Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Heathrow

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Old hotel in need of refurbishment, but very clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Basic but ok

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel is a little tired and in need up upgrading. However- room was very spacious with a large bathroom adjoining ( bath with shower fixer on taps). Water was hot and had reasonable pressure on bath, not so much on shower fitment. Bedding and towels were spotless and changed each day. Tea and coffee tray was well stocked and replenished each day. The room we were in,110,was at back. This was very noisy for an hour or so every evening- I think kitchen was below and they were shifting 'bins'. There was also an air extractor from kitchen. Again, noisy until it was switched off and then it went back on at 7.30 ish. Breakfast was excellent value. Produce was excellent and cooked beautifully. The young man that greeted us on arrival and also took our breakfast order was extremely pleasant and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pleasant staff and quiet room. Old style dwelling with some modern appeal and updates to give it a good overall experience.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Cold Cold Cold

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Service and reception was good Food poor microwaves dinner ! Room was freezing cold all night when mentioned next morning there was no apology free coffee or breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly however our shower wasn’t working in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambs

Excellent

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Stayed for 1 night with my granddaughter , had a twin room Which was very clean and the beds very comfortable . Breakfast was amazing one of the best English breakfasts I have had , service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful , would certainly recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by Philip

A Bit Disorganised

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
I have mixed feelings with this hotel. We noticed after the desk staff had gone home the first night (it is not manned 24 X 7) the bathroom light did not work (room 104). This made using the bathroom that evening and overnight rather tricky, using our iPhones to try and see the way! The next morning I reported this to a young lady, but when we returned that evening it was still not working. Let me at this point commend the manageress who did her very best to fix it, but it became very apparent the cause was something more than a blown bulb. She then fixed us up with an emergency lamp. We were only staying two nights so it didn't really matter. The next evening my Wife and I, and the couple who had joined us for the weekend away in an adjoining room decided to eat in the restaurant. The bill came to about £73 which was fine, the food was OK and we had 4 X main, 4 X deserts and some drinks. We got the bill and left £80 cash on the table to include a small tip. When we checked out the following morning I was presented with a bill which bore no relation to what we had eaten. I then had to explain this was totally incorrect and that we had paid in any case. So all in all, a bit disappointed and a bit disorganised. The whole place requires an urgent overhaul, but that said it is not expensive. The pub opposite is awful (noisy drunkards!), but this is not the fault of Brandon House. Otherwise, I would say pretty good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eastbourne

A disappointment

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: It was nice and convenient for our visit to friends in Bury St Edmunds the next morning. Apart from that, nothing, I am afraid.
Cons: A sincere welcome would have been nice.
Location: Brandon was conveniently located for Bury.
The hotel's photograph is very flattering. The reality was quite different to what we were expecting. We found the hotel rather dated and tired-looking both inside and out. The modest cost (£85) for the night's stay was reasonable by today's standards and I suppose we should have reduced our expectations accordingly.
4 out of 5
by Richard

Brandon hotel stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and a comfortable stay. Hotel was a 'bit tired' around the edges but good value for the price paid. It was extremely clean so well done to all the staff. WiFi was speedy.
1 out of 5
by William

Do not stop at this hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was in bad condition and in need of restoration. The condition of the carpets in the entrance lobby and up to the first floor was very worn. The plumbing on the second floor was not working properly, the toilet did not flush sufficiently and the shower was a dribble. There is no elevator so we had to carry two heavy suitcases up two flights of stairs. The staff offered very amateur service in the bar and restaurant both at dinner and breakfast.