Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Brixen!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
I stayed for 4 nights, doing family research. I found the rooms very clean & comfortable, the staff (including the cleaning service- one of whom offered to let me use her cell phone when mine went haywire) very friendly & helpful, and it was conveniently located in the city center and about a 5 minute walk to the train/bus station. Have nothing bad to report!
3 out of 5
by Gay from London

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
It was a last minute booking. The hotel is well located in the town centre and the room was clean even if dated and the need very comfortable for good night sleep. Did not try the breakfast as we preferred to have it at a local bar.
5 out of 5
by Damian from Somerset

Highly recommended!

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Goldene Krone on several occasions and have always found it to be excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was good. The room seemed newly refurbished. Large bathroom. The front desk staff were courteous enough but not very forth coming with information ie wifi was down. They did not know when it would be working again. Not all staff were well informed about things at the hotel. Location to find the hotel via car was tricky, but once found, the location was great for exploring the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by masoud from NZ

Excellent location to Forum

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Its proximity to the conference hall mainly. Otherwise a generally nice hotel you can expect in this part of the world.
Cons: The young lady at the reception could be a bit less abrupt when you are checking in and 24 hr internet will be an improvement.
If you are attending a conference at the Forum in Bressanone, this is the closest hotel to it. It is a nice and comfortable hotel. The food at the restaurant is very nice too. The internet is switched off at night which is a nuisance if you are catching up with your emails although it comes back on again at 7 am so you will be busy at breakfast time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great place to stay!

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is great! This is the second time we have stayed here and found it to be consistently good. The hotel is convenient to the old city/downtown of Brixen. It is easy to walk to everything and parking is conveniently located under the hotel. It is also close to the train station. The rooms are large and clean and the balconies have great views. The hotel is close to a good selection of shopping, bars, restaurants and attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful. They helped us with every request. They have bicycles available and even recommended a route for us to take and provided train information on how to take the train back if we decided not to bike back from our destination. The furniture is slightly dated in the rooms but the cleanliness, the size of the rooms, convenience of the location and helpfulness of the staff more than make up for it. We would recommend this hotel and stay here again as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Cambridge, MA

Good hotel that needs to determine its audience

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Beautiful town, beautiful from outside, nice lobby, bathroom, and balcony
Cons: CHAIR! terrible! and Internet access. Spa hours.
Stayed in summer, which is not high season in Brixen/Bressanone at all, so some of the alpine/ski-lodge feel seemed odd. It's a beautiful city in the summer so I'll probably be back and it's a good hotel, but there were some issues. I was there on a weekend mostly to work. Couldn't get A/C to work on some hot days and staff wasn't much help. Wireless internet (supposedly included) was basically non-functional, so needed to use the wired, which also wasn't much good, but at least worked a bit, but it's shut off at midnight(!) so don't expect to work/surf late. The question for the hotel is, are you a spa hotel catering to pleasure seekers? If so, why are no spa amenities available most of Saturday or all day Sunday, and bike rental (which was a highlight when I stayed in 2010) not available? If you're a mixed-use/business friendly hotel, then the net and the desk needs to be improved -- worst chair I've ever sat in; had back pains for two days afterwards. Nice balcony (despite not booking a balcony room) with amazing view and great bathroom. Good hotel bar (but closed during day on Sunday). This visit I'd give a 3 to; my last visit was a 4 or 5, so I'll average since I didn't review last time, and give a 4 but with some misgivings.
3 out of 5
by J. Beckers from Scottsdale, AZ

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels
I rate the service low because of the front desk being closed from between midnight to 7:30 am. It is therefore not possible to check out before 7:30. That prevented me from taking an early train. Also the e-mail connection failed during the night preventing me to do necessary correspondence.
5 out of 5
by Ron Cheich from Arlington VA

Wonderful hotel in Brixen/Bressanone

Posted Mar 27, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel was FANTASTIC! It is centrally located in the city. The staff could not be more friendly. We can't wait to return to this little gem! If you are staying in the area - you should definitely stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and up to date. The rooms are larger and our room had a huge balcony with a view of the old town and the surrounding mountains. The lobby of the hotel and hotel bar were also very nice with a neat indoor koi fish pond. The location in the old part of the town was perfect too and it was a quick walk to see the sights and to the restaurants.