Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great staff

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: New building and plenty of parking spaces
Cons: N/A
Location: Quiet area for a hotel.
Check in was prompt and just had to give your name, the staff was very helpful and willing to please.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Convenient location, but noisy

Posted May 15, 2017
Typical Holiday Inn Express and good general standards. However it's close to a busy road which makes it noisy with the window open, necessary as no AC in the rooms. Would stay again though.
5 out of 5
by Mick

overnight stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
excellent Staff and hotel
5 out of 5
by Charles

Home from Home

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
if there is any other word for excellence, the staff has a cocktail of personal and professional attitude to service provision,,,,,for me it is a 10 out of 10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Cons: Everything was lovely, except for a really hard mattress, smelly drains in the bathroom & no bacon for breakfast.
Lovely hotel & convenient location for Horse racing & zoo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff good breakfast

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Only disappointment with our stay was on the 2nd night and we were woken early by a dog barking and then howling when it was left in the room, I wasn't even aware this was a pet friendly hotel or I would have thought twice about staying.
4 out of 5
by Annette

Cheap and basic but clean and comfy

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Cheap stay following a trip to Chelmsford for us. Room basic but clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff. Carvery just across the road for a good value evening meal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Such fantastic people work here

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Fantastic staff, spacious room, facilities, breakfast
Cons: You can't move the hotel off the motorway but that's the only downside
Location: Braintree is pretty meh. If you're driving, Saffron Walden, Chelmsford and Maldon are only a few minutes drive away. Oh and there's the freeport!
I thought the hotel would be a tad shabby being off the motorway but it turned out better than expected. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was delicious. There was everything you could ever need in your room. The staff really went out of their way to make you feel welcome. I miss staying there already. It felt like a home away from home. The only possible downside I can think of, is probably being close to the motorway. The double glazed windows do a good job but if you need some fresh air, it can get a tad noisy. Overall a happy trip. God! I miss that breakfast!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overnight business stopover

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
quiet, friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, convenient for work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
WiFi wasn't as fast as I would have liked