Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilkenny, Ireland

Old style hotel but bar very modern

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel but the very modern bar spoiled the homely atmosphere as the hotel is quaint and an old style bar would suit it more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We asked to move rooms as we were at front ofor hotel above zebra crossing. Staff couldn't be more helpful giving us choice ofor rooms to move to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great staff to look after all our needs

Posted Aug 19, 2017
We were very happy with our stay at the Royal. Manager great with room allocation. Lovely bar. Delicious dinner. And help opening our amazing find of a bottle of Irish wine, which was truly tasty (Lusca). Room clean and comfy beds. Overall a great spot in Bray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel room was disgraceful no hair dryer no iron tv no channels Room itself was falling apart shower hanging off wall plugs hanging off walls decor hadn't been touched in years What you see on this site is definitely not what you get on arrival
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Disappointing

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I had higher expectations from this hotel. The facilities (pool, restaurant, etc) were good, but the room was terrible. Our room was not one of the refurbished rooms and it was old, tired and had stains everywhere on furniture, walls and carpet. I asked if we could be switched to an refurbished room and she said she'd "get back to me" (but never did). When we tried to print our boarding passes late at night before our early morning flight the front desk told us that the 24-hour business center was locked and they had no internet so they would not be able to print them (our airline charges to print them at the airport, so I was relying on the advertised 24-hour business center). Location is walkable to the seafront which we really liked but the town is a bit depressed and rundown. Our overall experience was mixed, but I definitely would not recommend this hotel to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Charged me $ 52.00 more than the quoted bill. Staff kept asking my daughter if she was there with someone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refurb

Posted May 30, 2017
We have stayed in this hotel a few times. It has recently undergone major refurbishment adding greatly to the experience. Would recommend. Handy for getting to Dublin at a fraction of the cost. DART is a five minute walk away and is 6.20e return.
3 out of 5
by Stuart

Not worth 100 euros a night.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Staff a little rude and unattentive. Noticed stained sheets as i was leaving. Not worth 100 euros a night.
3 out of 5
by Peadar

uncomfortable stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
There was an overpowering smell of carpet cleaner in the room when we checked in and the carpet was wet in a large area. We had a restaurant booked for 17:00 and assumed it would dry out while we were out. When we returned at 21:30 it had not improved. The kids were too tired to change room so we didn't report it until check out. It was still wet in the morning.