Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Nice Hotel,

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Friendly Staff, good location, good layout of food and tasty.
Cons: Happy with Hotel as it is
Location: Good location, good walks in the Forest.
This was our second time we have stayed in this Hotel. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was laid out excellent, looked very inviting and was very enjoyable. I would happily recommend this Hotel and look forward to our next stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and very helpful staff.
Location: Very close to the train station.
I had a great stay at this hotel. Not far from the train station. I had a very comfortable evening in my twin room where I was able to relax in the bath before climbing into my bed and watching the telly. A little too warm for me overnight but I still slept very well. When I woke in the morning and headed down to breakfast I asked the ladies at the desk (Abby and Catherine) if they would call me a taxi which they agreed to while I went to have my breakfast. A spread of cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and of course tea and coffee. I could also order hot food. The poached eggs were delicious. The staff were unable to get me a taxi to my interview, but then made the above and beyond offer to take me themselves as it wasn't far. Before they had to do this one of the taxi companies called back to say they could now do it. In summary: book a taxi in advance and stay here for a comfortable stay and a delicious breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant place, great cooked breakfast, nice welcoming staff, room was very clean and comfortable, but a little hot with the central heating. This is not 3 star, but our room (107 Twin) had enough space, lots of plug sockets, nice hot shower, biscuits with the tea & coffee making facilities. Really can't fault it for the price paid. If there was one negative it was that the staff told us the hotel bar would be open until 11pm, yet when we were walking back to the hotel at 9.15pm we passed the young girl on duty that evening who said she had shut the bar and locked up as there was no-one there, which was a bit frustrating considering it was a Friday night!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convinient and clean with great staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The walls are thin so people rowing in the middle of the night can be heard but very secure accommodation at a low price, comfortable if not modern.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Thetford Forest and pleasant enough

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel generally was good - staff friendly, spacious and old grandeur. Bedroom was spacious,bathroom very big. Windows were old and in need of attention with some mould, bed was very hard and uncomfortable and pillows also hard. Not a comfortable night sleep. Good hot water - but no cold water! Had the hottest cold shower I have ever had! Seriously the cold was hot, the hot was scorching! Staff pleasant and helpful, food good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location, good service.
4 out of 5
by Kim from Benfleet

Peaceful

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel needs a bit of tlc, lovely downstairs, but need the bedrooms modernised .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Roger from Rochester

A short stay in Suffolk

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
An old building with excellent rooms and facilities, The staff were extremely friendly and obliging. The parking was off road and the hotel car park was large, There were several pubs/restaurants close by but the hotel had its own.I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay there and wouldn't hesitate to book there again.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
Just 5min from Centre Parks which is why we stayed. Hotel is in need of decorating in places (Bathroom for example) but they are clearly working on it and the room was spotless, new bedding etc.and everywhere was clean. Staff were very friendly. Would stay there again.