Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Refurb

Posted May 30, 2017
We have stayed in this hotel a few times. It has recently undergone major refurbishment adding greatly to the experience. Would recommend. Handy for getting to Dublin at a fraction of the cost. DART is a five minute walk away and is 6.20e return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel is fine, but minimalist. The location is convenient to walk to the strand, but the neighborhood generally didn't make us totally comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Out of date, run down, smell of bleach, stains

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: It was in the centre of Bray
Cons: The whole hotel needs a complete refurbishment.
First impression of the hotel was that it was really old fashioned and out of date. The reception area was shabby and the carpet is worn down. I felt like I was really ripped off with the price I paid and we did get a better rate as we had booked so far in advance. Getting into the lift up to our room the smell of lemon bleach was overwhelming. Our room was clean but the walls had marks all over them, there were a couple of what looked like drinks stains on the carpet and the rooms furniture was completely out dated. I would not stay here again and I feel like it was really poor value for money. We think we had one of the older rooms, up on the fourth floor however our friends had a much nicer room on a lower floor but they were awoken by the smell of bleach again. I think the hotel needs a complete refurbishment.
4 out of 5
by Diana

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient alternative to staying in Dublin; direct connection to the airport, train and bus services into Dublin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Really nice old traditional hotel in good nick. Nice swimming pool and very friendly and helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Anthony

Great for dart to aviva stadium

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Nice friendly hotel good food from bar. Livley bar and entertainment
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Friendly and convenient hotal

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the the Royal Hotel. Price was very reasonable. Staff were very friendly. Enjoyed the leisure complex. Convenient to the DART and access to Dublin City Centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel; exceptionally helpful staff

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
The restaurant staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. We placed a special food order and even the chef came out to us during our meal to ensure that everything was good and that we were pleased with the meal (which we were).
4 out of 5
by Bronagh

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Room was lovely and clean, very comfortable. Swimming pool perfect for kids of all ages. Games room was handy for kids although you have to pay for each game of pool / fuzzball so it's not long adding up. Only drwarback was it took a good 5 minutes to walk to your room along lots of twisty corridors and corners. and the corridor near our room was being painted so there was a strong smell of paint and paint chippings along the hallway. Otherwise, lovely friendly hotel, perfect 5 minutes walk to the seafront of a lovely town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but needs updating

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very understaffed and over worked check in staff.no sign of proper management. Bathroom not ver clean hairs on floor .dirty toilet brush beside loo. Window overlooking grey noisy building.corridoors very shabby. A it of work done but needs lots more.