Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Hotel in beautiful coutryside

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Lovely hotel and setting. Courteous and efficient staff. Very good menu.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Beautifully furnished
Cons: Do not put anyone in room 318 until the problems are fixed. Be more upfront that many of the rooms are in the attic, up 2 flights of stairs.
Location: The hotel was out in the Welsh countryside with very little nearby.
We had booked this expensive hotel and were looking forward to the experience. Unfortunately being relegated to an attic room did not match our expectations, especially since there was a continual background hum from a nearby water heater system that also sent a disturbing vibration through the bed. After complaining the next day we were moved to another attic room that faced toward the road with its intermittent noise. The dining and lounge areas were beautifully furnished but morgue-like. There was virtually no-one to be found in them during the day which was surprising since there was not much to see in the nearby area. The closest reasonable restaurant was at Hay on Wye about 20 minutes drive away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Memorable stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere is very classy and very welcoming. I felt comfortable from the very beginning. A lot of attention to details.
Cons: The basin with 2 taps in the bathroom is a bit "too" old-fashioned. There could be someone in the staff more knowledgeable about the wine list.
Location: Lovely location and close to Brecon but we didn't explore the surrounding area.
We celebrated our anniversary at Llangoed Hall and what memorable stay it was! From the wonderful comfortable bedroom with a second TV in the bathroom and a complimentary bottle of sherry in the room to the delicious 4 course dinner... everything was absolutely perfect! We shall remember this stay in the elegant castle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Reading, Berks

Hidden gem

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Everything, but notably the leisurely cooked to order breakfast and superb afternoon tea
Cons: Installation of a lift. Top floor stairs lack handrails in some places. Beware.
Location: Quiet, scenic and surrounded by mellow countryside with a view to the hills
Tastefully refurbished in period with large new bathrooms and luxury bedding. Large and interesting well maintained grounds including a maze. Fabulous food. Country house hotel for grown ups
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

A very pleasant & nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The building, art and location
Cons: One thing in the book of 'things to do' had closed a year earlier
Location: A rural location ,great to walk from and visit Hay on Wye
What a lovely hotel and a lovely situation in a lovely old style British hotel. Very attentive staff, lovely rooms, beautiful art collection in a relaxing environment with great food and wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very secluded

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: It was very secluded. I wish I'd been staying longer as there was a maze, and I'd have loved to go through it.
Cons: No wi-fi signal. They need a shower floor that's lumpier than the one that they have. I'm disabled, and couldn't shower.
Location: Can't really say, as I was staying there to go to the Hay Festival.
It was very posh. A lot seemed to be complimentary, like the two bottles of mineral water (still and sparkling, they catered for all tastes), grapes and a bag. I was just there overnight, as I was going to a lecture at the Hay Festival. Bed was very comfortable when I used it. Shame the TV didn't work.
4 out of 5
by kevin

Best value reward stay ever?

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great family outing for our son's 21st. The rooms were comfortable. Facilities overall were good. Dinner was a great menu to suit all our tastes. Breakfast is the highlight. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent first class hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
Had a lovely stay here with excellent and personal service throughout. Everything was first class and we loved it.
5 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel with fantastic staff, made us feel special. Brian is quite a character and so helpful.