Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Lovely hotel with character

Posted May 8, 2017
We booked 1 night at this hotel & were expecting a standard family room for 2 adults & 1 child. On checking in we were given a free upgrade to a suite. We were very happy with the accommodation, which looked as if it had recently been refurbished. The bathroom was exceptionally nice, with a double sink, separate shower & a jacuzzi bath. Everything was spotlessly clean. Complimentary fruit & bottled water were in the room & there was an iron & ironing board in addition to the usual trouser press. There was air conditioning in the room. We did not have an evening meal at the hotel as the menu looked quite expensive. There was a Harvester immediately opposite the hotel so we went there instead. Breakfast at the hotel was good. There is a hot and cold buffet served in what appears to be a lovely Tudor hall, complete with wooden beams. Very atmospheric! The staff were all very polite and helpful. We enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dagenham

Marion's 60th Birthday

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The location of the rooms.
Cons: I cant think of any negatives.
Location: I don't know the location enough to comment
We chose the hotel as it was near to the venue that my party was at. The staff were very accommodating to any late requests that I made. We were made to feel special and valued customers and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is very pleasing and when I told people we were staying at Mary Green Manor, everyone gave positive comments on how lovely it is. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you for having us as guests x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Posted May 1, 2017
Very comfortable room looking onto lovely garden. Staff were very friendly and obliging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston,SC

Exceeded our expectations!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Our first visit to U.K. We couldn't have been more pleased with our decision to stay here. Everyone went out of their way to meet our every need and with a smile! The room was lovely and very comfortable. The bowl of fresh fruit and shortbreads each day were a welcome treat. We ate in the pub three evenings and it was always delicious. Even some locals who joined us who had only been there for tea previously were very impressed with the food quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In Brentwood. Very old history behind it.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Very friendly staff. They were not phased when 5 of our friends not staying at the hotel joined us for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice country hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Lovely hotels, with a cozy feel. Rooms are set in a courtyard overlooking the gardens . Each room spacious and well equipped .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: It had a nice, deep bathtub. Staff were friendly and the room was very clean.
Cons: Fix all plug sockets, update decor and interiors. Brighten the rooms- very dark. Don't advertise as a garden view when there is none!
Booked for a business trip. Was booked into a 'Garden View' room which overlooked other houses and a spoil-heap, not the gardens. Some of the plug sockets in the room didn't work. The room was dated, and had a musty, unpleasant smell to it. As it was just for sleeping and some paperwork in the evening, it was bearable, but not suitable for a leisurely stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Fair value

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Room dated. Would have liked to know before booking that the room had internal steps down into room then several up to sleeping area and more steps into bathroom Difficult to manage particularly at night into bathroom. Website booking did not mention this
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from clacton-on-sea

Nice hotel close to our party venue

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Loverly room very comfy and spacious, slept well really quite only trouble was parking when we arrived !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Late booking, Great night.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Really lovely place, rooms were spacious, bed was only a double and the hand basin water took ages to drain away! Dinner in the magnificent dining room was gorgeous. The service was inpecable. Not a cheap night but well worth it....Nice and quiet followed by a lovely breakfast! A very quaint and oldy worldy hotel but we will definately be going back and recommend it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️