Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Wonderful very pleasant quite great coffee nice breakfast staff very helpful and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Good value for the price

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Greeted by pleasant staff and a very clean well-maintained room. For the price I thought it was a good value. The night I stayed outdoor temperatures were below zero but then was nice and cozy. I thought the bathroom what is a bit small for my plus size body but manageable. Free breakfast included things like make you want waffles and local Vermont made bread which was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

good value

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: so clean pleasant staff Jerry the cat
Cons: windows grounds need to be pick up
very clean inside grounds could use some attention in need of new larger windows owner couldn't have bee nicer nice area for breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Convenient hotel with continental breakfast!

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Ample parking- generous continental breakfast and friend staff. Love Tina the owner! You feel like you're staying in her home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to restaurants, stores and activities

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: It was small and very quiet, great for relaxing.
The owner checked us in was very easy & pleasant. We asked restaurants and she suggested quite a few. We took her advice and ate at THE TAVERN which was a quick walk from the Inn. The food and service was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review! We are glad you had a relaxing stay and found everything in good order, quiet and conveniently located to dining and shopping. We are centrally located on Rte 5 (Putney Road) but setback from the road to insure little road noise. We look forward to seeing you again!
3 out of 5
by Thomas

Not impressed.

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Hotels
There was a desk near the door that was dark, even with every other light on. I told the manager who said the situation would be fixed, but when I got back the next day, I was told she could not get around to it. All that was needed was to plug in an old lamp, or buy one at a local store. I was left with the impression that it wasn't worth the trouble. Fox News but no MSNBC. Fair and balanced? I liked the cat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry that we were not able to get you a lamp for the desk in your guestroom while you were here. It was a very busy time for us here, and we simply did not have one in inventory to supply you. We would have loved to buy one for you right there and then, but it was not possible as we were tight staffed and over stretched as it was on a sold out weekend. We pride ourselves on customer service and are so incredibly sorry that you were left with a sour impression of your importance, nothing could be further from the truth! We are happy to report that the issue has been remedied with a nice, bright standing lamp near the desk! As far as the new channel, we take requests and change the news station channel often-Fox News was simply a requested channel, if you would have preferred MSNBC we would have been happy to oblige had we known. Come see Jerry the cat again and give us a chance to do right by you!
2 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
by Mark A

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback and appreciation!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Non smoking my A**!!! It was great to get a last minute room for cheap after visiting some local breweries, but I wouldn't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for your average score, but we'd like to do better for you! We are so sorry that the guestroom you had an odor. We are staffed around the clock and would have been happy to move you had we known. We are a completely non smoking motel, but alas, not all may follow the rules. We hope you give us another chance to provide a clean, comfortable room at a great price!
5 out of 5
by Sophie

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Monica, Hotel Management
Thank you for 5 out of 5 stars! You made this very hard working staff's day! We so appreciate each and every one of our guests and try to provide a great experience from cleanliness to customer service!