Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Beautiful location perfect for walking & touring

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The beautiful and convenient location plus the friendliness and helpfulness of the manager were the things that stood out for us
Cons: Very little to be honest - it's about as good as you would hope a B&B would be
Location: The location is ideal for walking or cycling Hadrian's Wall but we used it as an overnight stopping point for visiting Carlisle which is recommended
Very friendly and welcoming - ideal for our overnight stop. Can't fault it as a B&B and would stay there again
5 out of 5
by Marcel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very very relaxing hotel to stay

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Denise the owner was extremely friendly and always willing to help Room is very clean and tidy Breakfast is totally amazing, I'd say it's the best breakfast ever had in the U.K. It will just take 10 min to reach a good bar for dinner and also not far away from the Wall 5 out of 5 hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from blackpool

Best of Hadrians Wall

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Picturesesque views situated in a pretty area and completely undisturbed in the night ensuring a great nights sleep.
Cons: Nothing
Location: If you are interested in the Romans in Britain the area is certainly rich in Roman history. The Roman army museum and Vindolanda were excellent.
The accommodation was excellent, the beds were comfy and en suite facilities were supreme. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of varied choice and plenty to keep you going on your trek along the wall. The evening meals were superb again with a good choice, all cooked freshly and presented by Denise in a most professional way. It was so good we decided to prolong our stay by another night.
4 out of 5
by Wellydogg from Essex

Very smart B and B

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location, very smart room, good facilitates, excellent food. Rather a lot of 'rules' however.... as we hadn't prebooked supper we wouldn't;t request it - even at 5pm. I did feel sorry for the lady who arrived late as her bike ride took longer than expected - she incurred the wrath of the landlady. But - otherwise - very good indeed
5 out of 5
by Denk from Leics

Very welcoming, excellent in all respects

Posted Aug 2, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent. Evening meals available, which were full of choice and very tasty. Denise was very friendly and welcoming. Eager to give information on the area.
5 out of 5
by Gerry Halpin from Lancashire

Brilliant B&B

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
A warm welcome set the tone of a short but happy stay at Brookside Villa. The room was as hoped for with all that was needed, clean and very comfortable. Dinner, ordered prior to arrival from their changing menu was excellent as was breakfast ordered the night before to save on waiting time. Denise was most helpful and knowledgeable in recommending a plan of walking for the day which ensured that even after we left, our week-end was a success. Well done and thank you to our hosts for a splendid break. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at Brookside Villa especially for walkers in such a beautiful part of the country.
5 out of 5
by F&J from Somerset

One of the best

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
Good food, nice room, excellent hospitality - we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. Gilsland is ideally situated to explore Hadrian's Wall and we would recommend Brookside Villa as the B&B to stay in.
5 out of 5
by Pedal Power from Northumberland

Stopped here whilst doing Hadrians Cycleway

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels
Great location right on Hadrians Wall Route, very nice B&B
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK

Great breakfasts and dinners! Highly recommended.

Posted Aug 20, 2013
We were made very welcome by Denise, the owner, and she efficiently helped us find our way around locally and pick out a couple of good things to do during our short stay. Breakfasts were excellent, and on our second night we enjoyed a lovely home-cooked dinner, which we highly recommend you try.