Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

Nice hotel in lovely situation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Where it is situated and the size of the room we occupied.
Cons: The en-suite
Location: It is central to so many places that we visited to see relatives but also for attractions, Loved Barry Island and Porthcawl although quieter.
We found the room spacious comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The dining room was clean and pleasant. The gardens are a joy and if we had had a longer stay we would like to have sat in the furniture provided to enjoy the surroundings and read a book. The only thing I would say is that the bathroom desperately needs a makeover.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
clean hotel. friendly staff. on outskirts of town so good as a base to travel to other places in the area. plenty free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Wedding near by

Posted May 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Beautiful location.Large room and bathroom.
Cons: There was a weird smell in the room,like a damp/old smell .Maybe it was the carpet. Breakfast was extra,would be nice if it was included!
Location: we just went to a wedding
When we arrived, we were greeted by Tony, who was very friendly and it was a nice welcome.The room was lovely and spacious and the on-suite bathroom was great and was well stocked with shampoo and conditioner. It was front of building, however very quiet, so a peaceful sleep. In the morning you can have either Continental for £4.95 or full Welsh breakfast, which is £6.95 each. Loved the breakfast room, which was part conservatory.Finally, the staff were very friendly people making the short stay a great one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious and comfortable place to stay

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The space, the garden and the hospitality. There is plenty of parking space too.
Location: This in excellent base to explore Southern Wales.
The guesthouse has spacious rooms that are very comfortable. The hosts are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are very good. There is a sun filled sitting area and the gardens around the building make it a quiet and pleasant place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Great service and very welcoming.
2 out of 5
by Paul

Ok

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is ok, internet is free but can't cget next. For that reason I wouldn't stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Convenient, clean and friendly.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here when going to a function at Bridgend Rugby Club. The rugby club is about 10 minute walk from the guest house so was an ideal location. Proprietor was very friendly when we checked in, room was clean, good facilities, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
While other visitors' comments were quite flattering, we thought it offered only a fair standard of overall comfort. From the description of the B&B given, we expected a higher standard of comfort. After careful consideration our conclusion was that it wouldn't be our first choice for an overnight stay. The sound of railway goods wagons passing nearby, especially during the night, was unwelcome. And the shower room needs updating. However, we should like to thank the receptionist for her guidance on how to get there which was most helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Lovely B&B very close to Bridgend

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Hazelwood wood House is a lovely place to stop with roomy bedrooms and bathrooms the staff there are so friendly and helpful and the House is situated near Bridgend but also easily placed for Cardiff Porthcawl etc. Are all within easy reach. I would recommend stopping here to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Clean,warm and comforable. The Hotelier was very helpful in getting us a taxi into the town center and the use of umbrellas was very kind as it was a rainy night and had forgotten our own. Great place to stay hope to return.