Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stratford

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Friendly staff, well appointed rooms. Room was warm and very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel friendly staff

Posted Dec 25, 2017
My husband works a lot in Essex and I go with him sometimes, I stay at the white hart Hotel , I find it comfortable and the staff are mainly friendly It’s so convenient for us Iv stayed around 4 Times and would happily continue to go bk
5 out of 5
by Dawn

One night stay

Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel only stayed for 1 night had evening meal good value and very nice lovely breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Not what I expected.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Better customer service.
Firstly, one of the cups in the room had a brown stain inside as if it hadn't been washed. I took it to reception and they apologised and changed it. At breakfast the following morning i found the inside of the milk jug also had similar brown staining and also when we ordered breakfast it seems that they forgot, although they said this was not the case but 6 people who arrived after us had their breakfast before us. I also had to ask two different people for more tea. Very disappointing and would not stay here again or recommend to anyone else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio, USA

Very nice stay at White Hart Braintree, England

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect to leave your car parked at the hotel and walk around the area with many shops and restaurants.
Location: A great location to see the shops, restaurants, older churches and buildings.
This was an older, but very interesting hotel, to stay at in the heart of Braintree. The room had a good view of the courtyard with hanging flowers and outside table for customers. The staff was very nice and helpful and the room clean and comfortable. There are several steps to get to your room and you need to take your luggage up them. A very good breakfast was included with your stay and you could have lunch, or dinner at the hotel also.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable overnight stay with first class breakfast options..!!!
3 out of 5
by Pauline

Disapointed

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
entrance untidy and not very clean, reception dusty and untidy could see into a untidy office with some ones bag in full view, paper on floor staff walked over didn't pick up...desk dusty and needs a good paint. manageress very stressed as was coping with unhappy customers and part of restaurant ceiling fallen in. no lift and no offer to take our bags up. Our room clean bed comfortable condition not to bad but needed a few repairs i.e. towels rails off wall not fixed, some very good staff and some indifferent staff no name badges so can't give names, restaurant stopped serving meals early afternoon as they had a large group for a funeral the whole place needs refurbishing, so had to go out to eat. found a lovely lounge at from of the hotel when waiting for family to go home. some of the stair ways dangerous, coming out one of the doors your straight onto low hand rail any one could go straight over the top onto stairs below. you. wouldn't go back until it was fully refurnished and had more staff and more training of staff
1 out of 5
by Mike

Overall poor

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are very dated and the food is awful will not stay there again
3 out of 5
by Terry

Cheap hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Restaurant and bar area of hotel are excellent and the staff are really friendly, But the rooms are tired and smell musty overall the decor was a bit shabby,nice shower though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good at all.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
No air con despite advert saying there is. Place hasn't been decorated for years, walls filthy, plaster hanging off in bathrooms. Paid £100 for a room that I wouldn't have paid £20 for. Wasn't impressed at all and annoyed I didn't just book in the travel inn for half the price. Oh and the car park is pointless, spaces are not big enough for cars, and there are not enough spaces to service the demand. Needless to say will never be going back.