Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Coast England

Fabulous!!!

Posted Dec 24, 2017
What a great find!!! Stayed overnight after a wedding at St Audries. Checked in just before midnight yet received the warmest welcome and were shown to our room personally (nice touch). Super comfy bed, good sized room and a lovely hot shower. Perfect. Felt really homely. Delicious breakfast. Can’t wait to explore the beautiful surrounding countryside!! Would highly recommend The Hood Arms to anyone looking for a super friendly, quintessentially English B&B/Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel closed for business on the day I arrived so the owner was striping the place for anything he could take.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Trowbridge

Warm and friendly pub, popular with locals

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I stayed in the Hood Arms for two nights. It's a good, friendly locals' pub, with a warm fire and a welcoming atmosphere, so it's deservedly popular in the area. The beers are well-kept and delicious, and the food is interesting and well-prepared. Good wine list, too - nothing pretentious, but carefully chosen for variety and value. One addition to the list might be useful, though - noting the ABV of each wine, as some diners might not want to drink wines of 14% ABV (or even above?). We were particularly impressed by the positive, friendly and helpful response to the problems our room initially had with heating and with hot water. Couldn't have been better! The breakfasts were excellent in quality, and freshly-prepared, with a good choice offered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb pub staff and food

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Staff were proffesional and freindly. Owner informative. Food superb and great beers. Pub full of character
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DORSET

MORE OF A PUB ATMOSPHERE THAN A HOTEL,

Posted Sep 10, 2015
A GOOD LOCATION BUT ON A VERY BUSY ROAD AND CAR PARK IS ACROSS THE ROAD, CLOSE TO THE BEACH AT KILVE WHICH IS SUPERB FOR COASTAL WALKS, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE DOGS, THEY ARE VERY VERY DOG FRIENDLY AND THE ROOMS ARE GOOD, SOME OF THE STAFF COULD BE A LITTLE MORE PEOPLE FRIENDLY ??? BUT HEY THE DOGS HAD A GREAT TIME.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyne and Wear

Food here was the making of our stay.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Rooms a bit tired, not 4* however the food served was delicious. Breakfasts, evening meal and Sunday lunch all superb. Owner ,manager and chef really friendly, we enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Joburg,South Africa

Nice pub with excellent rooms and facilities

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Rooms and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent access to the beautiful Quantocks ,Exmoor and Minehead
Very welcoming with friendly and helpful staff.Very good and clean rooms and good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Rushing Back

Posted Aug 3, 2015
I know "OK" isn't a very helpful rating but that pretty much sums it up. Dinner was pretty good, breakfast was very average. The room was big but damp. The general feel of the pace was a bit grubby and run down. We weren't expecting a boutique hotel (thankfully) but this really was a bit down at heal. Lots of country side "stuff", saddles, hunting prints etc Dog friendly, so you had better be too! If that's your thing fair enough
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Food was nice, but our order got mixed up and wasn't served as described to us. There was lots of confusion over if we paid for our room, so be careful if you pay when you book.