Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Superb country Inn

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Location: The hotel is situated near Carlisle, so in any direction you will find something of interest, i.e. Hadrian's Wall.
It was such a pleasant surprise to find this wonderful hotel in a small village in the north of England. The String of Horses had everything; an excellent restaurant, modernised bedrooms with ensuite, a well stocked bar with atmosphere. Huge choice at breakfast and great staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Inn

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely and friendly Staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great find!

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
A brief overnight good service Andre welcome. Excellent food evening & breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Coaching Inn.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Situated in very pleasant area within easy reach of Hadrian's Wall. Good restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Great stopover for travelling

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We travellef from Kent to Aberdeenshire bank holiday Friday, horrendous traffic, arrived far too late for dinner, staff couldn't have been more helpful, rustled up food and sustenance for 2 very weary people!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Water pressure and temperature not great
5 out of 5
by Yarrow from California

Wonderful Place & Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful and quiet - lovely room! This was a wonderful place to stay - quiet and beautiful. The hosts were super accommodating - taking us in with a last-minute reservation at midnight. It just so happened the the Music on the Marr Music Festival was happening just down the road from here, so we got to enjoy some brilliant music. One of the staff at String of Horses did us a huge favor that made it possible for us to attend the music festival. These are the best kind of people there ever were.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Blackpool

Idillick

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
We were going to a concert at the local football club , it was the ideal location, quiet , quaint , and certainly well worth going back , owner and staff were very helpful and accommodating .
5 out of 5
by Margaret from Durham

String of Horses & string of compliments

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
We were allowed to book in about lunch time as originally we were told 4pm which would have been a bit of a struggle as we were there for the Rod Stewart concert. We booked a hotel in Durham for our honeymoon 3 years ago,and this was a much better place altogether.Breakfast was lovely and the service was brilliant.