Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel & surroundings. Staff is excellen

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel & surroundings r absolutely beautiful. O.d world charm that can't be beat. Definitely would recommend horse back riding. Our guide, Deacon w
Cons: I feel the restaurant should concentrate more on current food trends. Drop the fancy smancy and go to farm fresh and healthy.
Location: The location is wonderful if you r looking for beauty! Very close by: Mount Washington Cog Railway. Be prepared very cold at top of mountain. Ne
Overall very nice. We stayed at the Britton Arms. Found the restaurant at the Arms a bit over the top. Ordered the Baked Haddock, nice looking piece of fish, but dry. Hardly any veggies. $40 plus. Had the same dish at an Uno chain w broccoli, brown rice and salad for less than $20. Wouldn't had minded the price if the taste was there. Much better meal at the main dining room. I feel high end hotels should not nickel & dime you. Free water each day should be grante. Management should try to sign onto wifi as it has some issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Wonderful historical hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: The beautiful historical rooms; the walkability to the grand hotel. Beautiful location and pools, nice public rooms and restaurants.
Cons: Wish that breakfast could be included; there is breakfast available, but it's in a very nice restaurant and requires reservations.
Location: The grand hotel has it all, and you a pretty close to the Cog Railroad to go up Mt. Washington. It's a great place just to experience resort living.
This hotel is beautiful; very intimate, yet gives you access to the larger Mt. Washington Hotel as well, which is gorgeous and has all the amenities. Yet it's nice to be able to walk down the hill to the smaller Bretton Arms to get away from the crowds. You can use the pools, lounges and gyms at the other hotel, and I strongly recommend you do so. It's a real historical treat. Would love to come back for a longer stay. But you are isolated and it is pricey so bring money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Totally misleading

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
The room description of the more expensive "suite" was completely misleading. The room was in the dormer/attic part of the building with no view. It was not spacious as described but instead divided by the elevator shaft for the building. Beds old and saggy. Stay away.
5 out of 5
by John

Bears at the Bretton Arms

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
All-in-all a very enjoyable stay. Staff and rooms were excellent. Highlight of our trip was seeing a bear & one of her cubs on the trail going up to the hotel on Wednesday. Needless to say, we turned around and took the free shuttle. Only one draw back, the lack of restaurants in the area. On Tuesday the dining room at the Bretton Arms is closed, Stekney's at the hotel was book until 8:30 and Fabyan's was a big disappointment - only 1 dinner entre??? Was told there was a restaurant about 15 minutes 'up the road', the Flamenco(?), drove there only to find out it too was closed on Tuesdays. We finally were able to get a table at Stekney's but not until after 8 pm, a bit late for our dining pleasure but it was very good. Breakfast at the Bretton Arms restaurant on Wednesday was very nice. And yes, cocktails on the porch of the hotel very, very nice.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Great inn needs new beds!

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Bretton Arms is wonderful in every way except for beds. My back was hurting from very soft mattress with huge hole in it. Very uncomfortable. This is my only complaint and it ruined an otherwise very good experience.
4 out of 5
by danielle

Nice hotel for couples/adults

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
This is not a ski in-out property. Wrongly advertised on hotels.com. They have a quick shuttle, which was nice and efficient. The place is small and perfect for romantic stays or older couples with no kids. Great restaurant $$$ on property, sleigh rides nearby, and quiet bar/lounge area. We stayed with kids and while it was ok, we felt it is better for couples without kids. The main hotel or lodge are more family friendly. Also note it is a pet friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and pet friendly!

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We had a great stay during Christmas. The staff was warm and hospitable and the restaurant is great! Dinner is not quite for younger kids as it is more upscale and they do not have kids menus. However, there are plenty of restaurants at the Washington hotel and surrounding area that would be fine. Overall a great stay. They are also pet friendly which is awesome if you want to bring your dog on your holiday as well!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Charming Country Inn With Updated Rooms

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed 2 nights at the Big Omni Mt. Washington and 1 night at the Inn. The Inn was less expensive and the rooms were more recently upgraded. The Inn is walking distance from the main resort and is actually nicer and cheaper.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views and lots to do

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Good facilities. We arrived on a hot August weekend and the Outdoor pool was lovely. My son enjoyed the ziplining. Just two complaints, can they please keep the indoor pool warmer! Its always freezing. Also , make the Arcade games free.