Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by William

Great hotel,

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great old European style hotel. Roberto is a very gracious host.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the Rhine

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Proximity to attractions, the food in the restaurant and the kindness of the staff.
Cons: Rooms could do with an update and freshen up.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The owners are so lovely and the food that they cook in the restaurant is outstanding. It is a nice basic hotel and the bed is comfortable and the shower was hot! What more could you ask for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
very good even the food.
5 out of 5
by Ute from Duesseldorf

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We always come back here because it is conveniently located, in walking distance of the beautiful city of Braubach, with great walking options. The food is good at the hotel restaurant, the room is clean, great breakfast and very nice service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oak Park, IL

Relaxing on the Rhein.

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Nice enough hotel but no elevator. Don't make any mistakes in the dining room or the gal that runs it will not be happy with you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Well below expectations

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: Better beds, sound proof window, have local information available at reception, decorate rooms and maybe a coffee maker.
Location: On the river, close to cruise boat pick up point. Town lacks any reason to visit.
Italian staff unknowable about the area. Room was clean but lacked any feel of comfort. A good nights sleep was out of the question mainly due to cheap uncomfortable beds busy road and high speed rail track within 50 meters of the hotel, also the paper thin walls between rooms. The town itself had very little to offer. Only good point was its location being very close to the Rein and the boat trips. Breakfast was very basic.
1 out of 5
by Anne from Havertown

Non-German speakers apparently not welcome

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The service was ABYSMAL! The place is RIGHT next to the train line (so we had to yell at each other every time a train was passing) and the shower door could have used a thorough scrubbing but the view was great. They have a restaurant so we ordered pizza and drinks. Drinks came in a timely manner but after waiting for our pizza for 45 minutes (and not seeing the waiter again since the delivery of our first and only drink order), I went in to ask about it. He never put the order in- he didn't speak English and misunderstood our pointing to the pizza on the menu and asking for one. Ok. While my traveling companion didn't have the coolest head after drinking a liter of beer on an empty stomach, the manager was EXTREMELY rude to both of us. He refused to apologize for ignoring the only 3 occupied tables in the entire place for 45 minutes, he raised his voice to both of us (granted she raised hers too) and then actually told me that his employee was stupid (what?!) and that it would be nice, if I were coming to Germany for vacation, for me to speak German and then maybe this wouldn't have happened (WHAT?!). So apparently if you don't speak German, don't bother coming here. I will point out that the 2 other tables DID have German speakers- while they had no problems getting their orders, they were also not helped again for 40+ minutes. Speaking German seems to have no effect on the overall quality of service- I could still be sitting there without being checked on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view.

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. Good location for cycling.
3 out of 5
by martin from Birmingham

Ok

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
Does what it says. Town was very quiet and few alternative dining options as menu was limited. Basically pizza or salad.