Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lars Smedegaard

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by Vanessa Dornemann, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast! Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung, denn dieses Feedback ist ist uns wichtig, zur Optimierung unserer Leistungen. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie eines Tages wieder bei uns im Haus begrüßen zu dürfen und verbleiben mit freundlichen Grüßen - Ihr MARITIM Berghotel Braunlage
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Good location and service. Breakfast was well worth the money. Hotel a bit older but still in great shape.
5 out of 5
by tatsuaki1972 from Netherlands

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels
It was our 1st visit to Braunlage. The view from the room was nice and we enjoyed staying there very much. The room is spacious and swimming pool and sauna is comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, a good place to get away from it a

Posted May 12, 2014
Perched above Braunlage, this hotel manages to feel removed from any rush and bustle yet remains convenient as a centre for touring the Harz area. This was our second stay, just a weekend overnight, whereas last time we spent a week here. On both occasions, the hotel has lived up to our expectations. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the staff helpful and the catering is delicious (special mention for the buffet breakfast, possibly the largest spread I've ever encountered!). every day, a newsletter is provided giving some information about a nearby town, a weather forecast for the day, details of activities and special offers arranged by the hotel. The hotel itself includes a spa facility with an excellent (25m?) pool, sauna and fitness room, massage and beauty treatments are on hand, there's an archery range& pitch & putt golf course, pretty much enough for a long weekend without ever leaving the premises. One of my personal favourites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by X from Y

Very good service and a great indoor swimming pool

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels
Well looked after by all staff. They even understood my schoolboy German. A local map was Given to us with all paths marked, we had 2 enjoyable walks. The indoor pool was fantastic, 20 metres long and only a handful of people in at any time. the food in the English Pub was well presented and more or less the same price as other places in town, although the main restaurant was a bit pricy. The bathroom decor was a bit seventies style, so hopefully will be updated in the next few years. I missed the free wifi that we had at other hotels we stayed in Germany on this holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JP & Annie from Austin, Texas

JP/AME

Posted Oct 11, 2011
A good find....thank goodness it was OFF SEASON!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2014 by Maritim Braunlage, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards your Mari-Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

So good, we went back again!

Posted Aug 11, 2011
Per my previous post, the Maritime Braunlage was once again a brilliant place to stay. Just like last year, we have stayed in about ten hotels over three weeks - and the Maritime once again tops the charts for breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2014 by Maritim Braunlage, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we thank you so much for your review. We look forward to see you again! Kind regards, your Mari-Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Super value, super location, super service

Posted Aug 15, 2010
We used this hotel as a base for touring the Harz Mountains. Expecting it to be dead, out of ski season, it was anything but. Service was exemplary in all areas and there was a lovely ambience. Even though the decor is authentic 70s, it is immaculately maintained and everything works. We LOVED the orange and brown bathroom tiles and the traditional German restaurant. Breakfast was great value for money and very substantial. We certainly recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Does what it needs to

Posted Mar 4, 2010
Went to the Maritim Braunlage for a weekend of skiing in the Harz Mountains. I've stayed in quite a few Maritim hotels, and this certainly isn't up there with the best, but it definitely wasn't the most expensive either. The decor is pretty "retro" in the rooms, i.e. it's not been updated since the 70's (think of alovely brown bathroom...); however, pretty much all of Germany is 20 years behind the rest of the world anyway. The staff were friendly, but beware that this isn't UK-focused tourism Germany, so if you're expecting fluent English from everyone, you'll be sadly disappointed. The breakfast was very good, but a touch pricey. Likewise for dinner in the restaurant. It looked to be the best hotel in Braunlage though and stands above the rest of the town, somewhat dominating the skyline. I'd happily go back, but people shouldn't be expecting unbridled luxury.