Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2017
A wonderful quiet atmosphere with charming staff , delicious food and beautiful room !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Absolutely fabulous!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: You can walk one mile and be in the charming town of Brantome where you can take a boat ride or rent a canoe. The Grottes de Villars caves nearby.
Extraordinaire! From the moment the owners greeted us warmly to our farewell from their son who provided very useful suggestions for the rest of our journey, we had a marvelous stay at the Moulin. A restored former mill, the hotel was beautifully refurbished and decorated. Our room was lovely and spacious, as well as immaculate. The swimming pool provided a welcome respite in the heatwave France was experiencing. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Moulin both days of our visit. All of the food and wine were delicious and served with grace. At petit dejenear (not really petit), fresh-squeezed orange juice, plain yogurt, fresh fruit, and a selection of croissants, along with tea or coffee, were served. Dinner was marvelous. We ordered from one of the menus offered. Standouts were confit de canard and filets de bar. The fish (sea bass) was garnished with shrimp, served with saffron rice and a light lemon butter sauce. The second night one of has the veal chop smothered in fresh, local mushrooms. Before the meal we were served amuse bouche and a sorbet with champagne between courses. For dessert, one of us indulged on the tarte aux pommes with vanilla ice cream (wonderful) and the other on homemade ananas (pineapple) sorbet. The wine selection is excellent and wine by the glass as well as half-bottles are available. We highly recommend Moulin de Vigonac.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely old mill converted into a wonderful B & B

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
The property is beautiful with a stream running through and glorious vegetation and flowers. Our room was large and comfortable. When we arrived and asked about a laundry to do ourselves, Madame immediately said she would do the laundry which she did without charge. This generous offer saved us so much time and effort and is probably the nicest gesture any hotel or B & B can make. Thank you, Madame. We had dinner there which was delicious with wonderful fois gras, wine. Monsieur is the chef and he's terrific. Too bad we couldn't stay longer than the 2 nights we had planned.
5 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and delightful small hotel

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
This is a family run small hotel staffed by charming people who couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Stay was too short!

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Service, personal services, food.
Cons: I would not change a thing.
Location: Near a lovely French village with market, river cruise around it and great history.
From the reception to our departure the staff was superb. Their restaurant was closed the night we arrived. A car and driver took us to our choice of nearby open restaurants and picked us up so we did not need to drive in the strange town at night. The breakfasts and dinners that followed there were awesome. Personal touch at every turn. Room with the best bath delightful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful tranquility

Posted Sep 17, 2015
A warm welcome in this family-run hotel, lovely and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts and especially dinners, all in a wonderful, tranquil location by the river.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Rejerrah, Newquay.UK

Living on the Edge of Brantome

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Made very welcome by the host and hostess very comfortable and clean rooms and, above all, an excellent cuisine and cellar. Our 2nd visit and all being well we will return
5 out of 5
by SANDRA from Church Crookham

Pampered guests

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights but wished we could have stayed longer. What lovely people and Dad is such a good chef. The breakfast is something else, fresh fruit, pancakes, whatever cooked breakfast you want and of course croissants pain a raisin and pain a chocolate. Definitely worth many more visits.