Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romsey Hampshire

Ken Warner

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor
Room small for the price. Bathroom looking very tired. There is no reason for mould and black grout in 2017.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Beautiful character house/hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
The house/hotel is full of character and history with beautiful surroundings, rooms are in need of modernization along with the plumbing and over priced for what you get. The staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. We only had breakfast which was average and ate out for dinner in nearby town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Nice hotel in rural Brentwood

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Nice bar area, pool and beauty rooms.
Cons: Info re pool opening times was incorrect in room
Wanted a place to stay close to family but with facilities to relax. Lovely outdoor pool and friendly Beauty rooms.
2 out of 5
by Julie

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Rather disappointed
5 out of 5
by Steve

Good Value

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel. nice friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Generally comfortable stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful and it was a generally comfortable stay. I would just mention that the food is over[priced for what you get. An extremely disappointing breakfast charged at £14!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice building but very hot room.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at the De Rougemont Manor for 1 night only, after we had originally considered staying 2 nights. Whilst the staff were lovely and friendly, unfortunately we decided not to stay a second night as we hardly got any sleep at all during our first night. The room was incredibly hot as the thermostat on the radiator seemed to be broken. Despite having turned the radiator off, it stayed very hot throughout the night. This meant we had to open the windows to try and cool the room down and to let in some air. Unfortunately, it also let in quite a lot of noise from a nearby generator and a lot of light from a rather bright outside light near our window. As a consequence we hardly slept at all. It was a bit of a shame as the hotel is a ice building in a lovely rural setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top peaceful break location. good service :-)

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed in Room 206 on second floor. Cosy room which was great. Nice bathroom with good shower pressure and nice ginseng toiletries. Hotel grounds lovely to stroll around. Nancy ensured smooth checkin. Great breakfast choice and service. A1 hotel. Well done to the derougement team.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Lovely gracious old building somewhat spoiled in places by being 'Essexised'
Cons: Breakfast had obviously been kept warm for some time. Would have expected a fresh fruit salad on offer.
Location: Nice area
Disappointing. Noisy function on which meant we had to change rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chance find perfect choice!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: As above
Location was perfect for our purposes. Close to Brentwood and our destination yet not far from motorway access. Comfortable and warm,helpful smiley staff, a good food choice at reasonable price. The ambiance was friendly and homely yet elegant and professional. A beautiful building and garden facilities available.