Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Love the island life!

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: It was quiet
Location: My location was close to the beach, Bridgetown and St. Jame. My favorite place was St. James because ones could attend to the in/outdoor activities
The island is beautiful and I cannot wait to return for a second trip!! Flash Zone had the best food with all the great spices!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2018 by Keith , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us at Walmer Lodge Apartments you were a wonderful guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really welcoming host family, very close to beach

Posted Feb 19, 2018 on Hotels
Really welcoming host family, very close to beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2018 by Keith W, Hotel Management
Thank you very much. You have been a wonderful guest very far away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice apartment close to the beach

Posted Jan 18, 2018
This apartment is located next to a beach which is always quiet and have a lovely picnic area. You can get the government yellow and blue bus from right outside the apartment and this can take you direct to Bridgetown. There is also an Esso petrol station about 3 mins walk away which sells a fair bit of things and if you like chicken there is a chicken shop opposite this where you can get your meal and sandwiches as well. The accommodation is quite comfortable and the staff are all lovely, approachable and very helpful. The accommodation can do with a bit updating but it has all the necessary things needed to get you by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2018 by Keith, Hotel Management
Thanks very much, we are very slowly working on the updating, but our guests immediate needs are on the front burner. Regards Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamaica

Rundown

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Close to a lovely beach and on the main road so transportation is easily accessible.
Cons: Needs a spruce up
Location: Very close to University campus
Must have been a lovely facility once upon a time but now everything is run down. Old furniture, old tv, old beds with old linen etc etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Keith Worrell, Hotel Management
We are at present up dating for inspection
4 out of 5
by arthur

Barbados how it used to be.

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Quaint old economic resort with a beautiful quiet beach at bottom of hill.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like the place

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Nothing. At all not good not a good place to go for a vacation
Cons: Every thing was not good needs a lot of improvements to the place
Location: Nothing near by
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Keith Worrell, Hotel Management
I am surprised at this, we have had no complaints, an Expedia guest here now did not seem to know what he wanted, even at the University he did not seem to know what was required. For requirements here at the Lodge, we offer to take him to the Supermarket, here we are a self catering accommodation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: the home away from home feeling
Location: close proximity to the university,transport and beach
the owners and staff were very welcoming and made our stay comfortable, the beach has become more accessible because a road has been cut right next to Walmer Lodge
3 out of 5
by Andrea from Utah

Time in Barbados

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Elroy and his wife were very helpful and friendly. The downside to staying here is the location is not around shops or restaurants however, the bus stop was right out front. Within walking distance to a nice local beach that was enjoyed every evening. The noise from the street can be prevented with earplugs.
5 out of 5
by Mel from Clovis, NM

Great For the Price

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Evidently, what you think of this hotel depends on what you want. I almost passed on this because of the fair to poor reviews, and I am so glad that I went with my gut and decided to stay here. Let's start with the only negative. If you are driving, DO NOT go by google maps. They will send you to the wrong place. Go to the last roundabout, and instead of taking the first exit, take the third. Find the Esso station (even if you use google maps) and they will give you directions. However, if you find the Esso, the hotel will be right up the street on the left. You can barely see the hotel's sign from the Esso. This hotel was exactly what was needed. It was one of the cheapest available, and much cheaper than the "western" hotels. The hotel is a bit dated, but that is part of its charm. It looks very Barbadian, and had a "native" air that was perfect. Hotel rooms have full kitchen, free wifi and American cable. It is also less than 50 yards/50 metres from the beach. Some have complained about the traffic noise. Yes, the hotel is on a major route by the coast. If you decide not to rent a car, it seems that a bus goes by every 2-3 minutes. You're just a few miles from downtown Bridgetown, and not much farther from the shopping at Holetown. You could definitely do worse than this hotel. I'm not sure I could have done better than finding this hidden gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Very nice good location near sun and sand and sea supermarket and petrol station.