Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nantwich, UK

Posted Aug 27, 2017
This is a fantastic place to stay. The setting is beautiful, the room we had was lovely with a large outside terrace and the welcome / service you get from this family-run hotel is nothing short of superb. We stayed there for two nights and it was a joy, the freshly prepared and served breakfast was wonderful and we decided to eat in the restaurant both nights because of the relaxed ambience / excellent food on offer! We even received a gift on departure thanking us for our stay! Would thoroughly recommend to anyone planning a stay in the Dordogne, it is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice friendly hotel next to the river

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The location, room and dining experience.
Cons: nothing i can think of.
Location: Brantome is a small picturesque town in South West France. It is completely surrounded by rivers and is know as the french Venice.
We were greeted on arrival and directed to a dedicated parking bay. The room and facilities were amazing and the staff could not do enough for you. We dined at the restaurant and the food was amazing. The following morning the breakfast experience was equally as good. Rather than the usual buffet they offered servings of different courses, which included fresh fruit, pastries, crepes and omelettes and lavished you with coffee. I would not hesitate to recommend this experience and will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
A wonderful quiet atmosphere with charming staff , delicious food and beautiful room !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Absolutely fabulous!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: You can walk one mile and be in the charming town of Brantome where you can take a boat ride or rent a canoe. The Grottes de Villars caves nearby.
Extraordinaire! From the moment the owners greeted us warmly to our farewell from their son who provided very useful suggestions for the rest of our journey, we had a marvelous stay at the Moulin. A restored former mill, the hotel was beautifully refurbished and decorated. Our room was lovely and spacious, as well as immaculate. The swimming pool provided a welcome respite in the heatwave France was experiencing. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Moulin both days of our visit. All of the food and wine were delicious and served with grace. At petit dejenear (not really petit), fresh-squeezed orange juice, plain yogurt, fresh fruit, and a selection of croissants, along with tea or coffee, were served. Dinner was marvelous. We ordered from one of the menus offered. Standouts were confit de canard and filets de bar. The fish (sea bass) was garnished with shrimp, served with saffron rice and a light lemon butter sauce. The second night one of has the veal chop smothered in fresh, local mushrooms. Before the meal we were served amuse bouche and a sorbet with champagne between courses. For dessert, one of us indulged on the tarte aux pommes with vanilla ice cream (wonderful) and the other on homemade ananas (pineapple) sorbet. The wine selection is excellent and wine by the glass as well as half-bottles are available. We highly recommend Moulin de Vigonac.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Romantic getaway.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic location. Very friendly staff and owners makes us feel very welcome. Good food, first class. Bedroom very nice and very comfortable. Swimming pool and furniture very good. Would highly recommend this venue.
5 out of 5
by Norman

Fantastic stay at the Moulin de Vigonac

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was excellent - friendly and attentive. The dinners there had excellent food at good value. The grounds are quiet and romantic, with a functioning millwheel! The only drawback is that the location requires a car - it's isolated from Brantome.
5 out of 5
by bernard

Precious and unique place

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous place and wonderful people So unique ...!!! And food was excellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely old mill converted into a wonderful B & B

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The property is beautiful with a stream running through and glorious vegetation and flowers. Our room was large and comfortable. When we arrived and asked about a laundry to do ourselves, Madame immediately said she would do the laundry which she did without charge. This generous offer saved us so much time and effort and is probably the nicest gesture any hotel or B & B can make. Thank you, Madame. We had dinner there which was delicious with wonderful fois gras, wine. Monsieur is the chef and he's terrific. Too bad we couldn't stay longer than the 2 nights we had planned.
5 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and delightful small hotel

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a family run small hotel staffed by charming people who couldn't do enough for us.