place to kick back, reflect, relax. Bath is close at hand, Stonehenge under an hour away. We brought 3 kids, took two rooms and had a great weekend. The Sunday breakfast was a marvel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Croydon

Comfortable

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Staff, beds, linen,
Cons: Heating in bathroom
Location: Bradford-on-Avon has good tearooms, bars and restaurants and it's only 12 minute train ride into Bath. Boathouse, near hotel, was excellent
Beautiful building and surrounding gardens with extremely friendly and efficient staff. Fortunately we had dry weather as rooms are a short outside walk from main building for breakfast etc. Wonderfully comfortable beds and linen in a room that was easy to warm. The bathroom was a little disappointing with poor wall heater and limited water through shower head. Lovely towels and as I like to do a little for the planet, we didn't get them changed each day but unfortunately, they had not dried out for the next morning as only a wooden airer. My bacon, tomatoes and mushrooms was tepid the first morning - not cooked to order - the plate was hotter than the food but my friend's food was hot - so hopefully just a one-off. It was changed without any fuss and with many apologies. Plenty of comfortable chairs in lounges to enjoy a late evening tipple from the well stocked bar. We didn't try the restaurant but it would be lovely setting for a wedding. My friend is keen to return there with her partner and it certainly was good value for money.