Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Don't stay here if you want good service

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Comfortable and the first 4 days clean.
Cons: A lot
Location: Very handy for going to Pembrokeshire.
We stayed at The Alexandria for 7 days, first 4 days were ok but on Monday am the owners chose to go on holiday in their mid season and someone else took over the duties.Breakfast time was suddenly changed from 8.30 to 7.30 last call, sorry not when you are on holiday. The gentleman who prepared breakfast actually served the guests in his pyjamas 1day, Last 3 days, nothing got cleaned or replenished, you had to ask for everything inc. toilet roll, tea making facilities. It felt like the owners were in it for the money but the guests were an undesirable itch. The car parking isn't to good either, if you move your car from the roadside parking place you don't get back.
4 out of 5
by Lainy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Samantha from Hull

Disgusting

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Awful place room didn't lock so didn't feel safe. Window wouldn't shut properly as it was broken. Difficult to find, dirty, smell of canibis all night. Had it not been so late when I arrived I would of gone somewhere else and for £65 it was very over prised
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David from Chichester

Maybe they were just having a bad day but.....

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Not the best experience really. Greeted at the door by a guy with no top on - I'm not a prude but it wasn't what you would call a professional beginning. Hotel was ok, bit dated but generally clean. The room was ok, but there was an emergency green light which stayed on all night in my room, you couldn't quite read by it but nearly. I was really tired though so it did not in fact affect my sleep. I came down for breakfast at the time I had agreed the night before to find no staff at all. I rang the phone number in the lobby, one just rang and rang in the hotel upstairs, the other was answered by the owner or manager who apologise that there was no body there and that she would ring the guy now to get him there. 20 minutes passed and nobody arrived. I had to leave then as there wouldn't be time for them to cook me breakfast before I need to catch my train. I left a phone message explaining what I was doing but have heard nothing. Maybe they just had a bad morning, but I won't stay there again and would have expected more effort to make ammends.
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Close to station for train to Cardiff for Rugby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient location , close enough to the station

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Bigger TV ,
Location: Easy to find close to Station 20 mi s on train into Cardiff , Nice Spanish resturant / wine Bar in the High Street Pica Puca , 5 mins from outlet shop
Very friendly , let us check in early as we were off to the Rugby in Cardiff, comfy bed ,lovely breakfast cooked to order, would stay again if I ever had to go to Bridgeend again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Welshbird

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful and pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble. And all the little extras in the room were a delightful surprise.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Tucson

Touch of Wales

Posted Jun 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very nicely remodeled but still on a busy road. Traffic finally calmed down around 11. If you are a light sleeper and go to bed early, e.g. my wife, it might be a problem. For us normals, no problemma. Easy walk to pretty but dying downtown. Nice river walk. Nice staff great breakfast, good buy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Very friendly

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Best thing is the friendly owner.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The train station is a short 10 minute walk. We took the train to Cardiff from here, no driving in the city.
The room was a nice size for a house of this type. Everything was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and the company delightful.