Ratings based on 426 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel room was disgraceful no hair dryer no iron tv no channels Room itself was falling apart shower hanging off wall plugs hanging off walls decor hadn't been touched in years What you see on this site is definitely not what you get on arrival
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Disappointing

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I had higher expectations from this hotel. The facilities (pool, restaurant, etc) were good, but the room was terrible. Our room was not one of the refurbished rooms and it was old, tired and had stains everywhere on furniture, walls and carpet. I asked if we could be switched to an refurbished room and she said she'd "get back to me" (but never did). When we tried to print our boarding passes late at night before our early morning flight the front desk told us that the 24-hour business center was locked and they had no internet so they would not be able to print them (our airline charges to print them at the airport, so I was relying on the advertised 24-hour business center). Location is walkable to the seafront which we really liked but the town is a bit depressed and rundown. Our overall experience was mixed, but I definitely would not recommend this hotel to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Charged me $ 52.00 more than the quoted bill. Staff kept asking my daughter if she was there with someone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refurb

Posted May 30, 2017
We have stayed in this hotel a few times. It has recently undergone major refurbishment adding greatly to the experience. Would recommend. Handy for getting to Dublin at a fraction of the cost. DART is a five minute walk away and is 6.20e return.
3 out of 5
by Stuart

Not worth 100 euros a night.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Staff a little rude and unattentive. Noticed stained sheets as i was leaving. Not worth 100 euros a night.
3 out of 5
by Peadar

uncomfortable stay

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
There was an overpowering smell of carpet cleaner in the room when we checked in and the carpet was wet in a large area. We had a restaurant booked for 17:00 and assumed it would dry out while we were out. When we returned at 21:30 it had not improved. The kids were too tired to change room so we didn't report it until check out. It was still wet in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel is fine, but minimalist. The location is convenient to walk to the strand, but the neighborhood generally didn't make us totally comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Out of date, run down, smell of bleach, stains

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: It was in the centre of Bray
Cons: The whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment.
First impression of the hotel was that it was really old fashioned and out of date. The reception area was shabby and the carpet is worn down. I felt like I was really ripped off with the price I paid and we did get a better rate as we had booked so far in advance. Getting into the lift up to our room the smell of lemon bleach was overwhelming. Our room was clean but the walls had marks all over them, there were a couple of what looked like drinks stains on the carpet and the rooms furniture was completely out dated. I would not stay here again and I feel like it was really poor value for money. We think we had one of the older rooms, up on the fourth floor however our friends had a much nicer room on a lower floor but they were awoken by the smell of bleach again. I think the hotel needs a complete refurbishment.
4 out of 5
by Diana

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient alternative to staying in Dublin; direct connection to the airport, train and bus services into Dublin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice old traditional hotel in good nick. Nice swimming pool and very friendly and helpful staff