Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Quiet Retreat

Posted Mar 17, 2018
This was our second visit to the hotel. We love the peace and quiet and the great service on offer here. The food is excellent in both presentation and taste on both the dining room and lounge menu. We tried both during our 6 night stay, the one very small reservation is the that the menu did not change during our visit. But if you are only staying for a few nights please don't let this put you off. We have decided that we will make a visit to the Llangoed Hall an annual treat and will try all seasons.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Iona 50th Treat

Posted Jan 15, 2018 on Hotels
Food was fantastic, Taster menu so no choice but amazing. Shame no 'Bar' as such but attentive staff in stunning countryside. Lovely walk along the Wye Riverbank. Very Welcoming & homely, thoroughly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Mr peter Jenkins

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by LINDA

First class.

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about this hotel is first class and beyond. Staff are very attentive and extremely pleasant, nothing is too much trouble. We got snowed in so the scenery was spectacular! Lovely log fire crackling away with a pot of hot coffee. Rooms beautiful and everything you need to hand. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Chris from Cardiff

good in patches

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
Staff friendly but lacked professionalism in some aspects. Asked for garden view room several weeks ago but room view was of a flat roof and reception only thought it was a garden view. Room was cold in middle of very poor weather and radiator switched off.
5 out of 5
by Anne

A taste of luxury in beautiful surroundings

Posted Nov 28, 2017 on Hotels
My adult daughter and I spent the night at this lovely country house hotel and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional and very friendly. We were shown to our very comfortable room where we found everything to be of the best quality, from the bedding to the décor. Before dinner we sat in the beautiful lounge with a roaring log fire and were served drinks. (No bar here but a butler service). Our dinner was excellent as we had anticipated. This hotel is as far from the usual chain hotels as you could imagine. We felt more like welcome guests staying in a county house surrounded by beautiful antiques and furnishings.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Pricing by stealth?

Posted Nov 27, 2017
I booked and paid online on the clear basis that it was for three guests (two adults and our daughter). But when checking out I had to pay an additional £65 for the extra bed. Setting aside that this was a lot for a flimsy camp-bed, it isn’t clear to me why I was charged extra at all as the original payment was for 3 guests. In addition it was very disappointing to hear the staff member who checked us in mispronounce the name of the hotel as ‘lan-gode’. It is in Wales and to hear it pronounced in this way really Jarred and it did little for an experience of Welsh hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hotel to get away from it all

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff situated in stunning grounds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great manor house hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Elegant facility. Friendly staff. Great restaurant. Very highly recommended